We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Farlan House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Farlan House Bed & Breakfast
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Farlan House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 52: English reviews
Merriott, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Brilliant stay, particularly if you need to go to Llandough hospital. Kathy was extremely friendly ... I actually felt like I was staying in a friends house...Bedroom beautifully decorated, bathroom delightful, very very lovely, cannot recommend more highly, make sure you don't miss it going down the road...... Temperature perfect !

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Firstly, some good things - - Was offered tea when I arrived - The rooms are decorated nicely - The beds were comfy. - The breakfast was nice Disappointing things - - I was really cold in the evening, asked for a blanket or something and the host replied "I don't have the heating on". She said there were blankets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
farlanhouse, Owner at Farlan House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay at Farlan House. As you arrived you were in a 'fowl mood' agitated and tired, which you apologised for after breakfast. There is a fine line of when to put the heating on. Considering our glorious summer, the and heating system had yet to be activated. No other guests complained of... More 

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at this bed and breakfast and would definitely stay there again.We loved the resident labradoodle pup 'Dub' though Kathy was anxious to keep him out of the Guests way (I'm afraId we encouraged him!) Kathy is the hostess with the mostest, she gave us a lift into the town to see our Springsteen concert and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
199 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked this based on the website and trip advisor reviews. Kathy was a very nice lady and the bedroom and breakfast were fine. I did sort of expect the bedroom to be en-suite, not sure why, but there were 2 nice bathrooms for the 3 guest bedrooms to share (think our friends were a bit disappointed in no en-suite), perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKKBmouth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Happened across this fabulous b&b while looking for somewhere to stay on for a brief trip to Cardiff. Ideally located within 1.5 miles from Cardiff Bay it was in easy reach from the train station and the centre. Beautifully decorated, the room was far more then expected for a very reasonable rate. The fluffy bathrobes were a wonderful touch. Kathy... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichardEssom
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have stayed with Kathy many many times and it's always been a lovely experience. Rooms are clean, comfortable and have TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities. The beds are great in every room (I have stayed in most) and there is no noise pollution so I have always had a good sleep. Breakfast has never once been less than amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dylan F
Ferryside, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

very good service and the breakfast and the beds are comfortable EXCELLENT! very recommended and also very friendly cat there called bb.there is a choice of shower or bath good to place to park car good taxis and exellent choice for breakfast very helpful and friendly :)

Helpful?
Thank Dai J
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Friendly welcome, fantastic rooms and an awesome breakfast all for good value. I would recommend this B and B to anyone wanting to visit the area. Not only did we receive a cuppa on arrival but we were also offered a lift into Cardiff which was most appreciated. For those who want a bath or shower you have a choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank CBEF
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Only stayed for one night and it's great as it's so close to the hospital I was going to. It had a very welcoming and friendly owner. It felt like home from home and was very comfortable. I felt it was very good value for money. Loved the resident cat! The owner couldn't have been more helpful even offering to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Let's start with the good points. The rooms are gorgeous - have a look at my photos. Some B&Bs can be quite basic but goodness me, the rooms at Farlan House are tastefully decorated and the beds are wonderfully comfortable. I had a wonderful night's sleep. The location however, is a double-edged sword. Cardiff has a reputation to be a... More 

Helpful?
Thank GymnastAlex

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
0.0 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 75 in Cardiff
527 reviews
0.0 km away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 75 in Cardiff
491 reviews
0.0 km away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#8 of 45 in Cardiff
594 reviews
0.0 km away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 45 in Cardiff
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Farlan House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cardiff CF64 2NY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Cathays
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Farlan House Bed & Breakfast Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Farlan House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Farlan House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think there are only 3 - we saw 2 of them and both equally good”
 of 5 bubbles Londonexile, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“The twin room beds are a bit old and lumpy, but new mattresses were forthcoming. The other rooms seem excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles midge136, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All are good”
 of 5 bubbles JennieD1950, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BrookeSLC, 5 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The rooms are all very nice.”
  • View from the window
 of 5 bubbles GymnastAlex, 26 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5