We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Show Prices
#32 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,064 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,745: English reviews
Harpenden, England
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful and clean room with all modern facilities. Lovely shower and bathroom. No toothpaste brought but a quick call and 2 mins later delivered. Arrived late and off to dinner immediately, bags taken and left in room. Breakfast was excellent and flexible. Very convenient for Waverley station and central business locations. I will come back on personal business here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fujishimo
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fujishimo Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. I was really pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay. It was especially pleasing to read that our team were able to give you friendly and efficient service. I do hope we get to welcome you back to our hotel next time you visit Edinburgh....

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Although the rooms were a little small but the location and the staff really made it an extremely pleasant stay! The chocolate chip shortbreads they give everyday after the room is cleaned is to die for!! Really have fond memories of this place. Book it without any worries!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ankitn2912
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ankitn2912 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I was truly pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I was especially pleased to read that our team were able to make your stay pleasant. I do hope that we get to welcome you back next time you visit Edinburgh. Kindest regards Alan

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is great and I would have given 5 stars if it was not for very slow evening food service. Everything else is very good- excellent even. The rooms are fab - ours was set up with two kids' beds upon our arrival. The bathroom was lovely - great shower and lovely big bath. Beds were comfy and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SShieldsi
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SShieldsi Thank you for posting an online review of your experiences while staying at our hotel. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time, I was however disappointed to read that we let ourselves down slightly with the food service. I have shared your words with my Food & Beverage Manager and asked him to look...

Kilkenny
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent hotel which is clean, modern and the ideal location to explore the city. The staff were brilliant and the food was great. The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere particularly the bar where you can unwind after a day sightseeing. I will definately be returning to and recommending the Apex.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19grainneb
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 19grainneb Thank you for writing a review of our hotel, and for your kind words. I was really pleased to read that you had an excellent stay and that this was in part down to our team, as this something we are truly proud of at Apex Hotels. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

My friend and I booked to come for my friends birthday. We bought the package deal which included dinner and breakfast. When we got there, we were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a delux room, which was fab. But we're told that only one person was booked in for dinner and breakfast. I don't know who's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TandFL
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TandFL Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I was truly disappointed to read that your stay was far below our usual levels of service. I have shared your feedback with my management team and asked them all to look into their respective areas to ensure going forward such shortfalls do not reoccur. Please accept my...

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a wonderful experience - clean hotel, very very helpful staff!!! We had a slight delay to our room as it wasn;t quite ready (very busy period - half term and Valentines) but they offered us another room and a £10.00 bar voucher; we waited in the bar area for our original room and a lady there very helpful talked...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha A
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samantha A Thank you for posting an online review of your stay with us. I was truly pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. It was especially pleasing to see that our team were able to give you the most wonderful of experiences as this is at the core of what we do at Apex Hotels....

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely corner view room on 8th floor, very comfortable and spacious. Only glitch was the heating didn't seem to work properly but reception sorted us with a heater if it were to get too cold at all but in truth it was fine. Only an issue as it was a particularly cold weekend in Edinburgh. We arrived early and our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil C Thanking for completing an online review of your stay. I was really pleased to see that your weekend in Edinburgh was such a positive one. I was especially pleased to see that you found our team excellent as this is something we always strive to deliver. I do hope we get to see you again sometime soon....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't fault it great location, great staff, good food lovely room and a massive bed. They made a room available for us as we arrived very early in the morning well before check in but they sorted things out.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 367alunj
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 367alunj Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Apex Waterloo Place. I was pleased to see that you had a wonderful time, and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival. I do hope we get to welcome back the next time you visit Edinburgh. Kindest regards Alan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Best beds to sleep in and the rooms are so homey that it didn't feel like a hotel at all. In a great location so close to all the sites. Very clean and very friendly staff and the service was so good that we got to the hotel early before check in time and the room was already for us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 508eddie
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 508eddie Thanking for writing an review of your recent stay here at Apex Waterloo place. I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. It was really pleasing to see that you found our team friendly as this is something we really pride ourselves upon. I do hope we get to welcome you back to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice welcome on Reception - cosy bedroom with all you could ever need to hand - bath robes, slippers , trouser press , mini bar plus tea and coffee etc well stock bar with Sky Sports - plus perfect location to visit shops , bars , restaurants etc - would definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
Alan H, General Manager at Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip A Thank you for completing some online feedback in relation to your recent time with us. It was really pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time here. It was especially pleasing to see that your trip was off to a great start with nice welcome you received from our team. We all look forward to welcoming you...

1,084 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (915)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (239)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (366)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (142)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
City Double Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
782 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
805 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,104 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the city centre to the East of Princes Street, this historic building combines traditional features with contemporary style. This four star deluxe hotel has 186 stylish en-suite rooms with widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Other facilities include Elliot's Bar and Restaurant, Events space for up to 184, and a Spa. The spa's pool, sauna and gym are free to guests and a range of Elemis spa treatments can be booked in the single and couples treatment rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 23-27 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: RM495 - RM1,597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Waterloo Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Waterloo Place Edinburgh
Hotel Apex Waterloo Place
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
6 months ago
Merseyside
7 months ago
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
25 days ago

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Waterloo Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles lyndsay0, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would ask for a front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Tamandmarion, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with tub and shower if you want both.”
 of 5 bubbles bobettemc, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“not suitable for smokers”
 of 5 bubbles KerryMaurice, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We have stayed on several occasions and never had problems of noise or comfort”
 of 5 bubbles dralexander1, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5