We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mellon Country Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omagh
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Mellon Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Mellon Country Inn
 Click to rate
Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we had sunday lunch here and as well as good food the view from the restaurant is very pleasing we all enjoyed the food and would recommend this as a perfect stopover from donegal to anywhere and judging by the number of customers my suggestion is correct

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PETER M
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This has been a long standing stopover en route to Donegal. Some years since we've been here so very impressed with recent upgrade. Room very comfortable and food very good. The steak sandwich for dinner was a big hit with my husband! Very happy with our choice. We love the rural setting - the view over the farmland is beautiful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 140margaret
Lifford, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent food - well presented. Dessserts slightly over priced. Lovely friendly helpful staff. Good service. Beautiful surroundings - just recently renovated. Highly recommend it. Decor is excelent. Looking forward to next visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileenmcginley101
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for something to eat on our way to Donegal on a quiet Thursday evening and had a very enjoyable meal. However the highlight was the service from the staff who were very friendly and took the time to chat to us. They were an excellent advert for the Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 61Mike
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for some food Sunday lunch. Ordered food two starters and two mains and a kids main along with some drinks. 30 minutes later our mains arrived with no sign of our starter. Explained this to the waitress who replied saying "I'm sure you'll not get charged for them" and then walked away without any sort of apology! My child's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Called in this evening and had an exquisite meal! The staff were excellent, all young people doing a really fantastic job for all the customers. The food was excellently presented, hot and very tasty. We didn't have long to wait, and we were attended to efficiently and professionally by very caring staff. One of the best meals I've had and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ferryport354
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us review! we are happy to hear you enjoyed our time with us and look forward to having you back =)

Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I would like to thank Michael and all the staff at the Mellon for a fantastic evening at my Mum's birthday party. Michael couldn't have done enough for us...nothing was a problem. Food was superb, the room looked fabulous and the waiting and bar staff were very helpful and attentive. Would definitely recommend as a great party venue!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SineadMcK15
Management response:

Sinead, thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted that everything went well and you and your guests had a great time! Thanks for choosing the Mellon Country Inn Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Attended this establishment for a family birthday. To say im disappointed is an understatement. Service in restaurant was very unprofessional and food was poor. Bar service was abysmal. It is very obvious that staff hav not been given sufficient training. Their knowledge of basic courtesy is severely lacking never mind bar service. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen E
Management response:

Helen, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We tried to contact you after the party to discuss these issues but were unable to get ahold of the contact we have on file. We hope to learn from our customers from their experiences in order to prevent future issues. You can reach us...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We quite regularly, when passing through, would have stopped and had a meal in the Mellon Country Inn. We were quite disappointed when it closed, however, now it has changed hands and we couldn't wait to have another meal there. Sadly to say we were very disappointed with the meals, that is the portions were small, no sides, you had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tweenies_10
Management response:

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant time with us. We will take these issues under consideration for the future. We are looking to improve each and every day so thank you for taking the time to report back to us. I am happy to hear that our staff was up to par and we hope your...

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Happy to report the Mellon Is Back !!! Had our sons confirmation family dinner there yesterday and everything was first class. Personalised menu cards, our family name on the table, plenty of staff on hand to tend to our needs, food was great, served hot and plenty of it. All and all the guys done a great job. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane K
Management response:

Thank you for the review Shane! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
8.3 km away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
415 reviews
12.0 km away
Clanabogan House
Clanabogan House
#2 of 3 in Omagh
68 reviews
30.6 km away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
306 reviews
38.1 km away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,416 reviews
4.9 km away
No photo provided
Castle Inn
#1 of 3 in Newtownstewart
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mellon Country Inn is situated on the main A5 road, between Omagh and Newtownstewart. It nestles between Mary Gray and Bessie Bell Mountains, overlooking the Strule River, offering outstanding scenery and views of the Sperrins. The Hotel is also centrally located to many tourist attractions, and only one mile from the Ulster American Folk Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mellon Country Inn

Address: 134 Beltany Road, Omagh BT78 5RA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mellon Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mellon Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cannot say about rooms--but request a window table to enjoy the view”
S2725YBpeterm, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the back which was very quiet.”
140margaret, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“I did not stay in the hotel - sorry I didn't but really enjoyed the food!!”
ferryport354, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
MargaretR519, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing road are lighter with views across to the Sperrins”
Joann90, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5