We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

13 of us decided to do a weekend climbing Snowdon last weekend. We got there on the Friday about 3pm. Greeted at the Hostel by friendly staff. Our rooms were clean and modern. The toilets were clean and the shower was warm and did its job. We had breakfast both days which was more than enough but could always eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christo E
YHAPen-y-Pass, Deputy manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, everything sounds as though you had a great time (rugby score not in our favour excluded!) We hope to see you again next year.

Egham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last used a youth hostel 10 years ago and wasn't impressed. However this place is excellent. It's clean, modern and serves a pretty good breakfast and evening meal. The staff are very friendly, and the whole place has a relaxed vibe. Love it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Lee, Great to hear your enthusiasm about the changes YHA has been making. It sounds like you enjoyed yourself and we are always very grateful to hear back from our customers. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Cinderford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a quick warning to anyone staying here in March , April 2017 .we booked a four person room for the end of March but have just had a call from the YHA saying due to storm DOris our room can not be repaired before our planed trip. The second warning guys is they say it will take them up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisroy4010
YHAPen-y-Pass, Deputy Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

For the record, all affected guests have been notofied and all rooms currently for sale are available. We apologise to all for the unavoidable inconvenience caused by a huge storm, not by an individual or company. We hope to welcome you to stay at some stage in the future and sincerely hope we would score more than a 1.

Dorking
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It has been some time since I stayed at a Youth Hostel, how they have changed! Friendly, helpful staff with good knowledge of local area, good breakfast and amenities (drying room, restaurant, bar). Comfortable rooms (mine with private bathroom). Definitely worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeDorking
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Clarke, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you back again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff went above and beyond to help my friend who's walking boots, waterproofs and gear had been left at home, buy lending their personal items to her. And they were full smiles too. Thank you. Xxx

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayley_kruger
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Hayley, Great to hear the team was so helpful! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay as we would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location great and room clean but disappointed at being told that there were spaces for just 5 cars which of course were already taken. Car parking is available opposite chargeable at £10 per day between 9am and 6pm which meant we had to be out of the YHA by 9am or pay the £10. No mobile signal is annoying but...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheshiredr
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi there, Great to hear you enjoyed the location. Unfortunately, being in a national park, we are unable to develop parking for our guests. This is the reason we are listed as having no parking facilities on the website. With regards to the wifi, the infrastructure simply does not yet exist. Thank you for mentioning about the sensors in our...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived to check in, Steve who was on reception had a rather quizzical look on his face which was a little unnerving. It turned out we had booked to arrive the following day by mistake. Thankfully our room was available a day early so he very helpfully and kindly moved our booking up one day, thank you. Steve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ar2000d
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and bring some issues to our attention. The signs for the kitchen are definitely there but we will look at perhaps positioning them more effectively. We are limited in the way we can design our self-catering kitchen due to the building layout. Most people seem to manage fine....

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hostel and location, shared on suite room was excellent. Staff are all very friendly and provide excellent service. Great value. My only disappointment is that the menu has changed since our last stay and is now very basic/poor, used to be excellent and home cooked with good variety. Come on YHA why have you made this change, especially when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasonDClark
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Great to hear you enjoyed yourself and service at the hostel. Apologies for the menu. This is something that has been rolled out network wide. However, I imagine this to be worked on as time goes by. We hope this wont tip the balance for you as we would love to see you back again in the future...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Great location. Friendly helpful staff. Clean/warm. Just a shame there is no Wifi at the Hostel to compensate for the lack of mobile phone signal in the area. Would recommend to others purely based on its location for Snowdon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolCJK
YHAPen-y-Pass, Manager at YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass, responded to this review

Hi there, Great to hear you enjoyed yourself at Pen-y-Pass! Unfortunately wifi will not be an option for us for some time until the infrastructure has been installed in the area. We do now have our payphone replace, so there is, once again, SOME form of contact to the outside world! Thank you again for the review and we would...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This place was warm! clean! homely! the staff were super friendly! We stayed one night arriving late to do a little exploring the day after. The bed was super comfy and big fluffy pillows and a duvet. We paid for the breakfast buffet the night before and arrived an hour before it was meant to finish, there was very little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjcolgan

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
7.6 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
18.3 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,189 reviews
9.3 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant
#11 of 21 in Caernarfon
77 reviews
4.7 km away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#1 of 4 in Bethesda
63 reviews
8.4 km away
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
#1 of 5 in Llanberis
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located with-in The Snowdonia National Park at 1000ft. above sea-level, and set amongst stunning, jaw-dropping scenery, and with two of Yr Wyddfa – Snowdon Mountain’s - major footpaths – The Pyg Track and The Miner’s Path starting on our doorstep, YHA Pen-y-Pass is the ideal base from which to climb Snowdon. The famous knife-edge ridge of Crib Goch – The Red Ridge - and the start of the Snowdon Horseshoe dominates the view from our dining room windows. With Tryfan, the Glyders, Moel Shiabod and Y Garn to either side, YHA Pen-y-Pass, not surprisingly, has it’s own place in the UK mountaineering history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass

Address: Nantgwynant, Caernarfon LL55 4NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: RM146 - RM562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
6 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Poole, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 25 with great views but there was some road noise”
 of 5 bubbles ar2000d, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book early to avoid disappointment.”
 of 5 bubbles LiverpoolCJK, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“watchout for the shelves alongside your bunk in the dark! ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles AMorse44, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you would like a private room book months in advance. Shared dorms get so hot at night during the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles Plantatheart, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room near the kitchen if you are planning to cook. Be aware that some two-person rooms are very small.”
 of 5 bubbles SlowFoodGoodFood, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5