We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Dragon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

811 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 795: English reviews
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Things have changed since the last time we stayed: you now pay for the car park, breakfast is not as good, watching fights in the foyer doesn't really do it for me. I asked about the arrangements for parking and was given three different answers by three different members of staff. Do you take a ticket or not? I'm still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thatusernameistaken
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A good all round hotel in a handy location for swansea town and bay. Very good breakfast with lots of fresh choices? A pool and gym to retreat to if the weather let's you down. Very pleasant staff. We had a faulty window that let in a draught . The handy man fixed it within 10mins of our request

Helpful?
1 Thank anndurrant
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food here was excellent, there were 2 of us. Unfortunately there were not sufficient people to create an ambiance, but the staff were very attentive. We have been before but the same occurred when last we were there. I think maybe it is the location and although it is in the centre it is very quiet just there.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent meal at The Dragon Hotel, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and I look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable room, large flat screen tv Free wifi even though on the slow side. Reception staff really friendly & helpful. Breakfast was plentiful but the cooked English if you got to restaurant after 8.30 food was dry and on 2 of the days not much left. But the croissants were lovely. The pool was small but very nice to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill5819
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. Hopefully we shall see you again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fifteen of us ladies booked afternoon tea at this hotel .To my surprise we were seated in the cafe bar. The crockery was what you would expect in a factory canteen ,no china cups and saucers. The tea and coffee were put on the table in large plastic thermos jugs no teapots to be seen !!.Sandwiches were put on one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank richard p
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback received following your recent afternoon tea at The Dragon Hotel. I have now had the opportunity to investigate the matter with our Food & Beverage Manager, in the first instance, may I offer my sincere apologies for the poor service you felt that you received on this occasion. Please be assured that this is not... More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've stayed several times over the years at this fabulously located hotel in the centre of the city and we've noted after a slightly unsettled period, the Dragon seems more solid somehow with a surer hand on the wheel. As a result it seems to have become busier tho and you need to watch out/book ahead for events that fill... More 

Helpful?
Thank hfulton32
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. I know that they will be delighted to learn that their efforts have been appreciated and remembered. I would like to apologise that you were disturbed as a result of other guests within the Hotel. While we make... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Large foyer and friendly receptionist. Room was large, two comfortable beds, plenty of hanging space and drawers and large t.v.. Nice bathroom, good towels and plenty of toiletries . Breakfast was very good plenty of choice bacon was lovely, buffet type service. Bar was o.k. but closed early. Pool in hotel but didn't use it.

Helpful?
Thank n0rt0n123
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comment to the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Dragon Hotel in the future. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment of my arrival the staff were welcoming, helpful and attentive. The public areas were clean and bright and the health centre perfectly pleasant. Unfortunately the room was dreadful. It was very small, but then I hadn't booked premium, but the stains on the carpet, the tick black grime across the back of the chair (photos available) and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Huggy_12
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback received following your recent stay at The Dragon Hotel, I have now had the opportunity to investigate the matter with the relevant departments within the hotel. In the first instance, may I offer my sincere apologies for the poor service you received on this occasion. Please be assured that this is not a true reflection... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated within walking distance of all that is available in the town centre, this is a lovely hotel. The rooms are clean, warm and well stocked with fluffy towels and nice toiletries. The wifi is free and efficient. Although you have to pay for parking, it is well worth the cost as you are right in the city centre. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josilv
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Dragon Hotel, I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Dragon Hotel. More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I travel for business with my husband and we usually choose a Prem Inn as we know the standards - but occasionally look at booking.com and make a late decision. The hotel was clean and the rooms nice all the staff we had any dealings with were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Our room looked over the Main Street and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank P0ppy32
GethynWatkins-John, Guest Relations Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback received following your recent stay at The Dragon Hotel. I have now had the opportunity to investigate the matter with the relevant departments of the hotel. In the first instance, may I offer my sincere apologies for the poor breakfast you received on this occasion. Please be assured that this is not a true reflection... More 

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Accessible Room (33)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard Suite (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.9 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swansea
865 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Swansea City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 25 in Swansea
550 reviews
1.5 km away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 25 in Swansea
1,093 reviews
4.3 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 25 in Swansea
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dragon Hotel is one of Swansea's premier 4-star hotels and is located in the heart of the city centre, offering guests excellent hotel accommodation, a variety of dining options, Conference & Banqueting facilities, a Health Club and chargable on-site parking. The hotel has 106 en-suite, fully air-conditioned bedrooms and features high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and flat screen digital TVs. The Health Club features an 18-metre indoor swimming pool, male and female saunas, a well equiped gymnasium with qualified personnel on hand and two treatment rooms, offering Holistic and Sports Massage Therapy, as well as an extensive choice of beauty treatments. The Piano restaurant, situated on the first floor is open for dinner every evening and offers excellent AA rosette standard food, with panoramic views across the town. Our Brasserie Cafe Bar located at the front of the hotel is open all day, offering an informal destination for breakfast, lunch, light meals and hot & cold drinks. An ideal venue for that special event or conference, the hotel can accommodate upto 200 guests in the Pembrey Suite. The Dragon Hotel has long been a Swansea landmark and is within walking distance of many local attractions, such as the beach, marina, shops, theatre, restaurants, and vibrant night-life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: 39 The Kingsway, Swansea SA1 5LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Price Range: RM314 - RM938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Swansea
The Dragon Hotel Swansea, Wales
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Swansea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on first floor but no problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles n0rt0n123, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Huggy_12, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back of hotel might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles JER26, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor away from road noise”
 of 5 bubbles wylder2015, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive rooms are larger”
 of 5 bubbles hellsbells, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay