We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Before booking this stay, I was a bit apprehensive looking at the negative reviews but I am very glad I booked it anyway. There were 2 of us and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was very clean, modern and had all the necessities. Spacious, comfortable rooms and wifi worked perfectly. Parking was convenient, and the parking permit in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chrissie167
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a wonderful comment on our apartment, could I ask when you stayed in the apartment as the emergency on call should always be answered between 10am until 10pm Saturday and Sunday and Monday to Friday 5pm until 10pm if you would like to discuss your stay further please don't hesitate to contact me direct on Kimberly@easyletproperty.com...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2014

We were a group of 12 girls on a hen weekend which was booked at least 10 months in advance. I had booked 3 apartments to accommodate all the girls, 2 of the apartments were in block 10 whilst the other was in block 80! I requested when making the booking that all 3 apartments were to be together which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bex183
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback on our apartment. We take customers feedback very seriously and whilst I agree that there should of been towels and toilet paper in your apartment, which I will personally speak to my housekeeping as to why this was not done I must disagree with what you say regarding the on call, it was myself...

Portage la Prairie, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Getting in was complicated - the access code could only be obtained by phoning (email or text was not an option) and the lockbox with the key was on another building a block away. The dishwasher was broken and had not finished the last cycle, both toilets had issues and there were burnt out lights. The apartment was large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayorbob
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with ourselves. We email and text you your key box code prior to arrival, as we are self service apartments, unfortunately some apartments the key box may not be at your apartment but a short walk away. We do have an on call phone for such maintenance issues,...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very basic - clean but lots of repairs/replacements needed. We had 4 different apartments between our group and none of them had sufficient chairs for all the guests to sit down at once - they have just crammed too many beds in for the size of room. Most stressful was only being provided with 3 keys for 4 rooms (one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sandy I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the apartment, we provide one key per apartment, you never said what apartment you stayed, if you would like to contact me direct and we can resolve the matter more directly. We are currently going through an upgrade in our apartments...

Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There were a group of 14 girls who travelled for a hen party weekend in Edinburgh. The apartment was fully kitted with all that we needed. Most of the bedrooms had en suites and there was a main bathroom with a bath. The apartment had a spacious living room and kitchen. It was also excellent value for money. Would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missy86_11
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Missy86_11 I am so pleased to see our apartment catered for you and your friends and hope that you all enjoyed Edinburgh. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future Kind Regards Kim

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments last week and had a great time. About a 15-20 min walk from Old Town and the Royal Mile. Even closer to Leith st. Which has several very good restaurants. The Pros would be location, value and parking. Cons were that the apartments were not very well appointed, many things were broken and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our apartment, I am unsure what apartment you stayed in but our maintenance are very good and keeping everything in working order so to read this is worrying as not heard about anything in need of repair, if you could contact me directly and we can go over the issues directly that would be...

Winthrop, Maine
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After driving from London to continue our holiday, we learned that the address on the advertisement was only where the lock boxes to get the keys were located. They are tucked away in a back alley. The "staff office" is on the other side of the city and was closed upon our arrival. After calling the number to get the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank firedetecta
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I would like to take the time to apologise for the issues that occurred during your stay with ourselves. As we are self serviced apartments we will send you a wee map and your keybox number via email or text this also means that breakfast is not provided and I would like to take the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nothing better than check to a lovely apartment after 400 miles of driving. The apartment was a little gem, the apartment was very presented and very spacious. The location is perfect central of Edinburgh plus off road parking! The neighbourhood felt safe and could walk to and from city century without any worry. The only confusing thing is getting the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comment I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with Easylet apartments and we hope to welcome you in the near future Warm Regards Kim

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2013

As we arrived on a Saturday morning and outside of office hours, we called the number they provided however the woman who answer the phone didn’t have any telephone manner’s and never once mentioned the company name until I asked her was I thru to the right person. We asked if our apartment was ready and she couldn’t even tell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rayo89
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you never had a good stay with ourselves we are going through a refurb at the moment and hope to finish it early 2015, we hope we can welcome you back in the near future. If you wish to contact myself directly please don't hesitate to do so. Look forward to hearing from you...

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Apartments about 15 mins walk from Princes Street, nice big rooms. Everything you need for weekend break. Would definately stay again. Kitchen could have been better equiped with pots and utensils etc but for girlie weekend was fine. Had to phone maintenance once as bathroom light didnt work, they came out straight away. Brilliant value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traydel

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#23 of 205 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#27 of 205 in Edinburgh
119 reviews
Southside Guest House
#53 of 445 in Edinburgh
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canon Court Apartments
#37 of 205 in Edinburgh
348 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Accommodation
Royal Mile Accommodation
#78 of 205 in Edinburgh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighbourhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighbourhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments

Address: 44 Clerk Street, Edinburgh EH8 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Price Range: RM400 - RM791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a mobility issue it would be best to request a room in the block of apartments that has a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 913jillh, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be clear about location”
 of 5 bubbles 176puneetk, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“2 double rooms and very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles TAJ0905, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Only go if you are really close to the other guests - you can hear conversation through the walls!”
 of 5 bubbles 823sandys, 8 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go Elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles firedetecta, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay