We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 512: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
 Click to rate
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although the room was without a wardrobe and chest of drawers, it was very clean. Our room had an office block being built next door, so if you want a view you have had it. The staff were very very helpful, the hotel is very central. You get what you pay for, we wanted , a friendly, clean and central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

1 night only, lots of previous reviews advised about the outside noise but the room was really quiet, and we were directly opposite the club in question! Nice offer on drinks while we were there. Room was clean and tidy, shower was superb, and the breakfast was fine, no queuing and all the food was piping hot and plenty of...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahdS2102CI
Bristol
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Attending a gig and we wanted a clean decent room for the night. This was perfect. Due to location the hotel does say noise from city could be a problem but our room was at the back (nice view of a wall!) so was quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stroudexpat
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In a great location. We were there to watch a concert at the Motorpoint, which was about a 10 minute walk away. We had seen previous reviews saying that parts of the hotel can be noisy, so we rang ahead and asked for a quiet room. The assistant was great, allocating us a quiet room there and then. However, on...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rezchan
Chatham
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a great location in a great city. However, it is not somewhere I would stay in again. It is very noisy as it fis onto either a Live Music venue or a main pedestrian street. Sleep quality was zero!! The coffee machine produced the most awful coffee ever!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 53WorldTraveller
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Travelodge is always my first option when considering an over night stay because of their cheap prices and rooms. I'm not sure if I'd want to stay any longer than 2 days as the rooms are small however for an overnight stay they have just what you need. If you arrive early they let you leave your luggage behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geena K
Plymouth
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mattress was way to hard and don't pay extra for the awful breakfast, poor quality ingredients and sat in buffet style trays for a long time before hand. There was no fan in the bathroom which made the whole room steam up after a shower and difficult to breathe when inside the shower! Extremely basic room, I'm not too fussy...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aimeec230
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Cardiff Central Queen Street hotel. We have passed on your comments to the hotel manager and we do apologise for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us due to the food you had in our bar cafe and the mattress in your room. We aim to provide the best service possible to our...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I feel really conflicted about this review as it is such a mixture of good and bad, with only a minor bad point about the hotel itself and a very significant bad point that is completely out of their control!! Good points first. It is located in a fantastic position, right in the city centre near the Queens Arcade shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julesbusiness
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to leave us feedback. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was affected by external noise. Our more central locations may be noisier however to ensure our guests are comfortable we do provide double glazing and we try to work with the local areas and communities. It is regrettable to hear this was...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Can't quite work this place out, it's cheap, clean and well maintained but it's got a grotty entrance you initially can't find as it appears to be a delivery door. The room is great until 10pm when the nightclub opposite throw its doors open and appears to have a disco in the street. Definitely don't stay here in the summer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfa1
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for providing your feedback with us at our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn the hotel was an ideal location to suit your needs and your room was clean and fresh. We're sorry to learn of the issues that impacted your stay, please rest assured your comments have been passed to the hotel....

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good quality place to stay right in the heart of the city. Ideal for a weekend trip on a budget. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was very tasty, just what was needed to get set up for the day

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
879 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
937 reviews
0.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Address: The Friary 36 Queen Street, Cardiff CF10 2RG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: RM226 - RM682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get a business room they tend to be quieter, but I think this does depend on who is staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles 35HeidiH, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get as far away from the Live Lounge as possible”
  • The neglected section of carpet
 of 5 bubbles Julesbusiness, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not on the street side opposite the "Live Lounge"”
 of 5 bubbles kfa1, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“good location”
 of 5 bubbles debbietc516, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“top floor rooms are business class”
 of 5 bubbles seewlh, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5