We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenavon

0.5 km from Oban centre
    Enter dates to see best deals
    Check In Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    More options
    View Deals
    We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
    1 room 2 adults 0 children
    View Deals
    Close 
    Quarry Road, Oban PA34 4DP, Scotland
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Showing 7: English reviews
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 4 June 2016

    1. Decide 10.30AM Thursday to go to Oban and spend the night as it was a glorious day. Looked online with “booking.com” which has always been reliable in the past and booked Glanavon as it had two beds and available (now know why). 2. We had to pick up the keys from the Palace Hotel but there was no instructions...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank j0h0n
    glenavonoban, Family Member at Glenavon, responded to this review

    Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Glenavon is a family home that offers room only accommodation. We do not provide or advertise cooked breakfasts at Glenavon! We try and provide clear information on what we provide so that guests are will informed before arrival. At roughly £25 per person during peak time we find it strange...

    Wishaw, United Kingdom
    Reviewed 22 August 2015

    had a last minute appointment for work in Oban. A place I love. found what looked like a bed and breakfast, ( it pays to read all the relevant details.) In fact this was a house owned by the Palace Hotel. Guilty in the fact that I never read all the details when I printed my receipt off. so Arrived...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank davyw92
    glenavonoban, Manager at Glenavon, responded to this review

    Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Glenavon is a family home that is still lived in by the family that built it and offers room only accommodation during the summer in three bedrooms. Continental breakfasts are offered at Glenavon as an alternative guests may have a cooked breakfast at The Palace Hotel. It is clearly stated...

    Edinburgh
    Reviewed 13 August 2013

    no-one at the B&B to liaise with on arrival or departure! Rooms cleanish and musty smelling! one bathroom to share between 3 bedrooms is really disappointing. One (1!!) hand towel left in room for 3 people (it was me and my 2 kids)- we all had to share it for our showers! Breakfast not included unless you pay £7.50 per...

     Report
    Helpful?
    3Thank Aremar2309
    glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glenavon is a family home not a B&B and there are contact numbers for assistance should no one be about. We no longer provide towels with our rooms (except a hand towel) although we have Egyptian cotton towels available for hire should you hot have your own with you. We...

    Tayside
    Reviewed 5 May 2013

    I don't like submitting a poor review of a family-run business. To the Palace Hotel to collect the keys. It smelt stale. A guest (or so I take him to be) in the bar called the owner. We then had real problems identifying the (unlit) house. I was very reluctant to leave my car on the road...it would have been...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank Hawkeye4472
    glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review however there are several points I would like to raise. The price of £80 is for 3 people (2 adults and a child) in the room unfortunately no other rooms were available that night during the bank holiday weekend. The tv includes a standard sky box and has bbc london...

    Malaga, Spain
    Reviewed 6 April 2011

    Having stayed at the hotel for two nights we found the owner to be very friendly and helpful with local information.The room we occupied was comfortable and clean with a large TV and tea making facilites .We enjoyed the privacy of having our breakfast in our room and both agreed good value.The shared bathroom appears to have has been refurbished...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank April006
    Troon, Ayrshire
    Reviewed 8 September 2010

    Myself and my partner arrived in Oban and desided that as it was a major highland event that weekend that we would stay so we booked a last minute room at this B&B when we first entered the room there was an overwhelming smell of air freshener and i commented to my partner saying that this smelt like it was...

     Report
    Helpful?
    1Thank huneyxxx
    glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

    Glenavon is not a bed and breakfast but a family home. A small number of rooms are available for visitors however these rooms are provided without breakfast. Self service continental style breakfast is available at cost price and was available for all guests that had booked it. There were several of us staying upstairs in the house who could have...

    Inverness
    Reviewed 31 August 2010

    The Glenavon could be a really nice b&b with a bit of tlc and attention to detail both of which its currently lacking. Myself and my friend had two rooms booked so this review will cover both of them. My room was the bigger double room - it was a good size and clean. However it seemed a bit disorganised...

     Report
    Helpful?
    Thank Nick L
    glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

    Glenavon has been home to three generations of the same family since being built by my grandfather John Donn approximately half a century ago. The wires leading from the television are to provide a choice between terrestrial tv, freesat and freesat HD. Coax, scart and HD cable. The bedside light was likely to have been unplugged for the vacuum cleaner...

    2 photos of this hotel

    Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

    Viewed
    All Traveller Photos (2)
    Viewed
    Dining (2)
    Check In Check Out
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
    0.3 km away
    Barndromin Farm Bed and Breakfast
    1.2 km away
    Corran House
    Corran House
    #15 of 98 in Oban
    323 reviews
    0.7 km away
    Maridon Guest House
    Maridon Guest House
    #42 of 98 in Oban
    85 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    0.1 km away
    Briarbank Guest House
    0.6 km away
    The Palace Hotel
    The Palace Hotel
    #87 of 98 in Oban
    109 reviews
    0.3 km away
    No photo provided
    Shepherds House
    #56 of 98 in Oban
    10 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices

    Amenities

    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    Family home with private rooms and shared bathroom. Helping to support charitable causes. Sorry cooked breakfast not available. Close to town centre. ... more   less 

    Additional Information about Glenavon

    Address: Quarry Road, Oban PA34 4DP, Scotland
    Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
    Price Range: RM450 - RM646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Hotel Class:2 star — Glenavon 2*
    Number of rooms: 3
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Glenavon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Also Known As:
    Glenavon Oban, Scotland
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
    Claim Your Listing

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Glenavon staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    See which rooms travellers prefer

    “don't go not worth the price charged”
     of 5 bubbles davyw92, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
    “Go elsewhere.”
     of 5 bubbles Hawkeye4472, 5 May 2013 | Read review
    2 of 2