We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oban Bay Hotel

Expedia.comUS$129*
View Deal
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Oban Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,697 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,611: English reviews
Start your review of Oban Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely location but parking is VERY limited. We were lucky that we arrived as previous guest were checking out and so managed to get a space. We heard many people arriving in the afternoon complaining about the lack of parking. On entering reception and downstairs rooms are quite grand but the bedrooms were pretty basic (albeit clean with the expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea N
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

It did look for a long while that breakfast would actually be none. For three quarters of an hour the only food that arrived was from other guest in our party as kindness. The nonchalant, indifferent and surly staff were limited to supplying tea, but no cups as apparently the Hotel with a three figure room charge didn't own sufficient....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin M, Thank you for your review. On the day in question you may be aware that there were two groups having breakfast with us - a group of 40 and another group of 30. I believe you may have been part of the English speaking group that was staying with us. We planned carefully and had arranged for...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights location was good short walk into town parking was fine. We had bed and breakfast which I have to say the breakfast was good nice choice staff pleasant and very efficient. The room was small and unfortunately on the ground floor which meant that you could hear the people above moving about on the creaking floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike W, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed breakfast and the service from our staff. I hope you can visit Oban again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Stirling
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is ok but old fashioned but ok none the less. Rooms were fine and a good size dot think it's works £137 a night though for a standard room a pet friendly room at that. They charge £17 for a cooked breakfast with consisted of very little eating and what you were eating wasn't even cooked well everything had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigibson123
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gigibson123, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Breakfast was included in your accommodation rate, as it is for all guests, so there is no extra charge of £17.00. The £17.00 charge is for non-resident guests and one should remember that this includes all items from the continental selection including...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Breakfast included was far below par, tub AND shower leaked all over bathroom floor, creaky floors, and staff ignored complaint over hot tub users keeping us up the whole night one night.. Place needs lots of updating.. Unfortunately, demand for rooms in town means it prolly won't get taken care of any time soon..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McGuyver1234
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear McGuyver1234, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. There was an incident during your stay with some guests ignoring our instructions and using the hot tub outwith the permitted hours. I am sorry that the team members on duty did not deal with this effectively. I must stress that this...

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night on 9th May in room 56. We payed £160 for a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and for that we were able to choose from their dinner set menu of three courses or any other dish for a little extra. As the set menu cost £19 per person I am guessing that our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda D, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed breakfast and found our staff to be friendly. We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment but it is too early to say when the next stage will begin. Our prices are in line with other hotels in Oban and vary...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I are staying at this hotel for two nights. So far the staff is friendly and accommodating. The room is clean but badly in need of updating as you can see in the photos. This is 120£ a night so a little pricey for what you get. Breakfast is included in the price though. Location is good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob O, Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you found our team to be friendly and accommodating. Parking is limited at all hotels in Oban but we are lucky to have two alternatives near to the hotel. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Oban within two years but our first time at the Oban Bay. The first thing to point out is that compared to the number of rooms the Oban Bay is severely lacking in car park spaces. Even if you get there early you cannot be assured of parking because many guests are there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WAYNE M
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wayne M, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm very grateful for your feedback. Parking is limited at all hotels in Oban and the same challenge exists at all properties. It would be disappointing then if you were not to return purely on this basis. We are lucky to have two alternatives very close...

Coldstream, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fantastic place to stay, the views across the Bay are outstanding, the staff were superb, what more can I see we will use this Hotel again – thanks again for providing an outstanding weekend. We have already recommended the Hotel to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart B, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to read that you had such a good time and I hope that you can visit Oban again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't be swayed by negative reviews, obviously only the 'grousers' bother to write one. We enjoyed our stay, friendly staff, very good table service breakfasts, comfortable rooms and perfect views from the sun lounge of Oban Bay and Kerrera. Took a spur of the moment decision with the fabulous weather forecast, to do the Staffa and Lunga boat trip and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian43
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian43, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the food and the service from our team. I'll share you kind comments with everyone and I hope that you can stay again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

437 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Other (179)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (50)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
32.9 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,375 reviews
15.8 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
787 reviews
1.0 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
412 reviews
1.0 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: RM583 - RM997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 255 if you can!”
WAYNEM670, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view over the Bay”
StuartB4, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Not all rooms have a sea view. Room 56 had a view of the sea which was a bonus.”
carollT3864RH, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 is sea view with huge bay window, beautiful”
soniabrady, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask room on a high floors, with window to the sea”
VictorB630, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$191
TripAdvisorUS$129
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates