We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cathedral Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cathedral Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

For the second year running we decided to have our Xmas lunch here with our clients, fantastic service from all the staff especially Antonia who went out of her way to make sure everything ran smoothly. The food portions were very good for the price of the meal and we hope to be back this Christmas - big thanks for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nooz2017
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came and stayed with my family a week ago and it was brilliant! The location is very central and a stones throw away from the actual cathedral, they were having some refurbishments, however we were still looked after very diligently. They have a great team of staff. Very exited to come back and see it when the refurbishments are done!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthew V
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. we are also glad you like our wonderful location being city centre and we are delighted to hear you will be joining us again. We are looking forward to seeing you In the future! Kind regards, Jade Oakes, Reservations

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We popped in for lunch on mon 9 th Jan, as it looked a nice place and it was a horrible day cold and raining. We were looking forward to a nice hot lunch, on the menu was my favourite steak and ale pie. Unfortunately is was terrible there were about 4 pieces of beef in the whole pie which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linboroughs
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Linboroughs, Thank you for your review, I do apologise about the quality of the food. I will pass the message on to our kitchen team and work out whether the correct portions sizes were used. I am also sorry you thought it was a waste of money, We would of happily given you either an alternative or a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on the 3rd floor on this very nice hotel. Was allowed to drop off bags in a drop off zone right outside hotel and car parking was a few minutes walk away in multi storey car park. Staff checked us in very promptly and got the very small lift to our room. Room a little cold and bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
OldSarumHotelsLtd, reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Dawn, Thank you for your feedback review and your kind words. I will pass on the review to all staff. With regards of wifi we are trying to sort out connection difficulties. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Jade Oakes, Reservations.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our second visit and well worth it .The food was very good all so the staff. and the beer was as good.It made our visit to the Christmas market well worth it But we were very disappointed with the market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Terence, Thank you for your feedback review and we are glad you enjoyed your time in our hotel. I will pass your kind words to staff and manager about the food, service and beverages. We hope to see you in the near future. Jade Oakes, Reservations

London, England
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Always wanted to stay in this centrally located hotel in Salisbury. It's position is the best part. The first night the lift was out of order so we had to lug cases up three flights of stairs. Room is cramped and there isn't an adequate heat source. The bathroom has mould on the shower screen and tiles. And the wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittenandTinks
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Victoria, I apologise for your night stay at our hotel, I will investigate in the hotel house keeping cleaning. The heater is very good in rooms so I will check the heater in the room you stayed in. With regards to wifi, I have told my manager and he has put the wifi higher so the connection is...

Newport
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Visited for Christmas shopping trip with a group of work colleagues. Great weekend excellent position for shops and Christmas market. Lively hotel with disco and entertainment, not for a quiet late night out. Even had our Christmas night out meal here. Well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dic16
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon dic16, Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that the location was correct for you. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jade Oakes, Reservations

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

My mum and I stayed for two nights on the 3rd floor. We felt the stay was very good value for money. Check in was easy and quick and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. There is a small (slightly slow) lift if you need it, which we used to carry our bags up. We used the stairs frequently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouise4
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Rerservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Claire, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that everything was good for you and your mum. To regards of the lift, I do apologise as we know it is slow and small but unfortunately we cannot change the size. I will get in...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

this was the 3rd time we had stayed, really gone down. poor customer service, poor food, broken hot water tap. wrong room very very noisy even though asked for a quieter room which we've had before. dinner service poor had to keep finding someone to give service. food unavailable though still on menu. no gluten free bread. cold food, over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meredith007_11
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We are a group of 16 ladies of a certain age,spending the weekend in Salisbury to visit the Christmas market. We walked to the hotel from the train station which took approximately 15 minutes. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by extremely welcoming,helpful staff who allowed us to leave our luggage before checking in so that we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisanick2014
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lisa, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our company. Thank you for your feedback about keeping luggage back and the hotel and restaurant in general, we try to help our customers as much as we can. I apologise about the noise at night, but because we are...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
680 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
705 reviews
6.6 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 15 in Salisbury
227 reviews
1.1 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant
The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: RM343 - RM548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury
The Cathedral Hotel Salisbury, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid eating here”
 of 5 bubbles linboroughs, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“WE only had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles TerenceC306, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if u must stay then ask for room on top floor as far away from bar area as possible and at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles meredith007_11, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles GrampsBirmingham, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room at the back was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles bigpaulus, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay