We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Queensberry Hotel

Booking.comUS$74*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Queensberry Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of The Queensberry Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Its a pub that lets rooms, the price reflects this. Clean room, friendly staff all in all decent, its not billed as a 5 star hotel so dont really get some of the previous presumably serial complainers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is average. Not above, not below. It was a little confusing and not very welcoming but eh... I was there to work and not to socialise. The bed was pretty comfy and the shower pressure was FAB! Pros: Comfy bed Free toiletries Decent telly Great water pressure in shower Cons: Single glazed windows, so when its windy, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloetonihayward
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to pay in advance and non refundable, that should have set alarm bell off. Checked in young chap on desk did not ask for any identification, just gave key to room and told us we might have to use side door and fob to get in, if front doors were locked. Climbed three sets of winding stairs, past a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HateRipOffs2014
kirkacldy fife
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Please just dont go the place is so run down and it is needing an awful lot done to it plus not very safe walking up a spiral staircase with luggage also no disabled access at all just wish we had know all this before

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fifelassie7
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I entered the bar and asked about checking in and was directed to..the end of the bar where I was checked in. After parking my bike, there is no car parking but you use a parking area in the next block, I was taken to my room by the owner, via the ladies loo, which I add in both our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-Gander
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

I usually go to the Queensberry Hotel, not to stay, but to eat. I have never rented a room because I live in Dumfries, but if I have some money left I usually go there for lunch. The food is amazing. No other restaurant has food as good as this. Lot's and lot's of tables so you'll never be waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coffee2rist
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We stopped for one night this Monday 27th march, was a bit of a last minute decision, as we had been visiting friends in the city, and needed a place to stop, and was the nearest one available..Located right in the city center... Room was ok, nothing special, but clean, warm, and quiet. Nice toiletries, tea making facilities, TV, (room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alisdair t
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed there on 17th of March 2017 and this is a glorified bar with rooms above. It is noisy and filthy. There is major work going on and the only access to the bedrooms is though filthy conditions. Our room number 7 was disgusting, several of the lights did not work. The net curtains on the window were filthy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreacampbell62
The Q, Owner at The Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we are very sorry to let you down with the room that you think it is not in your standard order. But as we have tried to tell you we would give you another room or a refund. We also offered you to drive you to another hotel of your choice. But you decided to stay here. Many of...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Popped in for quick drink Saturday late afternoon/ early evening. Few folk in bar, not unusual as town was really quiet. Drinks very cheap, girl behind the bar pleasant, however the toilets - urghhh totally disgusting! I honestly don't think they have a cleaner. It was almost pitch black as most lights broken, In the ladies there are approx 10...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
The Q, Owner at The Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry about the hotel condition. At the moment we are in the process of renovate the hotel and Bar area. We changed the carpet in the lady's toilet and all lights are in working order. The new management is now trying his best to change the Hotel are and bar area to as best as it can.

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Everything was great apart from there was a group of folk allowed to smoke their vapes inside. The smoke and smell off them were disgusting . Everywhere else bans them indoors therefore disappointed at the Queensberry

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fair1405

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.3 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 km away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#41 of 48 in Dumfries
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#17 of 48 in Dumfries
143 reviews
0.7 km away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 48 in Dumfries
316 reviews
0.5 km away
No photo provided
White Hart Hotel
#40 of 48 in Dumfries
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Queensberry Hotel

Address: 12 English Street, Dumfries DG1 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Price Range: RM372 - RM380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queensberry Hotel Dumfries, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Queensberry Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Queensberry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere”
HateRipOffs2014, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“none they are all out the ark needing a lot of TLC”
fifelassie7, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose extraneous noise outa room away for the street for a quiet night.”
Eddie-Gander, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring some extra money as prices are high.”
Coffee2rist, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“you need to be fit all rooms up 2 flights of stairs”
365Diana44, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$74* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$74
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates