We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Atholl Hotel

Show Prices
#14 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Atholl Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Atholl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner and a wonderful room in the lovely Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. The city is beautiful with its stone buildings and waterfront. This hotel was a really nice find, and, it was our favorite on our Scotland adventure. The host of the restaurant on a busy Friday evening, gave us wonderful service and was very accommodating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am very lucky to work with such a great team who are dedicated to ensuring that customers enjoy the full Atholl experience. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the host of our restaurant. I will pass your comments on. We take great pride in looking after our guests and I am...

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for a course i was doing in aberdeen and found the rooms a bit dated and very expensive. I wouldn't say it was a 4 star, more like a 3 star. They had a cheek to charge an extra £10 for my girlfriend staying even though she never had breakfast. Lots better hotels for less money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimbob240
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Here at the Atholl we take all comments on board both positive and negative. Feedback is beneficial to us as here we strive to meet our guest’s expectations and are disappointed when this is not met. I am disappointed to learn that you were let done by the finish of the room and I am also disappointed that you did...

Perth
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We stayed here last weekend for our second visit to this Hotel having stayed here a couple years ago. The reception staff were all excellent and could not welcome us enough. Their is a lift in the Hotel which is suitable for Disabled people access to the Bedrooms upstairs. We stayed in room 20 and it was clean spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronnieduke
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Our lift has just been newly installed this year and will get used greatly. All of our staff take pride in their work and they will be delighted by your comments, I will ensure to pass these onto all the team. We look forward to...

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015

i went here for my grandmas 90th birthday party. We had a lovely time, the wait staff were very cheery and attentive. The function room was bright and spacious for 25 guests! We also stayed in one of the room with was very nice and clean. I left my make up bag and when I phoned to ask about it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and especially for your grandma’s 90th birthday party. The team get great pleasure from knowing that they made a difference to your stay. Your make up bag is on its way. Hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Gaynor Priest

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We turned up as a family of five knowing they were full, however they accommodated us and found us a table quickly. Service was fast and efficient which was exactly what we were after. Food is pretty decent, we all went for burgers and they were served quickly and were tasty, only criticism really is the horrible ketchup - spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigdek2
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Atholl. We do our absolute best to accommodate all guests, even on very busy days and I am delighted that your family managed to get a table. I am happy to read that you all enjoyed our homemade burgers. Comment noted on ketchup. We look forward to welcoming...

aberdeen
Reviewed 12 April 2015

A family Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday, you can never go wrong in choosing the Athol Hotel. The restaurant has been refurbished since our last visit and what a good job that has been done in both maintaining the style but at the same time giving it a fresh feel. A number of changes had been made to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted to read that we made a family Sunday lunch and also a birthday enjoyable for you all. Our new restaurant is lovely and liked by many new and old customers. Atholl favourites will always remain on the menu as they are so popular. Look out for our new menu from...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Had a family dinner at the Atholl Hotel on Wednesday evening. There is a large car park at the back of the hotel which makes it very convenient to visit. First impressions were good as the restaurant was busy, a lovely atmosphere and family feel. Waiting staff gave great service and were friendly and helpful. The menu was varied with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, It is always fantastic when I read that people have enjoyed a family dinner together with us at the Atholl. All of our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted by your comments. We like our guests to feel at home. Therefore your feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us to maintain the...

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Absoultely worn out when I arrived at the hotel. They were superb every single member of staff couldn't do enough. i was leaving early next morning and they arranged a cooked breakfast the chef came in earlier; how wonderful is that? I tell you I was so impressed by these wonderful professional people. Fantasic evening meal! I would reccommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendyandDave2014
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience at The Atholl Hotel, we greatly value hearing all our guest’s feedback. I am thrilled to read your very complimentary review and am happy that you enjoyed your complete stay with us. All of our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted by...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Great 2 night stay at The Atholl. Good sized double room with all the expected facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas. Superb breakfast both mornings with quick service. Good free wifi and ample free parking. Also a good atmosphere in the bar during the evenings, a good sign that it's busy with locals eating and drinking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKAJ84
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very valued review. I am pleased that you were satisfied with your stay with us. Breakfast is superb and our staff take pride in getting to know our regular guests along with new guests. We do also have a lot of loyal customers. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I have stayed here a couple of times before, and finding a decent hotel in the centre of aberdeen, that is not too noisy and ridiculously expensive is tricky. The rooms are really nice - this time my room was quite small, but comfortable and clean Staff are very friendly and welcoming and the food is OK - not fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLB288
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Atholl Hotel. I am happy when guests have received a warm and friendly welcome. Our restaurant is very popular and we have our Atholl Favourites that go down a treat along with daily specials. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Gaynor

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (175)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single Room (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Turret Double Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.1 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.3 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 62 in Aberdeen
693 reviews
0.7 km away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#13 of 62 in Aberdeen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.7 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#19 of 62 in Aberdeen
909 reviews
2.0 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atholl Hotel Restaurant
Atholl Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: RM396 - RM773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Atholl Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kansas City, Missouri
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the back may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles BubsandCo, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid rooms on the back, the ones in the front and upper floors are best.”
 of 5 bubbles MiltGRUK, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles gintyb2016, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Twent minutes walk from Aberdeen central if you want to eat out.”
 of 5 bubbles richardsY3180MH, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms lift for use reception always offer porter service daily paper etc”
 of 5 bubbles alexandrachunterh, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay