We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
Panoramas (57)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

930 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 895: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a comfortable, pleasant hotel in a comfortable and pleasant town. It's a maze of corridors and reasonably sized, well equipped rooms burrowed out of a number of historical building set around a courtyard. The public rooms on the ground floor are large and well-proportioned, so whilst it's cosy it isn't claustrophobic. The staff are extremely helpful and welcoming....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abager
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night, and would definitely stay here again. The room I had is a bit tired and could use a fresh lick of paint, but the staff, location and atmosphere make up for the decor. I parked in Culver Street car park, which is just a short stroll away, free after 3pm on Sat and all day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bushwalkergirl
Management response:

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time whilst visiting us. We are in the process of refurbishing more of our bedrooms so when you visit us again this will have be rectified. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Red Lion Soon. Kind Regards Elaine Falconer Director of Sales

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a tricky review, as this is a lovely hotel, with lots of quirky features, welcoming staff, and near to the city centre. So far, so good. It's not often that I complain in a review, but then came the sleepless night. Being a seasoned traveler, I understand that from time to time one can be disappointed. I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
Management response:

I am very disappointed to hear of your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we are not always able to control noise outside of our hotel hence we are at present investing in triple glazing to ensure that all our guests have a peaceful night’s sleep. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to...

Aberdeen, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This quaint little hotel offered a good location to the center of Salisbury and a decent-sized room for our stay. We appreciated the free wi-fi and the television in the room. While the bathroom was a good size (and bigger than most other bathrooms we experienced during our stay in the UK), the water pressure in the shower was awful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
Management response:

I am very disappointed to hear of your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we are not always able to control water pressure due to the vast age of the property we are at present having work done to elevate this problem which intermittently can sometimes occur. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back...

England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a comfortable, good-sized double room overlooking the main street, for which the double-glazing was excellent but, as the room overheated we were, perhaps inevitably, subjected to a fair amount of noise both day and night. The bathroom was a good size and the shower within the bath was very much more powerful than might have been expected from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cockneybird
Management response:

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time whilst visiting us, and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer care to all our guests. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Red Lion Soon. Kind Regards Elaine Falconer Director of Sales

East Sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived in Salisbury after dark without a booking, and drove round looking for somewhere suitable to stay for the night. Providence took me past The Red Lion and I drove round the block, thinking it merited a second look. How absolutely right providence was! This is a really fascinating hostelry. It started life around 1220 as a hostel for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acoustic_willi
Management response:

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time whilst visiting us and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. You are very right in what you say, we are a most unique venue, saturated with character and charm coupled with being in the very centre of Salisbury I do hope we have the opportunity to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night at the front of the hotel. It was extremely noisy loud music lots of loud voices until the early hours of the morning. Sounded like there was a night club next door. Complained in the morning to be told 'What do you expect your in a city'. We would have been much better off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertweir
Management response:

I am very disappointed to hear of your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we are not always able to control the noise outside of the property. We are at present having work done to elevate this problem which intermittently can sometimes occur. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Red Lion...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice clean and tidy Hotel.Staff very pleasant.Breakfast very good Rooms adequate . Beds comfortable no noise in the evening very good night sleep.Parking charge was great because of fishing equipment left in the car .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psmith103
Management response:

I am delighted to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Red Lion Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to pass on you feedback. I do hope we get to welcome you back to Thee Red Lion In the very near future. Kind Regards Elaine Falconer Director of Sales

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wanting to break the journey on return from Cornwall to Essex we had pre-booked our stay at this hotel. Within a 10 minute walk of the cathedral via the main shopping streets you get a good sense of the history of the city en route. The original part of the Hotel is very old and oozes atmosphere and history. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whiskers51
Management response:

I am delighted to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Red Lion Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to pass on you feedback. I do hope we get to welcome you back to Thee Red Lion In the very near future. Kind Regards Elaine Falconer Director of Sales

Shoreham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel, room was quite small, but for an overnight stay it was fine, breakfast was good, staff pleasant, bars good, the parking charge was expensive for the car park, but was free on street, hotel was quiet at night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
Management response:

I am delighted to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Red Lion Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to pass on you feedback. I do hope we get to welcome you back to The Red Lion In the very near future. Kind Regards Elaine Falconer Director of Sales

719 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Room (Blue) (26)
Viewed
Double Room (Purple) (22)
Viewed
Executive Four Poster Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Seamstress Room (37)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (230)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Other (116)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
708 reviews
0.0 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
838 reviews
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
729 reviews
4.9 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: RM443 - RM825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Best Western
Salisbury Red Lion
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel Salisbury, England
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT HAVE ROOM 91 - If you have a room on the road, make sure it's double glazed”
 of 5 bubbles 977rayw, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“superior room was a good size for two people”
 of 5 bubbles cindydB5009PN, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 18 which look over the courtyard not being in the room much didn't make a lot of difference.?”
 of 5 bubbles psmith103, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be in old part of hotel?”
 of 5 bubbles JanSpe, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“our room was at the centre of the hotel, with windows difficult to explain as the hotel is very old.”
 of 5 bubbles R3797DFbenh, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5