We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oban Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Oban Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,514: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good hotel but in need of a bit of an upgrade, and it's a bit of a maze. The lift is a long way from reception, the bedroom could do with more up to date furniture. However, the place was spotlessly clean, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was fab!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

You only get what you pay for and so as this was a budget new year break we were expecting mediocre. , The dance floor was tiny and entertainment average but the food was good and the hotel was clean and at a good location. The most outstanding feature was the service which was amazing. The staff really were outstanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline L
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to admit to a deep liking for this hotel with it's superb situation, and ever changing view over the bay. For a Christmas break it has been welcoming and extremely good value for money. Sadly, what I have been pleased to call "shabby chic" is now leaning far too heavily toward the "shabby" and deserting the "chic". This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a really nice couple of days R and R here Lovley place indeed, we had a small double room which for us was more than adequate. The hot tub and spa facilities were also very good. Small point we found a few cobwebs in our room but apart from that no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
widnes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for New Year for the second year in a row and had a great time. It was a 3 day package and included entertainment. The hotel and the rooms are a little dated but very clean and the towels are changed daily. The main reason we returned was the food. I would rate the hotel a 3 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomtom77Widnes
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tomtom77Widnes, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you had a good time and I'm especially pleased that you enjoyed the food. I've shared your kind comments with our Head Chef, Steven, who I know is really pleased to get such great feedback. I hope you'll book again for next year. Kind...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't be fooled by the photos, this hotel is in need of massive investment I guess the excessive cost of the room included the sunset because that was all that was good about it Tired and then some..is all I can describe it as, simply not value for money and there was a musty smell everywhere Breakfast was ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STEVE528791
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear STEVE528791, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you don't appear to have had a good stay with us, but I can't help feeling that there's an agenda to your comments. Your comments are not constructive and not really in keeping with the other reviews that we get. We regularly get excellent reviews about our stunning location,...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I will start this with the fact that the staff there were lovely, other than that this has to be without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in! The hotel itself is nothing like the pictures or the description make it out to be. We were charged £465 for 3 nights and to be frank, with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh898
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leigh898, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm a disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience with us, but most people can see that your review is not in keeping with the other reviews that we get. Your comments are extremely provocative and misleading. Our photos online are a sample of areas of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked to stay here for Hogmanay 👌🏻 Was really good.Booked a standered double room and it was lovely no complaint and staff were all very helpful would definitely stay again 💪🏻👌🏻🍸❤💛 Stayed out late watched the fireworks and enjoyed then local pubs and clubs

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michellestxx
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michellestxx, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We all had a great time at Hogmanay and I'm really pleased that you did too. Our Hogmanay Break is very popular so I would encourage you to book before the end of January if you'd like to stay again next year. Best wishes David McGhie General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived on Tuesday afternoon for a three day break. Cosy welcoming fire in reception area. Room was clean and tidy with plenty of storage space. No bath but a very good shower was more than acceptable. Meals and service in the restaurant were excellent with James and Zoe in particular being very professional and friendly. Location is about a five...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert O
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert O, Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to see that you had a good time, and I'm especially glad that you have recognised James and Zoe for their service. I will share your kind comments with them. I hope you will come and stay again soon, and I wish you...

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small group of us stayed in the hotel for a 3 day christmas break and have to say we had little or no complaints. Rooms were good (we stayed in the rooms at back of hotel too ) and although my wife is slightly disabled getting about the hotel was no real problem. Staff were very friendly and attentive: meals...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 10Rober2
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 10Rober2, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you had a good time. I'm glad that you enjoyed our food and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I hope you can stay again soon, and I hope you have a great New Year. Kind regards David McGhie General...

411 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (347)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
33.0 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,252 reviews
15.8 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
755 reviews
0.7 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
977 reviews
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: RM277 - RM750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might want to request a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles jacquelinel270, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If "sea view" is not available, try one on the third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles SheilaS964, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel are a little more modern”
 of 5 bubbles tomtom77Widnes, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 254 , 255 and 256 are quiet and allow some view over the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 10Rober2, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles holiday232323, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay