We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hazelwood House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hazelwood House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hazelwood House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Tony is an excellent host, very friendly and helpful. We had 2 rooms and both were excellent, clean and the beds are very comfortable. My husband isn't a very good sleeper but the rooms were very quiet. Don't hesitate to book a stay here, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
tonyg2204, Owner at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for your Lovely review. All the best Tony and The Team More 

Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in this guest house for one night we were greeted by the owner who was very welcoming and helpful we were shown to our rooms which were absolutely first class the bed was very comfortable and there was every thing you could need for your stay the following morning we had a very filling cooked breakfast I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alecthebeardowding
tonyg2204, Owner at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give such a nice review. We are very happy that you were pleased, love to see you again all the best Tony & The Team More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

From walking into this hotel to leaving. I received excellent service. Tony made me feel very welcome. Nothing was to much trouble. My room and ensuite was clean to a very high standard. There were many extras iron ironing board, hairdryer,toiletries and fresh towels. I would definitely return to this hotel. It is set in its own grounds. Which were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 20lala
tonyg2204, Owner at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Hi Lisa. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give us such an Excellent review, much appreciated!! Thank you. Look forward to seeing you again best regards Tony and the Team More 

Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked Hazelwood House so that we could go to the Senior Open Golf at Porthcall. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome and at home. Tony is an excellent host and nothing is too much trouble. This also applies to the rest of the staff who are friendly and efficient. The room was excellent, very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
tonyg2204, Public Relations Manager at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Hi Linda. Thank you for staying with us and spending the time to give such a great review. Dad (I'm Tony's son) is very proud of the environment he has created and really appreciates good reviews along with the rest of the team. I know it means a lot to him for people to appreciate them as much as you... More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We received a very warm welcome. The house is beautifully appointed, light and airy and spotlessly clean. As I do not sleep very well I was delighted to be allocated a bedroom which was in a quiet position. The house stands in large grounds with a country feel. The cooked breakfast was first class and well worth the money. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank 47Dianne
tonyg2204, Owner at Hazelwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a lovely review, it's always appreciated. Hope you decide to return one day, if your in the area there's always a coffee or tea here. Thanks Tony & The Team More 

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for two nights as we were in Bridgend for a conference. Lovely house. Clean and comfortable. Very helpful staff. I wish we had more time to relax there. I was glad we chose the cooked breakfast rather than the continental as the croissants etc were pre-packed and rather small. We would return. Lle braf a hwylus i aros.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sian R
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice place this. Comfortable, friendly and pretty good food. (Don't have the fried eggs as mine were solid!) Lovely gardens to sit in in the evening or daytime. Pleasant staff and nicely fitted rooms with comfortable beds. Wi-fi is free.

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
cheshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay here, and found the favourable reviews by others entirely justified. The bedroom was clean, capacious, and the bathroom with shower en suite was fine; both were spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. If you open the windows you might hear traffic on Tondu Rd, but we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jeannick
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a lucky result. Could not get accommodation in Cardiff for Amlin/Heineken weekend so elected to stay at Hazelwood House. Great find. Tony and staff very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Good sized, clean and well maintained rooms. Great breakfast. Will not seek accommodation in Cardiff for any future events.

Helpful?
1 Thank McVJ359
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What a gem, fabulously warm welcome, wonderfully comfortable rooms and brilliantly restful location. I will definitely never stay elsewhere when I return to Cardiff for rugby. Locals so helpful, taxi drivers fair and kowledgeable. Good pubs with locals who talk to you and late night opening as well. A fine breakfast, and lovely staff. But I know Tony wants to... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickMercer689

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.4 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
320 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
608 reviews
2.2 km away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
2.8 km away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Bridgend
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built to Gold Business Standard our four star purpose built guest house offers eight en-suite bedrooms, a discrete dining room and lounge area housed in a conservatory. Residents also have access to the carefully tended garden which is set in 2.5 Acres of natural parkland alongside the river. There is a mini supermarket and off-license 500 metres away. The Pheasant Pub situated 0.8 Miles away serving all day meals.Easy access to Bridgend a, The pines, The M4 Jnct.36 And all Bridgend's industrial estates. Things to do nearby include visiting local beaches and the Heritage Coast, ride on the beach at Ogmore Trecking Centre, numerous Golf Courses including Southerndown and The Royal Porthcawl. Ideal for Cylists with secure storage for bikes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hazelwood House

Address: Hazelwood House Tondu Road, Bridgend CF31 4LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Price Range: RM314 - RM404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hazelwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hazelwood House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hazelwood House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms on the ground floor for people who may struggle with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles chrishelen2015, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are of the same high standard”
 of 5 bubbles _allanbarwick, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“They have the option of a king size bed.”
 of 5 bubbles NickyCo, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor at the front was large and sunny”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyb325, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 was perfect for us.”
 of 5 bubbles 239ballj, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay