We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Carmelite

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Carmelite
Carmelite
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 589: English reviews
South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A well placed hotel and with a bar and food, the room was perfectly acceptable. It was not especially memorable but fair all round, clean, enough 'stuff' in the room. I felt safe and it is perfect for the train station. I had a lot of trouble with the phone and the staff said it was OK. However I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olbrit1
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went there for a wedding so stayed overnight . Room was comfortable enough but hotel was quite cold . Food was good for wedding meal . Although not hotel fault has mechanical road sweeper rattling past hotel at 6.30 am not a great wake up call. As for breakfast really disappointing. Had continental choice of cereals ok croissants small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked online (very smooth & straightforward). We had lovely starters, then shared thr chateaubriand, wow!! The beef was SO tender & the desserts were to die for! Nice relaxed atmosphere & the waiter was extremely attentive, professional & polite! I have been here (for dinner & stayed) several times now & have never been disappointed! 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AK1301
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, delighted to read you enjoyed your meal with us. Hopefully welcome you back soon.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at Carmelite. Rooms a warm and cosy and you need it in Northern Scotland. Staff were polite and attentive and breakfast was excellent. This is more of a BNB type hotel and its very price competitive compared with the larger hotels in Aberdeen. A great plus is its central down town 2 mins walk to Union...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Remember price match guarantee if you book direct with us .

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met friends for brunch at carmelite hotel and were pleasantly surprised. I bought the brunch in Groupon so it was half price but thankfully we were not treated as second class citizens. Although you can use your voucher on your phone hey prefer a paper copy. Good selection of sandwiches and pastries that kept us going for hours. Very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen S
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice comments, hopefully welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a short New Year break to the Carmalite. Good place to stay , central location but one big problem we had with this hotel is very poor service from staff. We had to wait over 30mins to place drink order then another 15min for meal order. Food very good however . On another occasion stood in que at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murraygbck
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review

Apologies for the poor service you experienced while with us recently, unfortunately we had some unforeseen staffing issues which have now been rectified. Thank you for your feedback.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a little jaded when it comes to hotels. Anyone can charge $4-500/night but to find a room that deserves that rate? That doesn't happen very often for me. I was in love with my room and my stay here. The room was honestly breathtakingly beautiful. The ceiling was dramatically high with a deep, rich plum color all through-out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review

Fantastic review, hopefully welcome you back soon to try out some of the other suites!

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I took my partner who has Multiple Sclerosis here for Xmas dinner. I must say for the price we paid a £100 for the two of us it could have been better. The Xmas crackers were a disgrace to say the least i think they sourced them from Poundland. I had Rib- Eye Beef it was so tough i could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ecky1958
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, overall our Christmas Day lunch was received very well, I can only apologies for the us not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at the Carmelite Hotel in Aberdeen. We booked a suite and it was lovely. It was called the Best Suite and it was extremely spacious and well laid out. The bathroom was beautiful with a separate shower and bath, 2 sinks and toilet. It was very clean and would recommend this suite to anyone looking to book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
carmelite1, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, much appreciated

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the worst meal out I have ever experienced. On entering the hotel, the first thing we were told was that three courses were not available. Ordered our food from a limited menu- this took 25 minutes to arrive. Three of the courses arrived though one did not have the vegetables- they came later! My wife had a prawn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john542186487

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Cabanel Suite (33)
Viewed
First Floor Designer Double (16)
Viewed
First Floor Feature Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Second Floor Feature Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#10 of 63 in Aberdeen
1,722 reviews
0.1 km away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#27 of 63 in Aberdeen
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.2 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#13 of 63 in Aberdeen
892 reviews
0.1 km away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#48 of 63 in Aberdeen
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Carmelite Bar & Grill
Carmelite Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carmelite

Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: RM258 - RM653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carmelite staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carmelite staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I honestly recommend the suite. It is too good to pass up”
 of 5 bubbles 102lizk, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to rear might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaMaria99, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My tip - Don't go!!”
 of 5 bubbles 14debbier, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are offered a tiny room ask for an upgrade (you will be charged) or stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles carolinet583, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A room at the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Pompeyhaz, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay