We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Atholl Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Atholl Hotel
Atholl Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Atholl Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The friend I travelled with had been here many times before so thie was good recommendation and I soon had reason to agree with her assessment. The welcome was friendly, helpful and smiling. The rooms were well equipped , extremely clean and tidy. It was easy to relax after a fairly long journey. Then a good meal in the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience at The Atholl Hotel, we greatly value hearing all our guest’s feedback. I am thrilled to read your very complimentary review and am happy that you enjoyed your complete stay with us. All of our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted by...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 June 2015

On a recent golfing trip to Scotland with 8 guys (all eligible for the Senior Tour) we set up base camp in the Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. Located in the leafy suburbs of Aberdeen about a 30 minute (if you take the route we took) to the town centre; the hotel was absolutely perfect for us. The staff couldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy R
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be delighted also that they made everyone feel welcome as we take pride in helping our guests to feel at home and look forward to welcoming them back to the hotel time and time again. A journey to...

Crosby, Texas
Reviewed 16 June 2015

The service was excellent. Breakfast was included and it was wonderful. Anything you needed help with they were ready to help. The rooms were lovely. Can't say enough about this place. Very quaint sits on a little hill in a lovely neighborhood. Also had a great dinner menu if you wanted to stay in for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. It is always a pleasure to see that our guests enjoy what we have to offer and we always try to enhance our product to ensure a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We take great pride in our breakfast offering and very happy that you enjoyed it. A good breakfast is a...

Banbury
Reviewed 13 June 2015

My parents had their wedding reception here almost 40 years ago. 40 years later I return with my wife and Aunty, having not set foot in Aberdeen for nearly 20 years. The car park was packed at 7:00 Friday evening. This is a good sign, Aberdeen is a big bustling city with many restaurants to choose from so for it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul286
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate getting feedback and it is the best compliment that the team can wish for when we exceed guest expectations. I am very lucky to work with such a great team who are dedicated to ensuring that customers enjoy the full Atholl experience. I am delighted to hear that...

Naples, Italy
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Very quaint hotel. Bed was super comfortable, had nice amenities, and the staff were all very friendly. We had to leave very early, and so missed the breakfast. Two small negatives: the lift only goes to the 1st floor, so rooms on higher floors require stairs (the staff did offer to help with the bags, though). Also, the location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khstamper
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you were satisfied with your stay with us and am sorry you missed breakfast as it is superb. We are a centrally located hotel which can be easily reached from any approach into Aberdeen. Our lift which has been recently installed does go to the 1st floor, however like you...

Bray, Ireland
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We were a party of 8 golfers and stayed for 4 nights.This one of the best hotels we have stayed in, the staff were always very courteous and helpful. The rooms/beds were very comfortable and the standard of finishes is first class. The choice at breakfast and the quality was excellent as was the restaurant and looked to have quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is very satisfying to hear that your stay with us was one of the best hotels that your group have stayed in. It is also great to hear that the team here have excelled. We do have a first class team, they are customer focused and make it their goal to ensure that...

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Great stay for business. Room and hotel throughout was immaculate. Large modern bathroom. Food very good with a wide choice and cooked breakfast of your choice freshly made and not lying under a hot plate. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frizz6533
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you were satisfied with your stay with us. Breakfast is superb at the Atholl and is always cooked to order. This is the only way to do it correctly. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future. Regards Gaynor Priest

norwich
Reviewed 15 May 2015

I stayed for several nights recently. Centrally placed hotel. Welcoming staff. Quiet well appointed room of good size with decent sound proofing. Decent sized bath. One had to negotiate an up and then down flight of stairs to get from reception to the room (this obviously repeated when going in the other direction - a poor planning decision here I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1BIRDER
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am glad that you found the rooms of good size, a quiet environment and with modern bathroom facilities. We are a centrally located hotel which can be easily reached from any approach into Aberdeen. Also very useful is the large free car parking at...

Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner and a wonderful room in the lovely Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. The city is beautiful with its stone buildings and waterfront. This hotel was a really nice find, and, it was our favorite on our Scotland adventure. The host of the restaurant on a busy Friday evening, gave us wonderful service and was very accommodating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am very lucky to work with such a great team who are dedicated to ensuring that customers enjoy the full Atholl experience. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the host of our restaurant. I will pass your comments on. We take great pride in looking after our guests and I am...

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for a course i was doing in aberdeen and found the rooms a bit dated and very expensive. I wouldn't say it was a 4 star, more like a 3 star. They had a cheek to charge an extra £10 for my girlfriend staying even though she never had breakfast. Lots better hotels for less money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimbob240
AthollHotelAberdeen, Front of House Manager at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review

Here at the Atholl we take all comments on board both positive and negative. Feedback is beneficial to us as here we strive to meet our guest’s expectations and are disappointed when this is not met. I am disappointed to learn that you were let done by the finish of the room and I am also disappointed that you did...

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (175)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Single Room (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Turret Double Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.1 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.3 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
695 reviews
0.7 km away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#17 of 63 in Aberdeen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.7 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#16 of 63 in Aberdeen
943 reviews
2.0 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atholl Hotel Restaurant
Atholl Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: RM411 - RM764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Atholl Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kansas City, Missouri
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I've stayed in many different rooms in this hotel and been pleased with every one.”
 of 5 bubbles bob52015, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were at the side of the hotel and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 753deniset, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles BubsandCo, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid rooms on the back, the ones in the front and upper floors are best.”
 of 5 bubbles MiltGRUK, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles gintyb2016, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay