We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charlemont Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Charlemont Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of Charlemont Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My first visit to Armagh, sadly this hotel didn't match any of my expectations.Beds were substandard with lumpy mattress's. Our room was at the front of the building . The constant deafening noise all night into the early hours of the next morning ensured none of us had any sleep and were exhausted the next day. Breakfast was greasy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid0072014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there last weekend with three friends. Every year we go somewhere different for the Grand National and this year we decided on Armagh and selected the Charlemount for no particular reason other than it was recommended by a friend. The Hotel like the people of the city were very friendly, polite, engaging and they couldn't do enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thelonewolf2020
Charlemont, General Manager at Charlemont Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in The Charlemont Arms. Don't be a stranger! Kind Regartds, Andrew.

clonmel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a single night. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a large en suite. The staff could not be nicer. It is central and convienent for a visit to the city. However the breakfast was a complete let down. It took a good half hour while another guest waited that length and then another 5 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ned B
Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was up In Armagh for work. We held open days there, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The staff were pleasant, approachable and so helpful. The food was lovely, the rooms were so clean and tidy and the function room was exactly what we needed. I will be bringing my business back here again!!! It was easy to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keely547
Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Quite hotel with very friendly staff. Nice comfortable rooms. Food very tasty, both breakfast and dinner. Helen and Andrew went out of their way to make sure we had a nice stay and sorted out a problem we had that had nothing to with the hotel which was very much appreciated. Will return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mick66_11
Charlemont, Manager at Charlemont Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mick, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay in the hotel, even though the match result went against you. We hope to see you again in the hotel. Best, Regards, Andrew.

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Having stayed in the Charlemont a few times over the years you can always expect friendly staff and great food. It's not often you can stay in a hotel that people remember your name, that's what we like about it and you feel welcome from the minute you arrive to the minute you check out. It's quirky in its layout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fevertree66
galway city
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and all I can stay good about the hotel is the nice young receptionist who checked us in, the hotel rooms are facing a main street and it is very noisy with drunks at the weekends, not only that but the noise from the function room and the bar was very loud and an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ben b
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed Saturday night to complement a show at the marketplace. The receptionist was not at all welcoming, with a negative attitude and failed to even introduce herself, nor smile once. We paid the extra for a superior, deluxe room to make the occasion more special, but the room felt run down and unloved. The shower constantly dripped and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry P
Charlemont, Manager at Charlemont Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Garry, Thanks for reviewing the hotel. I'm sorry that your experience was not very positive and can assure you that your comments are being taken onboard. There can be no excuse for you not being made to feel welcome upon arrival as this will always set a tone for the duration of your stay. Whilst there is no excuse...

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Do not stay in this hotel. The owner is something you would see in a horror movie. Rude is an understatement. I do not know any overtone would give her the custom. In fact they don't. Very few locals would set foot in here. Go to armagh city hotel or a local B&B.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GundamX
Charlemont, Manager at Charlemont Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear faceless,nameless person hiding behind a child's photo, We take exception to your puerile incoherent rant. This is the second unwarranted attack on our business without giving any accompanying details of either your experience or, indeed, even an indication of when you claim to have visited us. I don't know what you refer to when you say "Do not know...

Broxburn
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Stayed here last night and the staff could not have been more accommodating - arranging a meal for us despite arriving late due to flight delay and the late check out was no problem to the staff. The food was excellent, service prompt and friendly. The room was spacious and very clean. We a great nights sleep probably helped by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nairn59
Charlemont, Manager at Charlemont Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm delighted that you were happy with the service as we pride ourselves on going the extra mile for our guests and trying to make your stay as stress-free as possible. i hope you will stay with us again. Best, Andrew.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.8 km away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
560 reviews
10.8 km away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
22.7 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
7 Houses
7 Houses
#4 of 14 in Armagh
53 reviews
10.0 km away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
182 reviews
1.8 km away
Fairylands Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Address: 57 - 65 Lower English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Price Range: RM392 - RM492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charlemont Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably the quietest rooms are at the back as there is a little traffic going by the front door.”
totaltravel1936, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms at the back of the hotel - from room 200 onwards”
nog66, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask about stairs if that's an issue”
486christineh, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the rear will be quieter when the bars close and traffic passes by the front.”
alhlstnam, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room to the rear if you must”
robertbA9064HS, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5