We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
Ocean Drive Britannia Way, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (266)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#80 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, all-day dining, cool and convenient bedrooms and great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. The hotel's location is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively, you can relax and unwind in our stylish bar and lounge with a drink and bite to eat and surf the free Wi-Fi. On-site parking is limited and costs 5 GBP per night. Free overflow parking is available at the opposite Ocean Terminal car park, floor D (red or blue car park).
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1788Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 633
  • 829
  • 263
  • 47
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DaveC49uk wrote a review 19 Sep
Studley, United Kingdom22 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed overnight.In a good location close to amenities with parking available.Very professional reception staff.Helpful.Clean room compact but perfectly viable.Buffet breakfast with hot dishes and continental choices.Would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Janice H wrote a review 14 Sep
12 contributions
Had an overnight stay. The hotel was chosen because of it proximity to the main route out of Edinburgh and not far from Forth road bridge. The hotel itself was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was ok. Car parking was tight and we were concerned at one point when someone parked next to us and then could not get out of their car. We had to go down and move our car before it got knocked. Luckily we spotted this. Please be aware there is a lot of construction working going on around the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Rustyrambler wrote a review 11 Sep
Sussex6 contributions4 helpful votes
The room was cramped with air conditioning that switched itself in at random waking us during the night. Outside our window was a floodlight which could not be blocked out by the curtains. The breakfast was dire including machine coffee. We ordered a taxi to go back to the airport. When it didn’t arrive the night porter advised this was a regular occurrence but still Head Office insisted they use this particular taxi firm. A disappointing and expensive stay which I won’t repeat.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Fiona S, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rustyrambler, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you did not have a good stay with us. Our rooms are standard size for Holiday Inn Express, I am sorry you found it cramped. Also apologies that the air conditioning was faulty and out outdoor lighting disturbed your stay. We work closely with a local taxi company, I am sorry that you were let down by their service, any issues we have with them are escalated directly to the company, I don't know why a member of our night team said this to you and I will make sure to speak with them about it, and remind them of our procedure which they should already be aware of. I am sorry this has put you off staying with us again. Kind Regards Scott | Team Leader
Read more
Dave C wrote a review 8 Sep
9 contributions
We picked this hotel to make a visit to the Royal Yacht Britannia. It is well placed for that. We thought the hotel was very good. It is so professionally run, with courteous, friendly staff. Our room was clean and fresh, bathroom spotless. Complimentary breakfast was very good, especially considering this is a budget hotel. The only drawback is the limited hotel parking, which was made worse by the building work next door.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Travelogo wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom256 contributions123 helpful votes
Booked this hotel as a one night stop between Skye and West London. Had chosen it for the price and for availability of parking. We were very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. It is just over two miles from the old Town and we walked the linear distance in just over half an hour. Parking is on a first come first served basis and there aren't enough places for all patrons. The hotel charges £5.00 per night and also offers free parking in a shopping block opposite the hotel. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel on the opposite side of the road with frequent bus services between the nearby Ocean Terminal and town centre. Clean room, large and quiet with everything you would expect in a hotel of this type. The included breakfast was much better than we expected. Excellent service with a smile all round. Excellent value for money and a great little place to stay for a few days in Edinburgh
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express edinburgh - waterfront hotel edinburgh, holiday inn express leith, leith holiday inn express, holiday inn edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Royal Yacht Britannia (0.4 km), Leith (0.07 km), and Ocean Terminal (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ostara Kitchen & Larder, The Kitchin, and Mr Nicks.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (2.9 km), The Real Mary King's Close (3.3 km), and Craigmillar Castle (6.1 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.