We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cathedral Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
Panoramas (40)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cathedral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 340: English reviews
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We popped in for lunch on mon 9 th Jan, as it looked a nice place and it was a horrible day cold and raining. We were looking forward to a nice hot lunch, on the menu was my favourite steak and ale pie. Unfortunately is was terrible there were about 4 pieces of beef in the whole pie which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linboroughs
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Linboroughs, Thank you for your review, I do apologise about the quality of the food. I will pass the message on to our kitchen team and work out whether the correct portions sizes were used. I am also sorry you thought it was a waste of money, We would of happily given you either an alternative or a...

Reviewed 18 December 2016

We stayed on the 3rd floor on this very nice hotel. Was allowed to drop off bags in a drop off zone right outside hotel and car parking was a few minutes walk away in multi storey car park. Staff checked us in very promptly and got the very small lift to our room. Room a little cold and bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn H
OldSarumHotelsLtd, reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Dawn, Thank you for your feedback review and your kind words. I will pass on the review to all staff. With regards of wifi we are trying to sort out connection difficulties. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Jade Oakes, Reservations.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

This was our second visit and well worth it .The food was very good all so the staff. and the beer was as good.It made our visit to the Christmas market well worth it But we were very disappointed with the market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Terence, Thank you for your feedback review and we are glad you enjoyed your time in our hotel. I will pass your kind words to staff and manager about the food, service and beverages. We hope to see you in the near future. Jade Oakes, Reservations

London, England
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Always wanted to stay in this centrally located hotel in Salisbury. It's position is the best part. The first night the lift was out of order so we had to lug cases up three flights of stairs. Room is cramped and there isn't an adequate heat source. The bathroom has mould on the shower screen and tiles. And the wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittenandTinks
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Victoria, I apologise for your night stay at our hotel, I will investigate in the hotel house keeping cleaning. The heater is very good in rooms so I will check the heater in the room you stayed in. With regards to wifi, I have told my manager and he has put the wifi higher so the connection is...

Newport
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Visited for Christmas shopping trip with a group of work colleagues. Great weekend excellent position for shops and Christmas market. Lively hotel with disco and entertainment, not for a quiet late night out. Even had our Christmas night out meal here. Well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dic16
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon dic16, Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that the location was correct for you. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jade Oakes, Reservations

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

My mum and I stayed for two nights on the 3rd floor. We felt the stay was very good value for money. Check in was easy and quick and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. There is a small (slightly slow) lift if you need it, which we used to carry our bags up. We used the stairs frequently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouise4
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Rerservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Claire, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that everything was good for you and your mum. To regards of the lift, I do apologise as we know it is slow and small but unfortunately we cannot change the size. I will get in...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

this was the 3rd time we had stayed, really gone down. poor customer service, poor food, broken hot water tap. wrong room very very noisy even though asked for a quieter room which we've had before. dinner service poor had to keep finding someone to give service. food unavailable though still on menu. no gluten free bread. cold food, over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meredith007_11
Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We are a group of 16 ladies of a certain age,spending the weekend in Salisbury to visit the Christmas market. We walked to the hotel from the train station which took approximately 15 minutes. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by extremely welcoming,helpful staff who allowed us to leave our luggage before checking in so that we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisanick2014
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lisa, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our company. Thank you for your feedback about keeping luggage back and the hotel and restaurant in general, we try to help our customers as much as we can. I apologise about the noise at night, but because we are...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I had the pleasure of traveling to Salisbury for a 3 day business trip. It was only a 15min walk from the train station, and I was warmly greeted at the Cathedral Hotel located in the heart of Salisbury. Although on first glance the decor looked slightly tired, the staff more than made up for it by engaging and making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam W
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Adam W, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience during your stay and hope to see you again in the future. I will pass on your comments to Adam the GM and all of our staff. They appreciate guest feedback and we take it very seriously. With regards to...

Nottingham
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Centrally located,Good position.No parking at hotel,free parking from 6pm till 8am and on Sunday 6pm till 10am at the car park on Brown street round the corner.Also on the street outside the hotel same times.This place is a pub as well and gets very noisy at weekends,loud music and very loud people on the street outside.We was in a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamAlan
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Reservations at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon NottinghamAlan, Thank you for your feedback on your visit to the hotel. I would like to address all your comments as we do take customer feedback very seriously. Firstly, it is great to hear that you found the central location a plus when visiting. We are proud of our location as it offers many conveniences to guests when...

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (174)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (23)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Large Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Single Room (17)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
705 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
929 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
727 reviews
4.8 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.2 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant
The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: RM323 - RM549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury
The Cathedral Hotel Salisbury, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Cathedral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rooms quietest. Very small lift. Only 2 at a time.”
 of 5 bubbles RICKEY121, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid eating here”
 of 5 bubbles linboroughs, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“WE only had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles TerenceC306, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if u must stay then ask for room on top floor as far away from bar area as possible and at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles meredith007_11, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles GrampsBirmingham, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5