We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 824: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I booked this hotel weeks before my stay through the hotel web site. Booking and check-in process were all fine, staff very friendly and professional. My room was a decent size, clean and tidy. Large comfortable bed with a desk and plenty of storage. A flatscreen TV with a selection of channels. Fairly good free Wi-Fi by BTOpenzone (3 Mbps...

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 7 Stub App Tablet
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lonewayfarer
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lonewayfarer Thank you for leaving feedback following your recent stay at The Caledonian Aberdeen. Our policy is to only upgrade Le-Club members who receive a complimentary upgrade when reaching gold status, however this is subject to availability. I am pleased to say that 95% of our Le-Club Gold and Platinum members do indeed receive an upgrade from the original...

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We booked this hotel through booking .com as it has a carpark though limited spaces which booking.com did not say!! Luckily we parked nearby and got the next available space thanks to the manager ,The hotel is very central ,we had a clean spacious room very comfy bed good shower .Staff very helpful a good stay .I would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roncob-73
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roncob-73 Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Your kind words are greatly appreciate by myself and the team here at The Caledonian. With regards to the carpark I have checked the description on booking.com which I can confirm states Limited Free Carparking. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Room was at the front of the hotel and very warm due to the hot weather - but a very large fan in the wardrobe solved that problem. Staff very helpful and efficient but not pushy. Room clean and nice ambiance in the hotel. Defo recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markdingwall
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear markdingwall Thank for spending the time to review our hotel following your recent trip. Aberdeen are not used to the warm weather! However when it does appear we are on hand to ensure our guests still have a great nights sleep. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jane Bourque General Manager

Isle of Lewis
Reviewed 14 May 2016

A characterful hotel in the centre of Aberdeen. It's a short walk from Union Street, the Union Square shopping centre, the bus station and the railway station. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff were all very polite and helpful. Breakfast is mainly a buffet with the option to order other choices from the menu. It must have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebally
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hebally Thank for your review following your trip to Aberdeen. It is great to hear you are back again soon, if you are visiting us on a regular basis our Le-Club loyalty programme would be great for you to collect points and the many great benefits. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back again in 10...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We booked a standard double room for a Friday night on a room only basis and were really pleased with the price - very reasonable for Aberdeen city centre. Our room overlooked Union Terrace Gardens and was very cozy and comfortable. Some noise heard from the street late at night, but can only be expected at the weekend. Check in/out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsTpd
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsTpd Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel following your recent trip to Aberdeen. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon and next time look to get a 5 star rating! Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016

cold room, no hot water, no shower cap, no toothpaste, no view, nice bed. staff were v nice particularly the poor duty manager who I complained to. The breakfast sausages were nice but I will never forget this hotel as the only one I have ever been in with no hot water.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benitac279c
Management response:

Dear benitac279c, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies as I fully appreciate that the unforeseen maintenance issues which affected the hotel during your stay impacted your experience negatively. I am pleased to report that these issues have been...

Roosendaal
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Good service staff- who did all they could in the restaurant/bar area to look after me. When a part of my meal was not to my liking- they immediately addressed the issue - no questions asked. My request for a table/coffee for a private business meeting was also dealt with professionally and sweetly- I was offered the lounge and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_BT_Hannon
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sanda_BT_Hannon Thank you for your feedback following your stay. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies, as you mentioned at 6am we experienced an issue with our water system that was out of our control, whereby all of our rooms were effected by some degree. We had contacted emergency response from contractors and our emergency response team to support with...

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

What a lovely warm welcome. There are a number of comfortable table seating areas to relax and enjoy drinks, afternoon tea or just read. The open fires make it very inviting and homely. A short walk towards the spa which offers treat,ends or just laze in the sauna, jacuzzi or enjoy a swim. The only suggestion I would make is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naila h
Management response:

Dear naila h, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your recent stay with us at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and very much look forward to welcome you back on property during your next visit to Aberdeen. Yours sincerely Sebastien...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

The restaurant has very limited food choice and is quite expensive. Also every other song is Adele, which is a bit grating after a bit. One of the foreign receptionists working fri 29th morning could do with retraining on how to use system, as, when she couldn't do a simple job of charging to our company, i had to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrjelly1983
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrjelly1983 It is extremely disappointing to hear your feedback and I would always encourage guests to let us know if they are not happy so we can look to resolve the issues straight away, it is regretful after a week of staying with us you did not mention your issues at the hotel. If possible I would appreciate it...

Scotland
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k1sra
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (139)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
1,809 reviews
6.2 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
924 reviews
0.7 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
702 reviews
2.0 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: RM293 - RM620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
9 months ago
1 day ago
Chicago, Illinois, USA

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles wooly0000, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Those with a view over Union Terrace Gardens, 4th floor preferably.”
 of 5 bubbles 513scott, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the upgraded rooms with views of the gardens are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Escotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room ar the book and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kaysy123, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Far away from a cleaning locker.”
 of 5 bubbles Hutch300466, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5