We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

610 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 606: English reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

After seeing the tiny room and cot sized bed I swiftly turned on me feet and drove home ..... What a disappointment after a long hard day was so looking forward to falling into a comfy bed ..... Like the ones posted on the website !!! Avoid if possible !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annemariemcginn
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to me. However this review somewhat baffles me and I feel it very unfair to leave such a review considering you booked a single room. I do not see how you can fault us for something that you yourself booked....

Stafford
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Built in 1750 by John Adam for the Earl of Hopetoun, this is a splendid building on Moffat's very attractive, broad main street.Our room was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the gardens to the rear.It was very well appointed with more than ample storage space.We ate twice in the bar and were impressed with the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter W
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Your business is very important to me and I value your feedback. By telling me what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in...

Reviewed 10 August 2015

booked in this hotel as we were at a wedding the next day , Central to the Main Street ,parking on site ,the rooms were lovely ,oldy world furniture in bedrooms ,clean ,tv in rooms and shower ,we were in the main hotel and my only complaint was the front door banged really loud when opened ,we arrived late so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tw1968
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Your business is very important to me and I value your feedback. By telling me what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

we have used this hotel 3 times now and every visit has been extremely satisfactory the disabled access room is well laid out in an annex only needing a ramp to gain wheelchair access to the hotel, just a bit disconcerting after dark Breakfast excellent Restaurant good we plan to go back many more times

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andy m
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Regards Ian Wilson General Manager

Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Superb friendly staff. Nice comfortable rooms. Great food. Reasonable prices. We loved breakfast;););) great place if u want discover Scottish Borders. To Edinburgh is only 50 mins drive. Only one thing is taking place down : after 9 is almost not possible to find place serving food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
Scotland
Reviewed 29 July 2015

My wife and I were in the Moffat area and stopped by the Moffat House Hotel for a relaxing drink. As we both appreciate a nice beer and were excited to see a banner outside the hotel advertising Broughton Ales which are brewed a mere 20 miles away. We headed inside and processed to the bar to see what was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_MandL
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

There was a friendly young barmaid here, but she would have to have been something pretty special to be able to inject a modicum of life or atmosphere into this sad bar. Occasionally you will come across a hotel that manages to create a bar that has the cosy feel of a pub. This is not the case here and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnhouston2
Winchester
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Had a great time in the self catering family cottage (with breakfast included). Superb facilities including a games room and a lovely breakfast. We were discussing when we would be able to return whilst still in the cottage. Great location too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HoobyWinchester
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We pulled on the motorway to take a rest en route to The Cairngorms. We were so taken by the this delightful town and surrounding area that we stayed the night. This hotel has ample parking adjacent to the main entrance. The staff were friendly and helpful even offering a discount off the rack rate. Our room was surprisingly large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive B
Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Moffat House (Best Western) Hotel. Good location, with parking, situated in centre of picturesque village. Great staff, friendly, helpful and efficient. The building is historic and probably listed/protected - and this inherently causes some problems for aged or less than fully mobile guests. There are (perhaps obviously) no lifts and the (original / period) stairs, to our room, were narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cymru1948

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.2 km away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
170 reviews
0.0 km away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
321 reviews
0.1 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#4 of 4 in Moffat
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
24.0 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
249 reviews
0.4 km away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Price Range: RM271 - RM558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland
8 months ago
Lonescot
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For better water pressure ask for a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles Sedgy, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room on the first floor so that people in the car park can't see through your window.”
 of 5 bubbles Chris0scott, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is a family room overlooking the high street.”
 of 5 bubbles nikdubrov, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles bren1874, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent but for a really luxurious stay try the four poster room number 19 .”
 of 5 bubbles andrewbB8317BH, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5