We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St Giles Apartments

Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
St Giles Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 273: English reviews
Start your review of St Giles Apartments
 Click to rate
Littleton
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Couldn't believe the amount of space in this apartment! The location is perfect for exploring the castle, Royal Mile, all of downtown Edinburgh. Beautifully decorated, clean and contained most everything needed. The only reason I did not give an excellent rating is because there was no clothes dryer. It took a long time for clothes to dry spread out all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j4white
Orange County, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cannot stay enough great things about these apartment. Right in the heart of the city, amazing features and amazing customer service. The stay made our 3 day stay in Scotland perfect and allowed us to do some laundry in house! The city itself is amazing and these apartments are set to cater to your needs. The staff checking in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbowers75
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at the apartments for 2 nights and It was very bad smell of paint.Management been informed and it looked it they didn't really care, because we didn't stay there long...So they left us there in the mess...We had headache for two days and didn't sleep very well, because of that paint smell...Apart that good location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Indre K
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at 1 St Giles Apartments 5th to 7th March.We arrived after 8pm on Sunday due to a train delay,the key collection couldn't have been easier,we had a code for the box containing the keys and directions.We were staying about 10 metres from the offices.The apartment was smart but the flooring and sofas were showing there age,but for £89...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonduck
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Simon, it was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we are honoured to review such a positive review. Located on the Royal Mile, with views out over St Giles Cathedral and a rear facing bedroom to ensure privacy and peace, these spacious properties offer the comfort and convenience of home with the luxury of a boutique hotel....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The position of the apartment was excellent. Right in the hub of everything going on over the New Year period. The one downside to the position was the hill to climb when leaving the apartment. This would not be a problem for most but for the elderly or disabled. The apartment itself was very clean and well maintained. Unfortunately when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Carole, we appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay and we are honoured to receive such kind feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies again for the issue with the fridge freezer during your time with us. Although we strive to rectify all issues reported to us swiftly, due to the time of year, we were unable...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have decided to give this 4 stars as we thought for less than one hundred pounds a night it was good value for money. If it was slightly more then we would have given it 3 stars, which would have been intended not as a negative rating, but rather than a fair rating. For anyone considering the penthouse here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchm71
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Mitchm, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our Old Tolbooth Wynd Penthouse apartment. Located just off the Royal Mile this penthouse apartment offers two comfortable double bedrooms each with its own en-suite bathroom, a modern main bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious living room with views out to Carlton Hill as well as...

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I stayed at these apartments for a weekend with my family. The office/reception was easy to find to check in but I didn't realize the apartments weren't at this location. It was quite a distance to the bottom end of High Street to our apartment. The apartment was quite small but the decor was modern and bright. The carpets could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerry C
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, we appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay in our Old Tolbooth Wynd apartments. These properties are located in Old Tolbooth Wynd, which is roughly 6-10 minutes’ walk from our key collection office. To ensure full clarity we specifically market these apartments with the exact address, including postcode, in the property description but...

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

What a stay. Great location. Room #1 had amazing views of the Cathedral - in fact you are practically in the doorway! The kitchen and bathroom were exactly what you expect. The sunken bedroom (almost a level down from the living area) assured a peaceful nights sleep despite being right in the thick of the city! Can't recommend this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Richard, it was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post such positive feedback in an online forum. We have passed your comments along to Mike who was very glad that he was able to provide assistance. Should you return to Edinburgh in the future we would be honoured to welcome...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my two sisters stayed in one of these apartments for a weekend and I can't say enough good things about them and the people who run them. The decor is amazing as is the location. There were several personal touches like chocolates on the pillows and milk, tea and coffee left for us in the kitchen. I fully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Emma, it was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we are honoured to receive such a lovely review. At Apartments Edinburgh we strive to provide high quality self-catering homes away from home for the same rate as a standard hotel room and we are very glad that everything was to your satisfaction. We appreciate your recommendation and...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We have stayed in Edinburgh many times, mostly in hotels but more recently we have been seeking out self catering apartments as we like the flexibility and informality these provide. It's great to have our own lounge to enjoy after a hectic day in the city. Our recent stay in a St Giles Apartment couldn't have been better. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlamingN0ra
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Nora, we appreciate you sharing your experience in an online forum and it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We are very glad that we were able to resolve your issue quickly and will pass your comments along to our team who will be delighted that they were able to provide fast...

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
840 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,515 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: RM533 - RM1,578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St Giles Apartments staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from St Giles Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Right on the Royal Mile!”
 of 5 bubbles dbowers75, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bad smell of paint!”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great views of the stunning St Giles Cathedral from room 5”
 of 5 bubbles evelyn156, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stairs only, No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 55nickw, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Each apartment has its own location. Be aware and google map it first.”
 of 5 bubbles dianek159, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates