We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clayton Hotel Belfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Belfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Belfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Staff were very friendly but I wasn't impressed with the room or the value! Would not stay here ever again! Bed sheets were on inside out and there was stains on the bed throw! Not impressed for a 4 star hotel! I would be interested to know how they got the 4 stars!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Louise M
DGilvary, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, a marked improvement will be noted. Regards, Damian.

Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed in belfast for 2 nights. The hotel was a short walk from the centre. Probably not even 5mins. Surrouded by some restaurants like nandos, weatherspoons, pizza express etc and even a cinema. The rooms were clean but i think spa needs updating. As tiles were cracked and stained. Which put us off from staying in there for what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessmisk
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Dear Jessmisk, thankyou for your kind words. im delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. i look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Stephen

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Room very spacious and bed quite comfortable. Liked the wooden panels on the windows to block the light but, unfortunately, they also blocked the night air so be sure and leave them open a bit. Linens and towels very clean but floor didn't appear to have been vacummed for a while with crumbs and a bobby pin in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nancy C
DGilvary, Director of Sales at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

After returning from a 2 night stay in this hotel . I wont be back . The reception staff shannon was lovely checked us in a bit early . Thats my only good point . I got charged £6 to put money back on to my credit card which I'm actually raging about as i told them not to charge...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank discot
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Dear Discot, i am disspointed to hear your experience of the hotel was not a positive one. i offer my sincere apologies that we failed to deliver this. please contact me on sredden@claytonhotels.com and i will personally handle all matters. i am committed to ensuring we deliver exceptional experiences in the hotel and all feedback is welcomed kind regards stephen

Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in Aug 2015 and we were delighted by the hotel location and the place, but particularly by the staff. Although the hotel was busy, everyone was helpful and polite. Room was specious, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and staff always refills when some thing missing. A special note to thank Kartick our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spadale30
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Dear Spadale30, thankyou for your review. i hope to welcome you back in the future. the team here at the hotel will be delighted to here your positive review kind regards Stephen

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

The room was clean and the bed comfortable and the staff were polite. Unfortunatley I found it difficult to get to sleep due to the noise from the club across from the hotel i.e. shouting, screaming and the incessant thumping bass of the music. For this reason I would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJA68
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Hi BJa66 im glad to receive your review and have the opportunity to address your omplaint. im sorry to hear you had this poor experience. please contact me directly on sredden@claytonhotels.com and i will investigate this personally. we have a range of rooms available at the hotel which you may find more suitable should you return to the hotel regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff, specially Shannon in reception checked in us very quickly, room was clean and breakfast was good. Too many children going into Jacuzzi, I think parents can't or don't read notices. Would love to visit your hotel in Belfast again, but in quite time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathyf1010
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

After a lot of travelling around UK we had the best night rest here, the pool helped me to relax. Generally I think the hotel and the staff are brilliant. Thank you Ps. excellent job by cleaning staff too

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danimohy
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Der Danimohy, thank you for your positive words. the housekeeping team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. regards stephen

Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

First impressions? Not too shabby, I should say. As any other hotel receptionists would, they welcomed me with a warm, open smile. Great. I was filled in on the juicy details of their luxurious facilities, the pool, the sauna, steam room, gym, the bar, restaurant, and of course what would a hotel be without Starbucks? (The highlight of my visit)....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank YoungPassenger
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Dear young passanger, please accept my sincere apologies for your disapointment with your stay. for your safety the hotel is fitted with a fire alarm system. unfortunately this was abused on the night of your stay. please contact me directly on sredden@claytonhotels.com and i would be delighted to discuss your issues further and help resolve your complaint regards Stephen

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Today it all started well, good train trip from Dublin, nice people at Belfast central station and taxi driver to hotel. Got to hotel having booked and paid for 2 rooms. 1 room ready on arrival 2nd not, so receptionist told us the room numbers and told us to collect key later. We put cases in the room that was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank caz5den
Stephen R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Dear caz5den, please accept my sincere apologys for your poor experience. contact me directly on sredden@claytonhotels.com and i will personally investigate these issues regards Stephen

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#18 of 43 in Belfast
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Clayton Hotel Belfast. This four star hotel is perfectly located within the Linen Quarter of Belfast city centre, ideal for visiting the Titanic Exhibition, a night out at the Cathedral Quarter or shopping at Victoria Square. Enjoy a four star dining experience in the restaurant at Clayton Hotel Belfast. Alternatively, relax and unwind with a bar snack in the lounge. The restaurant includes floor to ceiling windows so you can relax and watch the world go by in the heart of Belfast's Linen Quarter. Clayton Hotel Belfast offers great accommodation to all guests whether your stay is for business or leisure. With 170 rooms to offer, ranging from Standard Rooms to Executive Rooms and 2 Suites, it's the perfect location for your trip to Belfast. Clayton Hotel Belfast's spacious Leisure Centre Club Vitae is ideal for unwinding after a long day or working up a sweat in the fully equipped gymnasium. As well as a 15 meter pool, the wet area also boasts a sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. The dance studio offers a range of classes which Clayton Hotel Belfast offers to residents and members. The spa offers a range of treatment's that can rejuvenate and pamper you during your stay. Feel rejuvenated and treat yourself to one or more of a wide range of treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Belfast

Address: 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn Belfast)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Price Range: RM477 - RM941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Belfast Holiday Inn
Clayton Hotel Belfast Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Belfast staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
26 days ago
over a year ago
n ireland
Northern Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Belfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be careful with your dates !!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Imelda400, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lifts and at least up on the 4th floor or more.”
 of 5 bubbles MCBQ2014, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check with the hotel for Suite availability, well worth it.”
  • Little things mean a Lot!
 of 5 bubbles BayVista, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Either go for a room on a high floor or one at the back to curtail the noise of the late night revelers”
 of 5 bubbles 698davidh, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inner rooms have absolutely no view. Make sure they don't put you in a handicapped room.”
  • Dirty bathroom room in handicapped room
 of 5 bubbles jeanfS652RB, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5