Sleeperz Hotel Dundee

Sleeperz Hotel Dundee

2 South Union Street, Dundee DD1 4BF Scotland
Traveller (345)
Superior Room
Room & Suite (118)
Some of the food from the hot breakfast buffet.
Dining (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 27 hotels in Dundee
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in the gateway of the city, moments from the railway station, Sleeperz Dundee has countless local landmarks on its doorstep. Delve into culture at the V&A or take in the local scenery at the riverside, just a short walk from our hotel. Expertly designed with your comfort in mind, Sleeperz Dundee combines relaxed spaces and well-appointed rooms, perfectly suited to both leisure and business guests. With rooms varying from Standard Queen and Superior Rooms to large Family rooms, there is an option for every guest. Relax in the evening in our lounge and restaurant with exquisite views over the river Tay and in the morning join us for breakfast with both cooked and continental breakfast selections.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2 South Union Street, Dundee DD1 4BF Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Turnhouse Airport
61.7 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
627Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 408
  • 142
  • 47
  • 14
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lindyloobs wrote a review Feb 2020
Hamilton, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the hotel as a surprise for my wife’s birthday and got a really good rate for a superior king room by booking direct on the hotel’s website. We were given the best room they have on the top floor (540) with huge bed and corner full length windows showing amazing views of the River Tay, The Discovery and the V&A. The hotel is very centrally located above the train station and everything we wanted to see was within a 5 minute walk. The room was well equipped with comfortable bed, ideally located plug sockets including USB and amazing rainfall shower with a heated mirror also in the bathroom. We had breakfast included in the rate and it was delicious. We had croissants, yoghurt and fruit and also hot food (sausages, haggis, bacon, eggs, beans and hash browns).
The staff were all super helpful and friendly, our batteries ran out in the TV remote and they sent someone up with new ones within 5 minutes of our call to reception. Great service! Wouldn’t even consider staying anywhere else in Dundee now. Will be booking again in the near future!
I should also mention that we parked in the Greenmarket Car Park which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel gives you 25% off the cost of your parking if you use that car park. We were parked for around 22 hours and it cost us £7.70, we were expecting it to be around £20 at least so were very pleasantly surprised. Thanks again Sleeperz!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MansoorB53, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Lindyloobs (Excellent Tag) Sounds as though you had a fantastic stay and a memorable experience. We did try and think of everything to ensure all guests have a great stay with service delivered by an amazing team. And its great to hear that you booked direct with us and you definitely got the best room in the house with the best views in the city. Excellent review and kind and encouraging words, thank you so much. Hope to have you back again soon Best Regards Manny Baber General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moira R wrote a review Feb 2020
Arbroath, United Kingdom315 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff on reception very friendly & helpful & check in was swift. The standard room was a decent size & had everything we needed. The hotel is new so all fixtures & furniture are in excellent condition & in working order. The standard of housekeeping was very high in the room ,bathroom & public areas. We found the bed & pillows really comfortable & there was no noise at all overnight.
Breakfast had a good selection of cold & hot items all refreshed regularly. The hot items had been prepared with care & nothing was overcooked or dried out. The mushrooms were so good I am going to ask for the recipe next time I stay. Have already recommended this hotel to friends & family. Looking for an excuse to return soon.
Moira.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MansoorB53, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Dear Moira An absolute lovely review, thank you. Reviews like this make it all worth while. I will certainly share your kind words with the whole team. I really do hope you manage to find an excuse to visit us again soon. Best Regards Manny Baber General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shonz7 wrote a review Feb 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom317 contributions136 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is excellent, joined on to the train station. We stayed 2 nights in a basic double room on a B&B basis and it was very competitively priced, room was a good size with all the amenities you need. Breakfast was decent with milk alternatives and the cooked food was regularly topped up by the kitchen team. We enjoyed drinks in the hotel bar and it had a great outlook over Dundee city centre. Staff at reception really helpful and pleasant. We would not hesitate staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MansoorB53, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear rebus, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Great feedback, will certainly share with the team. Hope you get the chance to visit us again soon Best Regards Manny Baber General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liam 040488 wrote a review Aug 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel as we had stayed here last year and we had a great time.
Booked in on the Thursday - I had called a head to request an extra duvet and pillows be placed in the room prior to our arrival. When we entered the room there was no extra pillows or duvet. I had to go to reception to request again.
Due to the Covid19 situation house keeping wasn't available while you are staying in the room, we were told if we needed anything to call reception and they would bring it to us (fresh towels, toilet rool etc)
We called reception a few times to request these things and each time we had to go our selves to collect.
I really do not mind the no house keeping due to covid19. However having to go to reception to collect toilet roll is not on.
On the Saturday morning I was heading for some fresh air when I woke around 0630.
While walking the corridor to the lifts I noticed shards of glass on the floor.
Clearly someone had dropped a glass during the night and hadn't reported this.
I went to reception on my way out and informed them (0705). When I entered the corridor again around 15 minutes later the glass was still there. It was still there at 0930! Almost 2 and half hours later. I managed to get a hold of the general manager and reported it to him, I also informed him that I had told reception about this and the time. There was young children staying on this floor they could have been seriously hurt.
We ended up leaving a night early as we were so disappointed with out stay, especially after for paying for a superior room which was no bigger than a normal room.
Water pressure was also not great on the 5th floor.

I would not reccomend this hotel for anything more than a 2 night stay at maximum.

Hand sanitizers only available on ground floor and 2nd floor. Not available on any off the 3 floor where rooms are.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: room 538 and rooms 540 are the best rooms for the view. But not worth the extra price when no...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mansoor Baber, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 4 Sept 2020
Dear Liam, Firstly thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am not going to try and explain or dissect your feedback as things are extremely tough just now as they are and we are trying our best to deliver a level of standard that we are famous for. Things are different, we just need a little understanding I will however offer my apologies for any short comings and say that if you had contacted me in the first instance or flagged your experience while you were on site (Not the guy you spoke to) i would have resolved your disappointment in a different way. The glass you refer to was a sprinkle that was missed, inconsiderate guests - Its what we are up against! Best Regards Manny Baber General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adriano Pinhas wrote a review Jan 2020
Ribeirao Preto, SP36 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to make Dundee as our base to visit some places in this region of Scotland (as St. Andrews, Perth, Dunkeld) but didn’t know for sure were to stay. Sleeperz was one of the choices and we came to the reception trying to know the rooms personally. Here, a person made our decision very easy showing us the room and tell us we would probably love the hotel services, the room, the location, everything. Which could be a one day stay extended to a four days stay thanks to Neli!!!!
My special thanks to Neli!!! She was right! The Hotel should say thanks to her too!! Thanks to Melissa and Aileen and the smiling guy Raphael too!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MansoorB53, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Adriano, Great review thank you, and thanks also for choosing Sleeperz Dundee as your base. I am so pleased that it was the staff that helped with your decision, our reviews are almost all about the service from the staff, im chuffed. I will personally pass on your kind words to Neli, Mellissa, Aileen and of course Raphael. I hope you get a chance to visit us again soon Best Regards Manny Baber General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GlasgowHappyHolidays wrote a review Aug 2020
Larbert, United Kingdom302 contributions207 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
An unexpected stay in Dundee after becoming stranded i decided to stay at the flash looking exterior the Sleeperz. Its very centre location across from the V&A and built as part of the new train station development.

Access by car is difficult. Odd arrange of reception on 2nd floor made difficult at the moment as 1 person or bubble per lift.

Reception bright and modern and impressive.

Corridors bright white and very long and uninviting with grey doors.

Room, harsh and modern much like a hair saloon. Wooden floors, white walls, stripes of bright reds and lots of glass shelves and mirrors. Far from cozy and inviting. Very small bathroom with large free standing shower. Although a relatively new hotel the decor already was showing signs of badly dating. Not to my taste.

Breakfast was servered in a bright area off reception with modern but more cozy and inviting decor. Quality of food was average.

Difficult to recommend other than its central location. Noise from the trains below was experienced as was lots of foot traffic from the room above give the wooden floors so request a top floor room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mansoor Baber, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 7 Aug 2020
Dear GHH Thanks for taking the time to write. Wow, i want to go to your hairdressers now. Some good feedback while some down to taste i'm sure (as you say). I'm sorry you thought the food was average, not what we regularly hear at all although we have had to adapt to save our industry and comply with the health guidance at the same time. Again, shame you are finding it difficult to recommend us, not what is usually reported, you only have to read the other reviews. I see you haven't gave a good rating to anyone since November 2019, i hope that changes for you. Thanks again Best Regards Manny Baber General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lzzao wrote a review Jun 2021
St Ives, United Kingdom27 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot recommend this place highly enough; first of all the patient desk clerk answers the phone immediately, followed by detailed instructions of where to park and immediate book in - the entrance is very cool and up a lift to the reception, then a modern curving hallway leads you to your flash, spotless and beautifully designed room with modern furniture and very well placed high power shower with brand new fittings and grey slate design. Air conditioning works perfectly with immediate response from the digital dial. The bar/restaurant downstairs couldn't be more convivial, with super polite waiters and a good range of food. I couldn't recommend this place more. Bizarrely its cheaper than many others in Dundee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: They're all good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mansoor Baber, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Dear Izzao, What a wonderful review, thank you so much for your kind words. It really does light up our day when we receive such positive and encouraging feedback, makes it all worthwhile. I really hope you get the chance to visit us again. Best Regards Manny Baber
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarolR49 wrote a review Mar 2022
18 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 2 night stay in this spotlessly clean contemporary hotel. Our experience was exemplary and I would not hesitate to use again.

A lovely warm welcome from the lady on Reception. I had completed check in online prior to arrival. Our room was ready about an hour early so we dropped off our small cases in our immaculate twin room before heading out.

Parking was in a multi storey 5 min walk from hotel and having ticket validated by hotel gave us a 25% discount (also only charged between 8am and 8pm)

Breakfast Buffet (eat as much as you want) - hot buffet was of good quality and very enjoyable.

Had dinner in hotel on second night - menu had lots of choice, food was tasty and priced very reasonably.

Staff in hotel all very helpful and friendly without being over familiar.

Great value for money. Although hotel is built over the railway station - it is triple glazed and I didn’t hear any train noise whatsoever. Perfect location being right beside Discovery and V&A museum.

I will definitely be back. Thank you for an enjoyable stay with no hiccups.

Carol Robertson
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
collyboyFife wrote a review Feb 2022
Fife94 contributions97 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ideally sited above train station, obviously we'll soundproofing as you don't hear any train noise at all.
Check in was effortless plenty sanitisers spread about the reception which also leads into the bar/restaurant where again plenty sanitising stations doted about. In that area plenty comfy seats to relax and watch the world go by. Bar/restaurant staff all very pleasant and friendly. Had breakfast both days great selection of continental or cooked breakfast. The hot stuff was on a buffet style so just help yourself, all containers were being continually refreshed and stocked and the choice was of good quality products.
Room was looking over river tay and rail bridge, very clean and tidy and had everything you needed for a short stay. Bedding looked crisp n clean and bed very comfy so a good night's sleep.
Air con in room was quiet and easily controlled by yourself so temp in room was to your on liking. Toilet/shower room was also clean and tidy, shower had a rainfall shower head plus a hand held lower appliance which was very handy.
Overall very impressed with hotel and definitely impressed by the staff employed within it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upper floors give great view over the bridges and the river tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy R wrote a review Jan 2020
Fife, United Kingdom3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very modern hotel and appeared very clean until I saw the dust on the wallpaper and plughole could do with a bit of bleach. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Very very hot in the hotel I'm sure they could save a bit money by turning the thermostat down a few degrees
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MansoorB53, General Manager at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Wendy, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review. Apologies. Please note our bedroom wall paper is of a 'velvet' nature which may appear as you say. We will however double check all rooms. As for the heating, i wish we could find a happy temperature for all. I am assuming you are referring to the bar/lounge area as the bedrooms are all fully air conditioned. I do hope you get a chance to visit us again soon Best Regards Manny Baber General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz M asked a question Apr 2023
12 contributions
What is the breakfast?
Answer from John F
Charlestown, null, United Kingdom37 contributions37 helpful votes
Good choice continental, fruit juices, cereals and fried full breakfast, tea and coffee, plentiful.
Beth D asked a question Feb 2023
do you allow dogs?
Answer from Popopo1976
Limbang, Malaysia2,622 contributions237 helpful votes
Didn't see dog during our stay. I contacted Sleeperz and I can confirm that dogs are not allowed.
Answer from Popopo1976
Limbang, Malaysia2,622 contributions237 helpful votes
18 and above
Marge R asked a question Oct 2022
Kansas City, Missouri2 contributions
What time is check out
Answer from kevin e
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom113 contributions75 helpful votes
11.00 am but you can pay for a late checkout
David S wrote a tip 16 May
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tesco Express right below the hotel for everything you need."
Read full review
Howard wrote a tip 14 May
Northallerton, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking but hotel has arrangements with local parking firm offering 25% discount"
Read full review
Stewart H wrote a tip 5 May
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 437 is room with a gorgeous view"
Read full review
May S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Elgin, United Kingdom8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you look forward to hot breakfast eat elsewhere!"
Read full review
Mrandmrsg75 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Brechin, United Kingdom14 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The train station is right beside the hotel "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dundee area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 324 - RM 582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SLEEPERZ HOTEL DUNDEE (R̶M̶ ̶4̶1̶8̶) RM 315: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 366 Photos (Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Which popular attractions are close to Sleeperz Hotel Dundee?
Nearby attractions include Discovery Point (0.10 km), Desperate Dan Statue (0.3 km), and Dundee Science Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sleeperz Hotel Dundee?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sleeperz Hotel Dundee?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tahini, Milas Turkish Kitcken & Bar, and The Flame Tree Cafe.
Is Sleeperz Hotel Dundee located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Dundee.
Are there any historical sites close to Sleeperz Hotel Dundee?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Verdant Works (1.0 km), Claypotts Castle (5.5 km), and Dundee International Submarine Monument (1.0 km).
Does Sleeperz Hotel Dundee have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Sleeperz Hotel Dundee accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dundee HotelsDundee Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DundeeHotels near Sleeperz Hotel Dundee
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire