We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ranald Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 12 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ranald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 720: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I have to start by having a huge whinge about the wi-fi. In this day and age, everyone relies on it for onward bookings, connecting with home, train timetables etc. and it is hopeless at The Ranald. There is wi-fi on the ferry, in the restaurants, at the train station so it really isn't good enough not to have it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancophilesSydney
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve all aspects of the hotel. I'm sorry for the issue with our wifi, we understand its an important part about your stay however this was out of our control. We updated it on the Friday and were left until the Monday morning...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed for three nights recently after seeing some very positive reviews. The only thought that comes to mind is how this hotel is #2 in Oban? are the others really that bad? Cleanliness is something that every hotel should offer regardless of budget,type,location etc its a bare minimum for the guests and something completely overlooked at the hotel. For a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hungryforthetruth
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from guests whether good or bad as we are always looking for ways to improve. I'm sorry you found the hotel to be so disappointing! All rooms have the same decor, unfortunately this is how it was designed. We understand this may not be to everyones taste. All toilets have a...

Beith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Situated an easy 5 mins from the train station this hotel is located in a quiet road. We were greeted on arrival by a pleasant young girl. Our room was on the second floor and we passed a lot of laundry bags on our way up to our room. Our room was pleasant enough but at £125 a night was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Londonsiouxsie
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I shall pass on your comments to our team, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. However I do apologise for your breakfast being delayed. It can be quite chaotic given the small amount of space, especially when...

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I would not stay here again! We had 2 rooms. One was on the ground floor facing the rear of the hotel which backs into the side of the hill so it felt like a garden apartment and was rather damp. Our second room was on the first floor (2nd in US) and was a small, dark cave. We are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCKP09
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had such an unpleasant stay with us. We do state on all marketing material that we do not have any views from our rooms as we are located on a side street. I apologise you felt the room was unclean, I do wish you had spoken to a member of staff on...

Midlands
Reviewed 30 August 2016

After reading reviews and seeing that this hotel was slightly cheaper than other hotels at £91 per night B&B, we were looking forward to our stay in Oban. When we arrived we had to park a block away and attempted to carry our luggage to the hotel. At checking we were advised as to parking options and offered assistance to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HannahMidlands
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I would firstly like to apologise as you clearly did not enjoy your stay with us. Our prices for our compact double rooms are £90.00 as they are our smallest doubles in the hotel, therefore living up to their name. We provide dimensions and photos of all rooms online...

London
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The hotel is very small, no comfortable sitting area to speak of except the small main entrance. (3 chairs only). We stayed a number of days and the bathroom was not cleaned on one of those days. There is black mould around the tiles in the shower...not pleasant. Carpet in our room not cleaned during stay. Stair carpet was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jarsp
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as we are constantly looking to improve our services and withhold a high standard. I'm pleased you enjoyed our breakfast! With regards to your comments on our cleanliness, our housekeepers clean all bathrooms during guests stays. If they had however missed something,...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

This is a small hotel with just 17 rooms. Our room was perfect. It was nicely furnished, clean, had a 3 piece ensuite and a firm mattress. The breakfast was excellent, although I was not brave enough to try the Baked Eggs with haggis. The location is close to the centre of Oban. One thing to know is that there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am verry happy to hear you enjoyed our fresh breakfast and will pass your coments on to our breakfast chief. As you have stated we unfortunetly do not have a lift in the hotel, however our friendly staff are more than happy to carry luggage if needed. We hope you can stay again...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2016

While not on the main street, the Ranald Hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront and many restaurants. We parked on the street nearby. Our room was quite large, clean and very quiet as it faced a rock wall. There is no elevator in the building. The bathroom was small but clean. The large bed was very comfortable. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GSRead
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the bed was comfortable and your room was of high standard. I do appologise for the missing fan in your room. We have now restocked fans to prevent this happening again. We hope to welcome you back to the Ranald hotel in...

New Hampshire
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The breakfast is amazing! There is one woman who prepares your food and does it ALL and does it WELL!!! She clears all the tables, makes baked eggs to order and anything else on the menu and manages to keep a happy smile the whole time and never get flustered. The room was decent. Nothing fancy and quite hot while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshirePeppie
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you verry much for your detailed and positive review of our breakfast. Our breakfast chief does a fantastic job and she will be delighted to hear such great comments. It sounds like you ejoyed your stay in oban and we hope you can return to us in the future.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Firstly I don't like bad reviews so cards on the table this is a good hotel, with only a few niggily issues. There is clearly a lot of love gone into it but a few small issues let it down. It is a small hotel and they make very good use of the space, however as a result expect a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

We really apreciate all suggestions on inproving our hotel so thank you for taking the time to do so in a possitive way. We are sorry that a hair dryer was not supplied in your room. We have now restocked any missing hairdryers and have extra supplys so this problem will not accur again in the future. We are aware...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
395 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
990 reviews
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
419 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 12 in Oban
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: RM383 - RM718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
scotland
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor room 315”
 of 5 bubbles AlastairL129, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not great views but grand double was brillant”
 of 5 bubbles kd2508, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get in early for Breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Matty1977, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inquire about room sizes in advance”
 of 5 bubbles Y2446YZstevens, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor and we did not hear street noise”
 of 5 bubbles 542jessv, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5