We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Great Hostel overall, close to Princes Street for shopping and central to everything. Also close to Edinburgh castle. Hostel facilities are good with enough space for travelers to leave luggage around, and lockers available. The staff however was extremely unreasonable when I booked an extra night and tried to get a refund or credit for it. They also jacked up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank np1247
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback! As stated upon our terms and conditions we do have a 48 hour cancellation policy and are unable to give refunds within this termination time allowance. During Edinburgh special event periods such as the Fringe festival and Hogmanay celebrations we do raise our prices slightly in order to provide additional staffing, this allows us to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Located on a side street just off the Royal mile, it is an ideal location in the heart of old town and very close to new town. The welcome shot of whiskey was a nice surprise 😅 I was with 4 friends in an 8 bed mixed dorm. Room is okay. Lockers available for hire. The room however had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne C
Management response:

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in december 2016 : - Very friendly staff - Cozy reception and common room - High building (6 or 7 levels) which is typical for Edinburgh. - Located in the middle of the city, which is nice if you need a small break of walking around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mr_Jaspero
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. Safe travels!

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I'm reluctant to share how great I found this place in case I can't get a booking in the future... I stayed two nights here, first night in a private 4 room dorm, second night in a private room. The hostel is spread over two buildings - the first night in the 4 bedroom dorm was standard hostel amenities. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rmc103
Management response:

Thanks for the great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Came to Edinburgh without booking a place to stay. With few options we happened to stumble upon this place. Glad we did. Not only did it seem cheaper than most comparable options, we found our room to be a good value at the price. And they were extremely friendly and helpful, going as far as to help us find a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cory W
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We had a blast here. It's huge, clean, and located in the middle of Old Town, surrounded by trendy shops and bars. It's a great place to meet people. Nice, relaxed armosphere. Really friendly, cool staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guusjecoumans
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Honestly, I would not have believed this was a hostel. Stayed in a private 2 bed room with bathroom. This is located in a separate building. The beds were very, very comfortable; most likely because I was expecting bunk beds and was happy not to have to sleep on a standard hostel style bed after long day exploring. Opted for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roisin171
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The hostel is perfectly located, close to the castle. We stayed in this hostel as part of an Erasmus Trip to Edinburgh. I could not really complain about anything. it was not croweded, (bath)-rooms have been clean and breakfast was provided. So everything you would expect from a hostel was perfectly fullfilled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaaaaaaaaaarl89
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

My friend and I wanted a cheap hostel for 1 night only, but we didn't want to share a dorm room with other people. We had our own room and shared a pretty good sized bathroom and nice kitchen area with 2 other people. All the rooms and bathrooms were clean and in good condition and the communal bathrooms in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 163jemw
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Edinburgh back packers on two seperate occasions and both were as bad as each other. The first time we stayed when we got checked in the guy checking us in was great helped us out, Because we were in a private room we weren't in the main building we were in a building down the next street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 218georgias

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
266 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#46 of 214 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#21 of 214 in Edinburgh
398 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#23 of 214 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 214 in Edinburgh
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 65 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: RM93 - RM423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“staying in the rooms in the building down the street is much quieter being off the main road & being a smaller building.”
 of 5 bubbles 801elliep, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The private room for 2 was a good deal for us since we didn't want to deal with the security of our belongings.”
  • Private room for 2
  • Where the hostel is located on Cockburn Rd.
 of 5 bubbles 420irisl, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No accessibility for the disabled. Top floor on right side of the building (next to toilets) has excellent view of city”
 of 5 bubbles lbtravels18, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private room options would be best”
 of 5 bubbles roisin171, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We usually try and stay in the main building, which has a lot of stairs but is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles AmandaJane1981, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5