We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Boy Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,115: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Didn't stay at the Inn but went twice for a drink and a meal. The staff were really welcoming and friendly. We went in the lounge bar and the wood burning stove was great on a really cold day. The food was excellent on both occasions. The beer was well kept. We will certainly think about stopping there when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete K
Kent,
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed one night - had room 16 - very small room at the furthest point from the reception area - comfortable large bed but lack of space made it uncomfortable. paid £80 for one night booked via Trevago - don't think it is worth £80......would not stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron60
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

The Quaint Inn within the the ancient walled town does create the issue you state of having smaller rooms within the 500 year old Inn.The room you discussed is actually 59 steps from reception. I am sure you have more steps in larger hotels from the stairs to the room. We do have larger rooms of course , but these...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Caernarfon to visit a relative and needed some where to stay for one night ,we know of the black boy but had never stayed there before,we must say it is a excellent hotel / guest inn to stay at . The room that we had was in the old court ,which was well appointed and comfortable ,with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cclk2014
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and detailed description.We are indeed a busy Inn, and the car parking can be always be sorted for you and be free.The reception staff will always know of free spaces.

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed overnight at The Black Boy Inn. It is a lovely traditional old Inn. Our room, one of several four poster rooms, was very comfortable bursting with Olde World charm but also with all mod cons. Bedroom and en-suite was spotlessly clean and had everything to hand for a very comfortable nights stay. We had an evening meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DellyMae0311
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review , so glad you enjoyed the four poster rooms.

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is it second time staying here this year and have to say we cannot fault the place. Rooms immaculate, staff very friendly and overall a lovely place to stay. We booked the executive rooms which are spacious and well worth paying a bit extra

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky1Becky
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Such kind review , thank you .Please do return soon.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in 2013 so not sure if much has changed but have been meaning get to write a review ever since visiting. The boy boy inn is by far the best b&b we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in quite few across the country). I would recommend to everyone, lovely rooms, with excellent food (the home made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick1906
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for thinking about us again.We are continually upgrading and changing the Inn. There is now a covered area to lead into the breakfast room. 13 rooms have been added at Ty Dre . A larger kitchen prep area, was added this year and also tarmac on rear car park.Bathrooms in the old Inn are being refitted...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a couple of memorable days in the Black Boy, it was very wet so we mostly stayed in but occasionally popped out. I started jotting down more notes for this review but unfortunately misplaced my pen there. My pen is in the Black Boy, I can't recommend it enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darmiane
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recommending us , and thank you for the review.

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the black boy for lunch," it was heaving" a good sign though , we were given a gadget alarm to let us know when there was a free table, we didn't have to wait too long, but it was well worth the wait , the service was excellent and the food was very good indeed, I couldn't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilcarter2015
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, the Inn does indeed get very busy.

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good selection of cask ales, dogs allowed in the beer garden and a lovely choice of food. Inside looked very homely. Both bar and restaurant were busy but food was worth the wait. Close to the town centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blobodzinski
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We do not allow dogs within the Inn as you state, but we do have outside areas that you can bring dogs to.Thank you for the review.

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had lunch in the Black Boy and couldn't fault it. Great food, great service and town centre location. This is where the locals go to eat, so that's usually what I go for as the locals know the area. Highly recommend this

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauriceSalt
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your lunch with us , thank you for the review.

758 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Black Boy Double Room (24)
Viewed
Black Boy Four Poster Room (33)
Viewed
Black Jack's Four Poster Suite (35)
Viewed
Black Jack's Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (265)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (114)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
891 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
7.7 km away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
123 reviews
10.9 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
28.1 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Black Boy Inn
The Black Boy Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: RM368 - RM617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Boy Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
Dronfield, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Black Boy Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't accept room 16”
 of 5 bubbles Ron60, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“From what we could tell all rooms are of a high quality”
 of 5 bubbles cclk2014, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms seem to reflect the centuries-old nature of the hotel, so ask for one with character if you want to enjoy the best!”
 of 5 bubbles johnandmaggie, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room, stayed in the seperate building down the street”
 of 5 bubbles davidoH9843KI, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our room was in an annexe and lovely & quiet but those in the main building may be noisier”
 of 5 bubbles Tim5973, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay