We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,356: English reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2014 via mobile

During a visit to Cardiff with my school on a trip, we were all aware that we would be staying overnight at "The Big Sleep Hotel", and this establishment was the hot topic of conversation before leaving. Having read previous reviews and speaking to some past visitors of the hotel, we were all extremely worried and concerned on what the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoe H
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank...

Reviewed 17 October 2014

Disgusting damp stinky horrible horrible horrible booked in and straight back out to a decent hotel even though we lost our money for two nights stay would rather sleep on a park bench or in the car! Certainly wouldn't advise anyone to ever stay here felt dirty just entering the room yuck

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattwynnstay
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2014

I didn't have high expectations for this hotel and was glad I was only there for two nights. Car park extremely small, and charged to park. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Room basic but spacious. Carpet was filthy with lots of stains, bathroom was cleanish but could have done with some re-grouting around the shower. The worst thing for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie W
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this...

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Close to Cardiff central train station, close to motor point , also close to town . Very basic hotel ,but you get free breakfast . Handy for Cardiff castle , and museums ect. Room was very big ,we had a twin room .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank...

Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile

Booked two rooms at £70 per room for a shopping trip with the wife combined with a gig at the Arena for my teenage daughter and a friend the proximity of which was my main reason for booking. Room was okay, clean sheets but decor looking tired. Found the kettle half full in a small cupboard but no coffee just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this...

South Wales
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Stayed for 1 night last month - had a night out with friends - very good value - quiet, comfortable, reasonable price, breakfast very adequate (not cooked - but all the cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt etc etc you can ever want or need!! - will defo book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharkboy83SouthWales
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The mass of pink and formica aside, this is a very good value clean hotel, offering a good continental breakfast and a bar for guests (although shame they didn't have ice or lemon-I imagine they don't sell many G and Ts) I chose it for it's proximity to the Motorpoint arena although for pretty much anywhere in central Cardiff, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 233Andrea
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank...

Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is just across the road from the Cardiff Arena, and the city centre right on your door step. The hotel is a budget hotel. Rooms are clean and basic, plenty of hot water and good pressure shower with nice good quality towels. Staff were friendly and effcient we had no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian E
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank...

Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Had a concert at Motorpoint and thought The Big Sleep would be perfect due to location, the price was also appealing. We had read some of the reviews and thought we'd try it anyway. We arrived about 2.30 thinking we wouldn't be allowed into our room but were greeted by a pleasant guy on reception who said the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Its not the best looking hotel in the world but it does what it says on the tin. It cheap, the room was clean and spacious, plenty of tea and coffee for drinks. It is an hotel probably used for hen/ stag do's and drinking weekends but we stayed here for the Cardiff half marathon week end and we couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueygreeneyes
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank...

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (486)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (231)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
1,082 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 75 in Cardiff
877 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: RM206 - RM873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Chiltern Hills UK
8 months ago
Narberth, United Kingdom
poppiecat
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splash out on a deluxe room! The extra cost is well worth it.”
  • Very nice bathroom with towels and a twin head shower
  • Very comfortable beds in the deluxe room
 of 5 bubbles hughb92, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles robertmB9202MX, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“907 was on a corner.”
 of 5 bubbles juviam, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room that has a refit”
 of 5 bubbles I8072HOwendys, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“high floor”
  • fabulous veiw even on grey january day
  • beautiful clean and modern
  • clean and fresh
 of 5 bubbles LindsayJ410, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5