We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,360: English reviews
Start your review of The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
 Click to rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this hotel pretty last minute for New Years Eve. Apart from the fact it was a good city centre location, i wasn't really sure what else to expect especially as it was so much cheaper than the other hotels within the same area. Arrived and parked immediately outside the doors of the hotel (Be warned- There are not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fivefive92
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel has improved a lot! Its a budget hotel and you get what you pay for, but the hotel has recently been upgraded and we got a complementary upgarde to one of the newly refurbished rooms. Big spacious room with a brilliant view of Cardiff. Staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. If your expecting a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HGW84
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Big Sleep is a budget hotel in a good location. We had a refurbished room. It was clean, comfortable and more than adequate for one night. All in all, good value. Breakfast at budget hotels can be a lottery and often ends up being disappointing; not here. They had proper meat sausages as part of the hot buffet (not those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Pleasingly on arrival we had been upgraded to a brand new deluxe room foc. This basic modern hotel is currently undergoing upgrades in bedrooms. Although there were signs of work in progress this did not affect any public areas and all workers we encountered were polite, happy and unobtrusive. The room was bright, clean and well refurbished. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozpos
Machynlleth
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having stayed at The Big Sleep previously, we knew what we were getting - a cheap and cheerful stay in Cardiff city centre. BUT what an improvement. We stayed for two nights in a room on the 8th floor. The room was recently renovated. Gone are the hideous curtains and mouldy bathroom. The room was very spacious, bright and modern....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DisneyaCoco
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your lovely feedback to the team. Thank you for taking the time...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Booked here for 2 nights as part of a Christmas present for my other half along with tickets to the snooker, it looked nice on website and great location. Arrived and the location was fab but that was about it! Was on 3rd floor and we are not particularly fussy but the room was outdated and had an awful smell....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supersonicsonia
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I apologise for the numerous issues you had during your stay. I have discussed your feedback with the housekeeping and reception team and sincerely apologise for...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for a night out in Cardiff with my fiance, booked a standard double room which appeared nice on the pictures. First thing is the car park, this was full and I was advised to go to the NCP which is down the road, not really an issue but just a heads up. When we checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JayLiz1
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. Sorry to hear that you found the room to be basic and tired and had numerous issues during your stay. I sincerely apologise for this. I...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner booked us a 2 night stay in this hotel choosing this place due to location. The photographs on the website made the hotel look modern. Upon checking in it was soon apparent that the photos used were of the newly refurbished rooms available at an upgrade charge of £35 per night. Instead we had room 309 which smelt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located across from the Motorpoint Arena and St. David's Shopping (probably the best centre I have ever visited). The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a deluxe twin room on the 8th floor which had recently been refurbished to a high standard. The beds were very comfortable though there was only one bedside table. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughb92
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the staff pleasant and helpful and you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. Thank you for taking the time...

Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is very handy as it's close to the centre of the city. We're a bit disappointed as the room wasn't what we're expected. The curtains were hanging on the sides and the bed was very noisy with every moving. The stuff although were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maria-yiannis
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you fpound the staff very friendly. Sorry to hear that you found the room to be basic and tired. We...

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (486)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (231)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
1,085 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 75 in Cardiff
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
877 reviews
0.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: RM194 - RM802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Chiltern Hills UK
8 months ago
Narberth, United Kingdom
poppiecat
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you get a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles dannyd981, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Splash out on a deluxe room! The extra cost is well worth it.”
  • Very nice bathroom with towels and a twin head shower
  • Very comfortable beds in the deluxe room
 of 5 bubbles hughb92, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles robertmB9202MX, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“907 was on a corner.”
 of 5 bubbles juviam, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room that has a refit”
 of 5 bubbles I8072HOwendys, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5