We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

County Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
County Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Start your review of County Hotel
 Click to rate
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely to get table service for morning coffee. Scones were so fresh and tasty. Good prices for the level of service received. Loyalty card available as well. Will definitely return again and may also try evening meals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel location is very good in centre of selkirk, room a little of a disapointment, shower was very poor difficult to regulate temp and flow rate was very poor, meal in resturant not up to the standard i expected, service not great, had to send back the calamari to be cooked! rib eye steak was thin and not great, cheese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Value D
TrondDalby, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry you were disappointed. As this is an old historic coaching inn from 1746, the rooms are all different sizes. Most rooms are newly renovated, the ones that are not yet redecorated, are sold at a lower rate. Calamari cooks through in just a few seconds...

aberdeen
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

my husband and I stayed overnight and had our dog with us . we had a lovely time and were not disappointed this was our third visit to hotel. staff friendly we ate in bar lounge food lovely and served in good time . no stress . our room was clean comfortable and had lovely big shower , we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacksAberdeen
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We did not stay at this hotel but had a good quality lunch in the restaurant. We were there mid week and initially finding staff was difficult but worth wait. The service and the food was excellent. Starting with Stornoway black Pudding with celeriac and then Loffoton Ocean pie. Strange name being far from the Loffoten Islands but the owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Stayed here on the weekend of the border counties motor rally. The rooms were clean and tidy, bathroom likewise, everything in the room that one needs for an overnight stay. We ate in the hotel and the food was very well cooked and presented, also breakfast next morning was very plentyful. Would certainly return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Spent a night at the hotel. First impression was of friendly and helpful staff, though the climb to the second floor was up steep stairs. Our room (203) was small and a bit cramped, but perfectly clean and with a comfortable bed. The en-suite was, likewise, small and a bit cramped and had a shower only, no bath. It too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CUPARDAD
Glasgow
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip to the Borders. The hotel is located in the centre of Selkirk and it is an old coaching inn. The room was comfortable and had everything I needed (coffee,wifi,socket for laptop). The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. The restaurant was fully booked so I ate in the bar. Fish and chips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzieS57
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were given the key to our room 203 no directions were given to the room. The stairs are not for old or infirm people. Switched the radiator to warm the room and watched the cobwebs swing in the air. Bathroom very small a lot of damp on the tiles. Staff in the bar were very helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the County Hotel for one night, the welcome when checking in and out was warm and friendly, we were shown to our room which was up a couple of flights of step stairs which was okay for us but might be more of a challenge if you are older or less agile, the receptionist offered to carry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clazm
Hawick
Reviewed 30 November 2016

This was a small family birthday meal get together on a Tuesday evening, starting in the lounge bar and moving into the Wllow Brasserie for our meal. The "Autumn Menu" has an interesting choice of starters and main courses realistically priced and, though the Brasserie wasn't that busy, there was a pleasant atmosphere. The main member of staff who served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas552

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.6 km away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
215 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
0.5 km away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
906 reviews
9.4 km away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
298 reviews
13.9 km away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: 3-5 High Street, Selkirk TD7 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Price Range: RM352 - RM434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from County Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are several stairs but not a problem as long as you are fit room we had faced the road but the traffic noise did not bother us”
jacksAberdeen, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the ground floor or first floor if you have mobility problems”
CUPARDAD, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were diners and not staying at the hotel”
Douglas552, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't book room 206 unless you like sleeping in a grotty time warp!”
citybreaker1428, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1st floor as there are many steps”
goododlbob, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5