We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 661: English reviews
Start your review of Ballantrae Albany Hotel
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean and comfortable hotel Pros: Close to the centre of Edinburgh. Quiet location. Clean and comfortable. Child friendly. Staff friendly and helpful. Cons: Hot breakfast options, would expect a better breakfast options for price of the hotel. closer attention to details covers missing from taps, bulb out. Location: Walking distance to centre, George Street for shopping. Good base to explore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jillian D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancé for 1 night for a trip to Edinburgh. The pictures of this hotel make it look like a Nice 4 star boutique hotel. That is most certainly not the case Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist. He is the only reason I have given this place 2 stars. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The points you mention have been noted. We do hope that you return to us again in the future, where we are sure that you would have an enjoyable stay.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location in the New Town, couple of good restaurants nearby, walking distance from most of the attractions ( we do like walking). There is a tram just around the corner which goes all the way to airport. Lovely staff from reception through ladies at breakfast, lots to choose from the breakfast buffet - no English cooked breakfast, but healthier...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edyta2013pl
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your reviews. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay - particularly the service you received from the staff, and the quality of the breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you back to the Albany again in the near future - be sure to check out the best possible rates and exclusive offers on our...

France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel in town center. Just near buses and tram, so very convenient. We stayed 5 nights. Very big room, and huge bathroom ( we had room 410). We were lucky to get a car space for our car. Nice staff ( we had a small problem in the room. It was fixed quickly. We got a bottle of wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patcru
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read the other reviews we should have requested a non cellar room! We do not understand why hotels put you in what is obviously one of their less better rooms and when you complain offer a better one which you could have had in the first place. As regular travellers to Edinburgh from Scotland you would think that hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry that you were not given a room on a higher floor on arrival, but we are glad that we could change your room when requested. We hope that you return to stay with us in the near future, when we are sure you will enjoy your stay....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dark dingy room, which was in the basement! poor decoration and furniture throughout, noisy cleaners outside the room first thing in the morning! Woke up with a bad back ftom the uncomfortable bed, luckily only stayed there 1 night .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ferris33
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, but your review is not in line with all the other customer reviews we have recently received. It seems that the Albany is a hotel that suits your requirements.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This previously 'stylish' 4-star hotel seemed quite reduced. Gone is the bar and the restaurant - and having no public room or morning newspapers, the atmosphere is like an anonymous guest-house. Also missing is a concierge at the concierge-desk, working bulbs in the wall-lights, tissues in the bathroom, working switches, a toilet-roll holder - even the opportunity of a cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kenis201
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Ballantrae Albany Hotel for one night whilst on business in Edinburgh. Starting with the positives - great location and the staff were pleasant. Good value for money with a last minute deal via Booking.com On the downside - unfortunately I had a pretty rough night's sleep due to an uncomfortable bed and noise from the car park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that there was noise through the night from the car park, but are glad to hear that you will be back. Next time, book through our website for the best possible rates and mention that you would like a quiet room. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel TEam

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location only a few minutes walk from princes street. There are plenty of pubs, restaurants and cafes right beside it. The rooms are lovely, spacious and clean. The hotel is so quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 Star review. We are glad to hear that everything was perfect for you, and that you will be back to stay again. Next time make sure to book through our website, where you will find the best possible rates and exclusive offers. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Stayed for the Christmas Break. Had a lovely ensuite room. Excellent old Victorian terrance. Service was great. The night manager, Valentina, was so helpful. The heating wasn't working properly in the room and she provided a heater. She was also able to fix my broken lock on my bag. Buffett breakfast was provided for in the downstiars restaurant. Away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neodouble
Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are glad that everything was perfect for you. We hope that you will be back again in the near future - make sure to check out our website for the best possible rates and exclusive deals. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
495 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#99 of 150 in Edinburgh
298 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
717 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
254 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: RM338 - RM1,485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Accrington, United Kingdom
16 days ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if not disabled upstairs rooms are very good -disabled bottom floor is fine.”
 of 5 bubbles garywooding, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“double bed”
 of 5 bubbles AlSedge, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 403 a cosy single in a quiet spot.”
 of 5 bubbles katehSheffield, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My room at front of hotel did not have great sound proofing”
 of 5 bubbles F7581JUpetero, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was in a basement room at the rear which suited me as it was quiet and I only used it for sleeping.”
 of 5 bubbles 375RonK, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5