We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Thames Riviera Hotel

Booking.comUS$39*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thames Riviera Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thames Riviera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 646: English reviews
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Best hotel in maidenhead , I use it several times a year when visiting family and am never disappointed , everything for the traveller on a budget . Great accommodation , great restaurant , excellent bar and loverly views , close to all amenities and some lovely local walks by the river . An absolute must .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sirpike
Management response:

Sirpike, What can I say, we look forward to keep on welcoming you to the Thames Riviera Hotel. Thank you, all the staff very much appreciated your review.

London
Reviewed 7 March 2017

My mother and I went to this hotel for the first time today with a Groupon voucher which entitled us to a half price afternoon tea with prosecco. We regularly go out for afternoon tea and can honestly say this is the best we have ever tasted....and at an incredibly reasonable price - even without the vouchers! The scones were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ladyjayn
Management response:

I had the pleasure of briefly speaking with yourself and your mother on the day. Cristina is currently a trainee and overjoyed on reading your review. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Blue River Café. Thank you so much.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I arrived late at the restaurant tonight after a long trip and happened to be starving too. However by the time I walked into the restaurant, they were closing. Louise went out of her way to extend service and let me choose anything I wanted on the menu. The food was prepared with care (pumpkin soup was freshly made, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julien74mail
Management response:

On behalf of Louise and the team, we were delighted we could organise some food you enjoyed late in the evening. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Thames Riviera Hotel. Thank you.

Reviewed 1 March 2017

I attended the Thames Riviera Hotel on Monday night as I had heard about the 50% off on food. The food was excellent and the team had a good feel about them, they were attentive and professional - the brunette (I assume) supervisor/manager leading the team was very polite and welcoming. One thing I noticed which did put a dampener...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
Management response:

Thank you so much for your compliments about the staff and the food, very much appreciated. With the greatest of respect, you have misread the situation. The guest was rightly forthright in stating his point of view about a particular beer not being available. The gentleman is a much respected regular customer whom I speak to nearly every day and...

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

After reading review we was apprehensive but need not have been. Greeted with a smile and quickly checked in, room was very clean and looked modern in the bathroom (pics posted) bed was very comfy and plump pillows. Room was very quiet over night. Lovely hot powerful shower! Negatives, a handle did come off in hubbys handed when we went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wyattmachin
Management response:

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Thames Riviera Hotel. Thank you for your review, much appreciated.

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

You really do get what you pay for. The room was beyond basic, walls so paper thin you could hear the couples conversation from the next room. Bed so uncomfortable with a dip in the middle. To top it all there was a fire exit light in the room with a bright green light which kept us awake all night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alistair C
Management response:

Unfortunately, due to lack of information and no report available of yourself speaking to the Head Receptionist or Duty Manager, I can not accurately comment about the room you were allocated. My apologies, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, should you wish to discuss further. Thank you.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

The main building appeared to be clean and fairly recently updated. We stayed in the coach house - which had a fantastic view. But everything else about this room was awful. The carpets were old and thin, the furniture was chipped, scratched and dated. The paintwork the same. The curtains had holes in, didn't fully close or were stained with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly G
Management response:

Should you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I am unable to source your reservation, based on the information available. Thank you.

Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival receptionist was not welcoming, every question asked was answered abruptly. Get up stairs the room is tiny, boiling hot and bed is small... I'm baring in mind 6 months pregnant! I check room and it's dirty! We go down for a refund and the manager comes down and again is rude! No apologies... Nothing. Can't believe the service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank teresamegan
Management response:

We fully accepted your husbands comments, the stairs and the location of the room were unsuitable to your requirements. I informed your husband we would contact Booking.com, your card payment would be refunded in the morning, I confirm we credited your card accordingly. The receptionist could not allocate another room as we were fully booked. My apologies for any misunderstanding....

Berkshire
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The receptionist, Michael was very helpful and friendly, but that is where my positives end. I was offered an upgraded room as my friend had requested a river view in a superior room, and Michael kindly suggested that we be in rooms next door to each other, however I wasn't particularly bothered as we staying only 1 night and weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Daisyandbella
Management response:

The Michael Buble tribute evening was fully booked, unfortunately, it is impossible to grant all guests their seating requests. Management quickly arranged the only alternative available, which you most politely and graciously accepted. During the evening I did notice, all at your table were thoroughly enjoying the evening, as to be expected, I was delighted. Please be assured, all staff...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We were really looking forward to our trip to this hotel, we had booked in for three nights as it was my 70th birthday. After booking in we walked across the car park to a shabby entrance up the stairs to our room. Well what a shock. Just inside the door on the wall the plaster was coming off, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jandpnorfolk02
Management response:

We are in receipt of your correspondence, thank you, all of which has been acknowledged over the past 4 week period. We hope you have fully recovered from your illness. Best Wishes.

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.5 km away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
215 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.1 km away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,155 reviews
2.9 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
0.4 km away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Maidenhead
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the River Thames by Maidenhead Bridge, this splendid Edwardian building provides the gateway to Maidenhead, just half a mile away. Car parking for guests. Housing a total of 52 bedrooms, with 18 situated in the Waterside Lodge which is sited to the rear of the main building. Many of the well appointed bedrooms offer superb river views and others balconies, which overlook the terraces and River Thames. The Hotel has a renowned restaurant and bar in The Blue River Cafe which has been the place to be for over a decade with its fantastic food and lively atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thames Riviera Hotel

Address: The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range: RM233 - RM713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Thames Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Riviera Maidenhead
Thames Riviera Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thames Riviera Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Slough, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Thames Riviera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd say rooms at front of hotel are likely to be noisy”
phils_dad, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
anitamiller2017, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
Daisyandbella, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book the Premier Inn!”
hanniebr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor with the bay windows”
VPB_13, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$39
TripAdvisorUS$39
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates