We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbotsford Guest House

Booking.comUS$101*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$168*
US$101*
Great Deal
US$144*
US$144*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Abbotsford Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Start your review of Abbotsford Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I'm older, so love clean and love quiet - this lovely guesthouse is both and the service is kindly and willingly undertaken in all areas. I met Ali and Khaled, and the so lovely cleaning girl - all can't do enough for you! great for a weary traveller. Thanks Ali, Khaled and cleaning girl, you were all wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we arrived the owner had already taken prepayment from my card. Didn't realise this was allowed but fair enough. Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was not great. I booked for a full cooked breakfast but as it was a new owner they only did continental which was basic and first morning they were still setting up at 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natalie w
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Horrible experience! I arrived to a new landlord Calebe demanding prepayment for the attic room. When I questioned why, he told me "people leave in the middle of the night so we must get payment beforehand". I was shocked and would have left but at the last minute, nowhere to go. A fully cooked breakfast is advertised - NO WAY....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CC1497
abbotsford36, General Manager at Abbotsford Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, we're very sorry to hear this. We would just like to clarify a few points: 1. Payment on arrival is our standard policy and is the standard policy for the majority of Guesthouses/hotels. This is stated in our T&Cs. 2. Since taking over ownership of the property we have always advertised a continental breakfast and you can find this...

Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

The warm welcome was just the start of the wonderful service at Abbotsford Guest House. Ali and Kahled can't do enough to help you during your stay. The rooms are lovely and homely with crisp clean white linen and all the facilities you could need. Breakfast was wonderful, an abundance of fresh fruit, cereal and savoury choices and tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LucybOURNE
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

All perfect The facility. The room an breakfast All exceeded expectations. The location is very good walking distance from major attractions. Not far from princess street. Recommended to families and friends Very friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abd B
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We chose this guesthouse for the central location and free car parking space. It is only 15 mins walking to the city centre, but there are a lot of restaurants in the main street 1 min from this guesthouse. The rooms are ok for this price. A bit outdated, but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Merel K
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I could say this wonderful facility is clean, quiet, and restful and leave it at that, but the hostess, Paola, is the essence of Scottish hospitality! After a great night's sleep, go down to the dining room and enjoy full English breakfast! Great value for the money and convenience to all points in the centre of Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdZ56003
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We needed somewhere clean and welcoming for an overnight stay in Edinburgh; we researched and came up with the Abbotsford Guest House and we were not disappointed. It was exactly what it claimed to be! We arrived early - 10 o'clock - the timing was fortuitous as we found a parking space slap bang outside our room. We walked into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane A
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely b&b conveniently located. Paola the landlady couldn't be more helpful - being able to change the check in time to suit my schedule. A single room with shared bathroom wouldn't be right for everyone. But a cheap-ish room during the Edinburgh Fringe is like gold dust and this worked perfectly for me.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie T
Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This B&B was fine for one night. Ask for a room at the back as the front room allocated to us was not good due to excessive road noise. It was too stuffy to close the window so broken sleep was the order of the night. Breakfast was adequate. Difficulty in finding a secure parking place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewenmac

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 km away
Balmoral Guesthouse
Balmoral Guesthouse
#99 of 389 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
1.4 km away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
320 reviews
0.1 km away
16 Pilrig Guest House
16 Pilrig Guest House
#149 of 389 in Edinburgh
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#122 of 389 in Edinburgh
357 reviews
1.0 km away
Mingalar
Mingalar
#88 of 389 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
3.9 km away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#90 of 389 in Edinburgh
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Abbotsford Guest House

Address: 36 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM438 - RM1,331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbotsford Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbotsford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbotsford Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single traveller - ask for the attic room! I loved it. quiet, comfy, cheap!”
terrid724, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Attic room is tiny - watch you don't bump your head. Doors from the other attic rooms bang closed. Shared bathroom is not kept clean.”
CC1497, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms are nice and quiet, but front rooms are not at all noisy because Pilrig Street is a small, quiet street.”
EdZ56003, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room faced street; traffic noise as expected in city; did not prevent us from having a good night's sleep, even with windows ajar.”
729dianea, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you have very heavy luggage or are not comfortable climbing stairs - book a room on the lower floor.”
anchi100, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$144
Hotwire.comUS$144
CancelonUS$168
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates