We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Abertay Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Abertay Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abertay Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
porlock
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Came back to visit my aging mother my stay at the Abertay Guest House was wonderful and will be back again in September the. owners Karl and Kate are the two loveliest people you will ever meet I would totally recommend a stay at this clean friendly guest house thanks again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peter h
AbertayGuestHouse, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

Peter, as always, it is an absolute pleasure to have you stay. We look forward to your visits and catching up with all your news. Thank you.

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and wish hadn't , room on inspection not very clean at all , stayed in cleaner and a lot cheaper ones in Blackpool for a lot less money am a sea view. Owner she is a very abrupt and take or leave it person , husband is like a shrivelled plant and stays out of...

 Report
Helpful?
79Thank Damian F
AbertayGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

We have no record of you ever having stayed at the Abertay Guest House. Please send us dates and details of your stay and we will investigate your complaint

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Beautiful rooms, Changed us from a double to a family at no extra cost. Owners are lovely, and helpful. I would defiantly stay here again. 5 min from brought Ferry town and the beach. Good Transport links to the city centre, rail way and bus stations,. Can travel easily into St Andrews, Fife Coast Road, Edinburgh. Lovely food, good breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sam S
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts down. Our reviews are very important to us and we appreciate our guests comments.

Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Just returned today from a two night stay.This Guesthouse is spot on,very friendly The room we stopped in was spotless and comfy how can you improve on perfection You can't .The breakfast was the best ever.Both myself and my wife will defiantly stop here again and can't wait.Oh and good luck to them for four in a bed will be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rob L
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and we will look forward to your next visit. It is always good to know that all our hard work is paying off. We try to please all our guest and it is good to know that we hit the mark with your visit.

Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015

The room was lovely clean and comfortable very friendly host and helpful the breakfast was really nice beautiful location not far from shops and train station would recommend to anyone would definitely go back again the access to the rooms are a bit difficult because of the stairs

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alison S
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

Alison, it was a pleasure having you and your daughter to stay. We are soo glad that you had a nice time and look forward to greeting you back here in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Wonderful place to stay, very clean, bedrooms beautiful and decorated to a high standard, Landlady cannot do enough to make your stay perfect, her breakfasts are amazing, very close to a lovely beach and shops, pubs and restaurants close by, the gardens in the guest house are lovely, they even have peacocks and parakeets, lovely fish ponds, can't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jojo481
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

Your review is most welcome JOJO, We very much appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think of our guest house. Hopefully we will see you back in the future and we will be ready to give you another unforgettable stay.

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

This place is stunning! The hosts were absolutely lovely and very welcoming! The breakfast every morning was delicious! The place was so homely and I loved the aviary! I came here with my parents, my sister, my grandparents and my dog and they accommodated all of us with no hitches! Booking this guest house was very last minute as well....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank danielle27297
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Danielle for your kind words on our guest house. You were a delightful family to look after and we hope you will all come back and visit again.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I had an overnight stay with my partner on a date night away from Children, we were in room 6 and it was completely amazing (the Jacuzzi was absolutely out of this world) and I felt completely at home, it was great value for money and I would do again in the future, I would highly recommend it to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Susan B
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

Your comments are very welcome and we are glad you enjoyed room 6. We are always looking for ways to make the guest house better so it is nice to know that you found our ideas of romance and comfort up to your expectations.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We got off to a bad start when we arrived and did not get the room we had booked. We were told that they had made a mistake and the superior family room was double booked, which was hard to understand as we had made our booking exactly one year previously. This was important to me, as , being 6...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank DaveDMandurah
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

We are always disappointed when a guest feels they have not had the best experience with us and we apologise for that. You booked the room for the week of the British Open and we did have many bookings, including one for the superior room, before your booking was made. It was unfortunate that we could not contact you at...

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Was lovely to stay here and Cath made us feel at home. Would definitely recommend to anyone as there is plenty to do and the secret garden out the back is a lovely place to go to look at all the different birds. Also suitable for dogs which Cath made sure she looked after ours whilst we were out which...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rachael_Burnett
Catherine V, Owner at Abertay Guest House, responded to this review

It was our pleasure looking after your lovely dog, he was no trouble at all and I hope his experience here was good for him. We do hope you will all come back and see us again sometime.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.0 km away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
0.6 km away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
319 reviews
6.1 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
0.8 km away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
12.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Abertay Guest House

Address: 65 Monifieth Road, Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range: RM332 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abertay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Abertay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abertay Guest House Dundee, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abertay Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not appropriate”
 of 5 bubbles davidcC8448NG, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles sands-mcq, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“loft room is a big family suite, beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles MissusJ_13, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All lovely airy rooms”
 of 5 bubbles V5287ZOsams, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“if you are a couple looking for a romantic night away I would recommend room 6, it's great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles susanbZ5456CU, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5