We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Show Prices
#6 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
 Click to rate
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I recently held our wedding here on the 18th of March. We cannot praise the hotel enough for the huge success of the day. And in the weeks before, building up to the wedding . Everything that we asked for was not just met but in most cases exceeded. A very professional and friendly staff who all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikemcgurk2017
Inchture
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thought we would try this hotel again for lunch Great improvement food very good service good and we would certainly go back for lunch again or perhaps try in the evening ground around hotel very well kept

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in king size room in Abercrombie wing (opened in November 2016). Very comfy bed, pillows and duvet. Spotless room. Good breakfast. Very 'gluten free' friendly. Friendly helpful staff. 20 min walk from centre of Broughty Ferry where there are lots of bars and restaurants and lovely beaches. Imagine it's a popular wedding venue. Would go back if planning anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny_Alison
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi, just visited this hotel with our friends at the end of March. There service is very poor from none trained bar staff to not knowing what a red wine glass looks like. If you fancy brandy they only have one glass in the facility. On our last morning everybody received there breakfast except my husband who is still waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Moiralawson
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and i apologies for you not enjoying your time with us. We are given a stock of wine glasses that are used for white, red and rose and we do not particularly have specific red wine glasses. I will however investigate the lack of brandy glasses as i am...

Polegate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for six nights and came away feeling well cared for and relaxed. This was also helped by a full body massage from Christine. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food plentiful. If you plan to have a Scottish high tea forego lunch! An experience not to be missed. Great shower and comfy bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenandDansMum
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass all of your feedback onto the rest of the staff and to Christine. We hope you will be back with us again in the future

fife
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We were at my husbands cousin's wedding and stayed overnight on the saturday. Lovely hotel,lovely rooms. Greeted at reception by a very friendly member of staff who ahowed us where to go to get to our room. Spacious and nicely decorated with plenty storage space. Nice powerful shower and lovely fresh towels. The wedding was lovely and the meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FifeSunlover
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind feed back and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. I will pass all of your comments onto the rest of the team and we hope you will stay with us again soon

Edinburgh
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Quiet location although slightly out of town for Broughty Ferry. Warm and friendly welcome at reception set the tone for attentive customer service throughout. Spacious room with plenty of storage space which was furnished and cleaned to a high standard. There was a fault with the radiator so room was initially cold but upon mentioning this to reception it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotsguy31
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. We aim to provide a great quality customer experience and are delighted to know that we delivered this for your stay. I would recommend that you contact the hotel directly to book your next stay and we will make sure you are provided with the same room etc.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Stayed for one night, accommodation was fine and our welcome when we arrived to check in was friendly and efficient. Excellent car park facilities and leisure club as well. Breakfast buffet had a good variety and food items were lovely and hot. My only other comment would be the breakfast waiting staff were nowhere near as friendly as those on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon C
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the lack of customer service you received during breakfast, this is not our usual standard and i will be taking this up with the restaurant manager and with the staff concerned. I do hope...

Hamilton,U.K
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Overnight stay turned out better after a free upgrade. The first room we were allocated was in the older part of the hotel and was very tired to say the least. After mentioning this at reception we were taken to a room in the new section which was absolutely gorgeous. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant in the evening which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizzieHamilton_U_K
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank yo for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would always recommend contacting the hotel directly for reservations as we do have varying room types throughout the hotel and we will be able to advise what we have available. We do hope you will stay with us again

Reviewed 15 March 2017

We were staying here with another couple for a single night on a short weekend break. As Best Western members, the other couple got us a good deal on bed and breakfast. It is a nicely situated hotel in its own small grounds with ample parking. The main, older, building has been extended with a newer block of additional rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I would advise contacting the hotel directly if you wish to stay with us again as we will be able to allocate your room in another part of the hotel

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
7.0 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
13.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
10.8 km away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#11 of 30 in Dundee
334 reviews
1.9 km away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Address: Woodlands Hotel 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range: RM299 - RM434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bebington, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“at front of hotel”
SonyaS726, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We love 225 which is in the newer wing and very quiet”
BenandDansMum, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newer rooms”
LizzieHamilton_U_K, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid attic rooms (134)”
brianhJ8689YH, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“our room was 224 which had lift access.”
bryanComrie, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5