We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peebles Hydro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peebles Hydro
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,834 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,819: English reviews
Start your review of Peebles Hydro
 Click to rate
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here a few times now , refurbishment is going really well, rooms are always spotless and fresh . Plenty of facilities if you wish to use them , pool , tennis courts etc . We only stayed for breakfast which was plentiful and tasty so can't comment on other meals , will def be going there again soon x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie764
edinburgh, scotland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on an ITISON deal. On arrival first impressions were pretty poor as we had our pushchair with our 9 month old baby you have to use a side entrance to get into the lift so wasn't very welcoming however on arrival at reception our opinions changed and we received a very warm welcome. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just had a fantastic trip here for two days with my mum. We both had single rooms which were very pleasant. Breakfast was very good with a huge choice. There was two singers on one night who were great a shame they were lost in the ballroom with very few spectators. The barman Donald I think his name did a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola D
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Nichola D, it's great to hear you had s great time at The Hydro. If you're a gin lover then it is the place to be and our Gordon will be sure to keep the different flavours flowing. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent 2 nights at hydro. Found staff extremely pleasant. Hotel is in middle of renovations. Room we had was freshly decorated, new carpet, clean bathroom. Carpets in hallway bit worn but will probably be replaced when all painting completed. The lounge has been freshly decorated but let down with plastic chandeliers. They were cheap and nasty and spoiled the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodforthought1972
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking to time to leave us feedback Foodforthought1972. The team are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at The Hydro. Nice too to note that you like most of our refurbishment work. We hope you return sometime soon to see more of the positive changes the team are making.

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow! I had an amazing stay at this fantastic hotel. The facilities (pool, gym, tennis courts, ect.) were fantastic, as were the gorgeous grounds. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The breakfast was very good...a wide variety of cooked and continental foods. However the bike hire was a bit disappointing: 3/4 bikes were in great condition - only needing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuisPS2005
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments LuisPS2005. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us at the Hydro. We'll have a look at the bikes on offer straight away and put things right, thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very friendly and professional staff. Room was large, clean and had a very comfortable bed and full size bath. We were on the western side which had super views. The leisure club has a large pool but the sauna, jaccuzzi and steam room, although very good, may struggle to cope if many guests want to use them. Sports equipment –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback David W. It's great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. There are so many things to keep you occupied both in and around the property and we hope you can return soon for more Hydro fun.

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from a two night stay at the Hydro. Staff couldn't have been nicer and the food excellent. The value you get at this hotel is unbelievable. Set in beautiful surroundings, it's an excellent venue to bring kids. Very child friendly. We were there as a couple but have recommended to the rest of the family who have wee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank april a
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments april a and we're all delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit. The team will be especially happy to know that you felt so well looked after and we hope you will return to stay sometime in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We came away disappointed in our experience of Peebles hydro, whilst many parts of the hotel have undergone renovation and are nice, the room we had was just too shabby to be acceptable. We understand there is a rolling programme of upgrading, however when the level of maintenance is so poor, there is a question as to whether these rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbo422
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Robbo422 and sorry to learn of your disappointment. The poor Hydro hadn't seen any investment for many years until we began to run the business and the team are working extremely hard to update the entire building. It's a huge task, but things are coming along nicely and we hope that you can return sometime soon...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have spent two very pleasant weekends at this hotel and recommend the service and the food. It is true as other reviewers have said that it is a bit dated and its glory is fading but this is more than made up for by the location and the first class service that is offered by the whole team. Part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elchimera
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments Elchimera, we're all delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us on both visits. We're so lucky to be in this wonderful location and our team are continuing to work hard to ensure that the inside soon rivals the views outside. We hope you can return sometime soon.

East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just home after a weekend stay. Lucky enough to get a refurbished bedroom which was lovely. Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, which left a lot to be desired. Breakfast dining room was like a school dinner hall, food was of a poor quality and only barely warm. Tea was also not very warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn F
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us feedback Evelyn F and so sorry to learn that you felt so disappointed with your breakfast. It's not clear if you'd let the team know your feelings at the time, as they could have done their best to put things right, had they been aware.

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (495)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (258)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Price Range: RM383 - RM788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peebles Hydro staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Peebles Hydro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the front as the views are stunning.”
Annie764, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a front facing room - views are amazing”
aprila133, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room as some of the rooms have still to be done”
207evelynf, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front facing is best.”
janicehanvidge, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rm 208 has great views and, being at the end of the building, receives little noise from other guests.”
iaint757, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5