We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Don Muir Guest House

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
20/06/2017 21/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Don Muir Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
Start your review of Don Muir Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Highly recommend could not fault it at all very friendly helpful couple. Great breakfast can have anything you want, anything you need they will provide. Stopped 2 nights leave tomorrow will be back definetly x

Thank Valerie C
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Would love to see you again if you come back to Oban.

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to stay around Oban (10 min walk from the house). We spent a pleasant night in comfortable room and enjoyed a great breakfast the next morning. The hosts provide good advices on activities and restaurants around.

Thank Albert L
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You could not ask for a better place to stay. Caroline and family are gracious hosts. Accomadations are cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious. Would recommend highly to any and all. Best place to stay in Oban.

Thank beckyphye
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and for booking with us once again. The weather also helped make your trip enjoyable after flying all that way. Glad you enjoyed Oban and our guest house and we would welcome you back again anytime. Hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had made the booking and tried to contact the property but no one received my call as they had gone to sleep. Eventually when they did call me back at 11pm on the night of the booking and blamed me for a no-show. The owner had promised to refund but went back on their word. The ethics and the...

Thank Gantavya S
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Charged without allowing you to stay and blamed you for a no show .... you never even turned up !!! You made a non refundable booking at 9.50pm when our check in clearly states 9pm latest. When we finally got you to answer your phone at 11pm you were on your way to Fort William without even arriving here or...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Oban is an interesting town and Don Muir is the place to stay. Caroline and her husband made me feel very welcome. My room was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. Had a fabulous breakfast the next morning. The guest house is on Pulpit Hill, a short walk from the centre of town. The viewpoint on Pulpit Hill and McCaig's Tower...

Thank Daryl B
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our house and hospitality. If you return to Oban you know where we are . Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Don Muir for one night before heading over on the ferry to Mull. I was in the single room and it was very cosy and comfortable. The owners are nice and friendly and they were keen to make sure I had everything I needed and nothing seemed like too much trouble. I would recommend the Don Muir and...

Thank Jack J
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your quick stay with us and for the lovely review. Hope you found your otters on Mull ,if not that you still had a great time. Anytime you want to return just book directly through the website.

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely perfect place to stay either for short or longer term. We have stayed for 1 night only, but everything from the beginning till the final goodbye was just perfect. Caroline and her husband are very helpful, informative and so friendly. Room was spot on and fully equipped with all amenities you need. Breakfast was something to die for. For...

1Thank Alice V
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely review thank you very much. We would love to see you both if you decide to come again. Remember book it directly as it's cheaper.. Hope you both enjoyed the rest of your day and got home safely.

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

I took my boyfriend up for a night as I've been to Oban loads but he's never been so we wanted just a cosy wee b&b to stay in and definitely made the right choice with here. Warm and friendly welcome. Lovely modern and clean rooms with great facilities. Breakfast was delicious and both hosts seemed keen to speak to...

Thank Scoops_DC
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. Glad you both enjoyed your stay . Book direct with us next time as we would love to see you both again. Will try and provide you with some some sunshine rather than rain.

Edinburgh, Indiana
Reviewed 11 February 2017

we just got home after 2 nights in this delightful guest house. Right away we were made to feel at home and very welcome, Caroline is really lovely. The house is immaculately clean and very tasteful decor. Our room was just perfect for our needs, we had everything we needed and again it was very clean and tasteful. Breakfast was...

Thank aprilwalker66
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and that you got home safely. Thank you for the lovely review of our house and us. Hope you will return to Oban and to us and don't forget to book directly with us we would love to see you again.

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We booked this on the Friday and arrived on the Saturday. The room was warm, clean and cosy. We were given information on where best to eat and the owner was informative and nice but not overpowering. We had a good breakfast in the morning and all facilities were spot on. We weren't rushed out the door at 10.00am, which...

Thank travellingladiesxx
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. It's so nice to receive appreciative comments. If you are ever in Oban again please give us a ring or book it directly with our website we would love to welcome you back. Glad you enjoyed your night anyway.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (21)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (3)
Room/Suite (1)
Dining (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Other (9)
20/06/2017 21/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.3 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#18 of 93 in Oban
357 reviews
0.4 km away
Maridon Guest House
Maridon Guest House
#40 of 93 in Oban
90 reviews
1.2 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
#30 of 93 in Oban
151 reviews
1.6 km away
Barriemore Guest House
1.1 km away
Briarbank Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 3 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig-a-Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: RM297 - RM627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Muir Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Don Muir Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Don Muir Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go anywhere else.”
beckyphye, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“We had Room #4 which was nice because it was on the top floor.”
  • Sunset from Pulpit Hill.
  • Sunset from Pulpit Hill, 2 blocks from Don Muir Guest House.
stevecL7303VP, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Good sized room with full sized bathroom”
149effief, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 family room”
HelenHendley, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the room named 'Mull', quite nice.”
Footloose_Jays, 11 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$76* /night
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates