We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chainbridge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chainbridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 762: English reviews
Start your review of Chainbridge Hotel
 Click to rate
State of Mato Grosso do Sul
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

First Visit and I have to say the last!!! No very pleasant front of the house to start !! VERY NICE MENU but bad executed bland and over cooked food !!! That's say all , and the staff never came in our table to check if was ok !!! wrong cutlery for the dishes ... very disappointed experience such a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pinkypanther2001
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed by your visit to the hotel. If you would be kind enough to email reception@chainbridgehotel.com with details of when you came to the hotel, who you were served by, and what you ate then I will have a little more information to work on, which will allow me to deal with the issues...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel has the most amazing location and views of the River Dee and heritage railway line. The staff in the restaurant are upbeat and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and had a meal in restaurant on first evening, which was OK. When we sat down for breakfast on first morning we had odd jobs being done right behind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline W
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay, which I am disappointed to read about in your review. We often use a buffet for breakfast and of course the choice of items should not have been cold in any way. On Sunday, as we had 120 people coming to the hotel for lunch, we did try to...

Bucknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked the suite (room 19) which is a lovely room overlooking the river with a double balcony, although half of the balcony is blocked off. The room has a king size bed, comfortable settee and 2 upright chairs. Plenty of storage and a very clean and good sized bathroom with shower over the bath. The only downside was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan F
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased that so many aspects of your stay were enjoyable and I'm also grateful for the comments you provide that will allow us to further improve the hotel. We always endeavour to listen to our guests, and make changes that will further enhance their time with us. We hope to welcome you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated overlooking the rushing river Dee, this is an ideal spot for a hotel. The chain bridge itself, closed off for many years, has been reopened and provides easy access to the railway station for the steam railway. The hotel itself is looking great too, and the meal we had in the restaurant was excellent. Lovely room facing the river....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review following your recent stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and our wonderful location here on the banks of the Dee! It's very pleasing to know that you'd highly recommend the hotel, and we hope that we will welcome you back in the future. Kind regards...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights, was 3 but we stayed an extra night. Were there any negatives? Some but no establishment is perfect & I will come to that. Loads of positives at this Hotel. Food; really excellent with care taken not just over the preparation but also the presentation. Rooms; We stayed in a room that caters...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John It was a pleasure having you and your wife with us for four days last week - and we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of the staff will be very grateful for your kind comments - thank you. I appreciate all of your feedback and comments, and we continue to make improvements to...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the end of February and it was perfect. We had a room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the river. Room was spotless. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was fantastic. Loved my haddock and salmon fishcake. Waitresses were both friendly and service was excellent. We took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeW
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your generous review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we are thoroughly looking forward to welcoming you back soon for the wedding! All of the staff will be very pleased to read your kind comments as they continue to work hard to ensure all of our guests make the most of...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband had wanted to stay in this hotel during a steam train event on the llangollen railway for view of passing trains . We were very pleased to get an upgrade in our room to a suite ,especially me with limited steam interest ! Our stay was very pleasant popping out onto spacious balcony when we heard approaching trains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian c
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review - we're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us during the ever-popular Steam Gala! We're very pleased that you enjoyed your room, and that all of the staff provided you with friendly and efficient service throughout your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again! Kind regards Seamus

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on the 18th Feb to celebrate a families birthday. Just wanted to say how good the hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly.Ate at the restaurant on the night of stay and the food was excellent same with the buffet style breakfast the next morning. To top this we left our daughters coat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adamthomas85
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us - we were very pleased to welcome you all as you celebrated and your kind comments on the staff, food and hotel are all greatly appreciated. We're very pleased that everybody in your party seemed to be so happy with their time with us, and I hope you'll...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

very nice hotel with small but adequate rooms, fabulous location, breakfast self service and very nice, about 1 mile from llangollen centre, rooms with balcony overlooking the dee,overall would not hesitate to book again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevin r
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review following your stay at the weekend. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and that all aspects of the hotel and its location contributed to give you a pleasant break. We're delighted to hear that you would book again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Seamus

Kendal
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Had morning coffee here on a Monday after a walk on the Panorama.We sat in lovely comfortable leather chairs overlooking the river Dee.We ordered coffee and Welsh cakes.The Welsh cakes were beautifully presented on a slate platter.We had 3 warm cakes each, served with fresh cream , jam and butter, with a light dusting of icing sugar..I had only had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lakeland5
Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review following your short visit to The Chainbridge. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that the lovely views, staff and food made for a pleasant experience. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards Seamus

314 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (296)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
729 reviews
2.0 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
422 reviews
5.3 km away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
373 reviews
2.1 km away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
253 reviews
1.4 km away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Chainbridge Hotel

Address: Berwyn, Llangollen LL20 8BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Price Range: RM526 - RM592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chainbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chainbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chain Bridge Llangollen
Hotel Chain Bridge
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chainbridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Chainbridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st or 2nd floor rooms with balcony overlooking river ideal”
 of 5 bubbles kevinr97, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms are river facing with the view across and to the railway station, the rear rooms are canal facing.”
 of 5 bubbles Rogersmax1, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We chose a room with a river view. Which we were more than pleased with. There are also room with views out onto the canal.”
 of 5 bubbles 324wendyt, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“excellent if you like sleeping in a sauna”
 of 5 bubbles IanAlton, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to book a riverside room.”
 of 5 bubbles Gowyholy, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5