We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Days Inn Gretna Green M74

TripAdvisorUS$43*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$43*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Gretna Green M74
See the most recent reviews
Showing 368: English reviews
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed at Days Inn Gretna as being picked up there for a cruise. We stayed in an Executive Room. Warm welcome from reception staff and very helpful during our short stay. Room was a lovely size and also immaculate with plenty of coffee, tea, milk for our use. Bed was soft but comfortable and room was warm (it started to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Elaine, thank you for reviewing Days Inn Gretna Green following your stay with us. It is lovely to hear such positive comments, we hope you had a wonderful time on your cruise and hope to have you stay again in the future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

walsall
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Days Inn are budget hotels so don't expect the Ritz. Arrived very late on the night of the 1st snow of the season, Tracie on reception booked me in quickly & on entering my room found it nice & warm.The room itself was a fair size with a large bathroom, over bath shower & would advise asking for a bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry h
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Barry, it is very pleasing to hear that our staff did a great job in welcoming you upon your arrival and also assisting you with locating your equipment. We are pleased to hear that you found your room and overall stay suitable to your needs so thank you for taking the time to share your review for Days Inn...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We are in the U.K. on holiday from Australia and spent one night at this 'hotel'! Thankfully, never again. We arrived on a really cold day (it snowed later), were given our room number and unpacked. We noticed that the room had no heating and it was freezing. We were offered a change of room but couldn't be sure that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie F
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Rosie, myself and the team are very sorry for the poor stay you encountered with us; can you please email me directly with your review and photos if possible, the date you stayed and the name your booking was under? Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Spent a night here to break the journey ,room was clean and beds were comfy ,plenty coffee and tea ,milk in tray with biscuits .Staff on desk were very helpful and pleasant .next door there is a variety of eating places ,burgers,pizza,fish and chips etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Eleanor, your feedback is vital to us so thank you for taking the time to share your review for Days Inn Gretna Green. We are pleased to hear our hotel staff were helpful and the rooms met your expectations. Myself and the team hope to see you in the near future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

A pleasant and peaceful night in a clean and spaceous room. Marked as an executive room. Which meant I had a desk and a comfy chair and a fridge. Food wise it is a short walk to the services which has a selection of food outlets. Breakfast was however mainly served by Harry Ramsden but had a good selection. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dwight1379
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled to hear that your stay was a pleasant experience and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Days Inn Gretna Green in the future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The room was grotty & sparse. Cobwebs dangling from the ceiling. Bathroom sink was dirty & slimy. Didn't get much sleep as room was cold & it was very noisy with staff shouting & banging doors at 5am! Not somewhere we would ever use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo_F123456
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your poor stay with us, in order for us to be able to look in too your review can you please email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and the name your booking was under? Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Reviewed 30 October 2016

£90 per night room was musty, noisy and bathroom obviously not cleaned from when the last guests left, never anyone on Reception, Police called in the early hours for arguing, fighting, swearing, shouting drunk "guests" who were roaming about outside and inside the hotel during the night. We won't ever use Days Inn again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noeleen H
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Noeleen, thank you for your review and apologies for the disturbances throughout the night; we do ask guests to be mindful of others however unfortunately this does not seem to be the case during your stay with us. Can you please email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Room smelt like damp mould and smoke! Hallways smelt like out of date cat food! Room was stained and dirty with patchy walls! No soap or shampoo in the squeezy bottles and the bath tub had dirt all in the bottom! Beds were so uncomfortable we struggled to sleep! We only stayed here one night as a stop over, fair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becca F
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi Becca, it is very disapointing to hear that you were not happy with your stay along with the poor customer service you also received, this is not the standard we strive for. Can you please email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under so we can look in to...

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Awful place, room smelt, stains on floor mattress so uncomfortable, never stay in this hovel again, we had 3 rooms and not one was of a standard, the lady on reception was obviously embarrassed by our feedback

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Hi David, sincere apologies for the poor stay you encountered with us; can you please email me directly with your review, the date you stayed and also the name your booking was under so we can look in to the issues you have raised further. Kind regards Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Good value spacious room in Gretna if for whatever reason you find yourself here. Decor is now a bit dated but hey-ho......great if you are breaking up a journey further north. Motorway services next door for all you fast food needs!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMorse44
JamieLeighRamadaDays, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Gretna Green M74, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you found your stay at Days Inn Gretna Green good value and overall suitable to your needs. We hope to have you return again in the forseeable future. Best wishes Jamie-Leigh Rapp E: Jamie-leigh.rapp@welcomebreak.co.uk

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.0 km away
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
Welcome Lodge Gretna Green
#4 of 4 in Gretna Green
6 reviews
1.2 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.2 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
384 reviews
1.9 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
143 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: RM220 - RM449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Gretna Green M74 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room had brilliant sound-proofing for being near a truck stop”
, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of hotel and was very quiet”
753deniset, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was a lovely size.”
ElaineM894, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it!”
RosieF480, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't. We had one of their luxury rooms...it was awful. Much better and cheaper hotels within Gretna and the surrounding areas.”
NoeleenH_13, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$43* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates