We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

Booking.comUS$119*
View Deal
#1 of 2 Hotels in Conwy
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,090: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overnight stay wonderful welcome by Joe the General Manager. Excellent service by Brian on reception. Waiting staff attentive. Rooms and food exceptional up to their usual standard. This Hotel never disappoints. We have been coming here for over 20 years and will continue to do so when we visit Conwy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carr0nu
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!! I know the whole team love what they do here and we especially love creating regular guests, thank you for your great custom over the last 20 years and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!!

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed in the Castle Hotel before and thought we would stay again. The staff are lovely and very friendly and helpful. Sadly we were put in the room by the clock tower. The clock chimes all through the night so if you aren't used to the noise you will sadly have a disturbed nights sleep. The night was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm glad that our team worked their magic and impressed, but I'm very sorry to read that you had a disturbed nights sleep. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the chimes on the clock, they remind us that they've been here for a few hundred years every time we politely ask about them!...

Conwy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful couple of nights at this hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful and we ate in the restaurant and had wonderful food. Will definitely be back again in the near future.. Conwy is wonderful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review!! The team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great little hotel in the centre of the town providing good food and reasonably good service. its location is second to none within Conwy. I always eat here when we visit as it has never let me down and I am happy to take guess there as I know they will be well treated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike M
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and we love that we're your 'go to' place when treating guests! The team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the fifth time in 18 months we have stayed here . The food , staff, hotel are fantastic I can fully recommend the castle hotel to anyone . If you like quality this is the place to stay. Many thanks yet again to all the staff . Anthony & Michelle Phillips

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony P
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review!! We love making regulars and really do love it when welcoming back our returning guests!! The whole team loved having you and we all look forward to seeing you again very soon!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited castle hotel for a Gin after hearing about the Gin menu that the hotel offers. Me and my fiancé were that impressed we thought we would try it for lunch the next day the lunch menu was as good as the gin menu! A special mention to the triple cooked chips amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kev H
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review!! We do love our gin and our food here at the Castle and its lovely to read that what we love, you love too!!! We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a lovely stay at The Castle Hotel, it was our third visit and every bit as good as previous visits. Ate in the restaurant lst night and that was good. The breakfast menu is also extensive and the staff very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daval13
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review!! The team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great menu - something for everyone and somewhere a little special. Serving 17 a three course meal, without pre order, all freshly cooked, getting all the food out on time, hot and cooked to perfection is no mean feat. I can speak on behalf of all my girlfriends when I say that we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Many thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carneddau
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! Glad to read that we got the evening just right for the most well behaved hen do we've ever had!! We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From our first contact with Brian on reception we were made very welcome indeed, its a lovely hotel decorated and maintained to suit the building and its historical character, Warm and attentive staff which obviously comes from the enthusiasm of Joe (Manager). Rooms and all areas very clean and well kept as you would expect, Our room 202 was beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmyo
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review! I know how hard the team work to make every guests stay enjoyable and everyone will be walking a little taller after reading this!! We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Cardiff
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The bedrooms in the hotel are full of character, my room had a corner bath in the bedroom and a separate bathroom. The breakfast and dinner were both lovely and the service was friendly and professional. Due to an issue with my company I needed to speak with the reception staff and manager and they could not have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
Joe L, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review and we are really pleased to read that the customer service and experience we value here has made a lasting impression. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (243)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
1.1 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,497 reviews
2.5 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
663 reviews
21.5 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,325 reviews
4.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,163 reviews
4.6 km away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Dawson's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Welsh, British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'Boutiquey' Town House Hotel in middle of World Heritage walled town. After many years of upgrades and restoration, this famous old Inn now offers contemporary styling mixed with 'arts & crafts' character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Hotel High Street, Conwy LL32 8DB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Price Range: RM592 - RM2,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Conwy, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the front have view of main street”
593harryh, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are the quieter ones as you would expect in a busy town area”
jmyo, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“If you require a quitter room in the Resturant choose the Shakespeare’s or the snug as eating in the bar area can get quite noisy at times.”
Lorna1955, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“furthest away from the bar....”
384joanb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you are on the first floor, ask for a room well away from the bar and restaurant, and facing away from the street.”
Louichan, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$433
PricelineUS$119
TravelocityUS$433
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates