We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Apex Haymarket Hotel

Show Prices
#72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

998 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 919: English reviews
Start your review of Apex Haymarket Hotel
 Click to rate
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am now a regular user of Apex Hotels (Glasgow & Edinburgh) - Apex make me feel welcome and I book directly with them. The Apex in Haymarket is a stones-throw from Haymarket station - simply come out the station and cross the road - a short walk along to the Apex. Swift easy check in with friendly Receptionists. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 440kerryc
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Apex Hotel in Edinburghs Haymarket. We found this hotel exceptionally well placed for bus and tram services into Edinburgh and not an excessive distance if you wished to walk. The staff were very competent and efficient and our room was reasonable for space, bed quality and was well appointed. The only criticism I can offer was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O6638HBmichaeld
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As a business traveller the Apex Haymarket is perfect for my needs. The rooms are always very clean and the staff is very friendly. Check-in and check-out are quick and painless. The bar and lounge area are adequate as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G763MWjohnf
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I travel to Edinburgh on business on a regular basis ...sometimes this requires an overnight stay. The rooms are well presented and very comfortable. Getting your breakfast served is rare these days....the selection is excellent and staff helpful and pleasant. I don't go anywhere else unless hotel is fully occupied.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sa P
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sa P, Thanks for the great review and thanks for being such a loyal customer to the hotel. The team and I were delighted to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay here on business often and I am always delighted with my stay. Very accommodating and the staff are lovely. I haven't eaten breakfast in the hotel but my colleagues have recommended it. I've always been able too check in early and they very kindly look after my bags until I come back on my check out days. Rooms...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erin281
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Thank you for the wonderful review. I was delighted to read your comments about the hotel and that you stay so regularly. I am lucky to have a great team and this is clearly reflected in your comments. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in hopefully the not too distant future....

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A 15 minute walk into the centre but there is a bus stop outside. 1.60 for single ticket or 4.00 day ticket. Value for money and near to new town and dean village. Room clean with tea making facilities. Excellent continental breakfast. We ate there one evening and the food was again excellent..the best meal we had in the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoop29
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Scoop, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Delighted you had such a great stay and enjoyed breakfast so much. All busy hotels have wear and tear and our painting contractor is just nearing the end of a full repainting programme and we only have 20 rooms left to do. This is something we do on...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Apex is very handily located just a couple of minutes' walk from Haymarket Station and tram stop. It isn't immediately obvious where the entrance to the hotel is if approaching from the station. Staff were really pleasant and check-in was seamless, even though I arrived just before the official check-in time. The room (City Twin) was well appointed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleAygo
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Little Aygo, Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you were disturbed during your stay by a fire evacuation. The staff knew as soon as they had gone to the location of the fire activation that it was a false alarm so did not need to do a head count. Our...

manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apex Haymarket ? Apex City ? Apex International for me it's the City... But stayed at Haymarket, good location for Train Station, short walk and short walk back to pubs and restaurants. Basic Hotel , reception very small , can get slow when busy , staff very friendly... Turned up room lights didn't work, would have thought the cleaners check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kempez
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kempez, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you had a nice stay. Sorry about the issue with the lights. These should be checked by the room attendants so I can only apologies that it was missed on this occasion. Once again thanks for the review am delighted you have managed to add another Apex...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights. Didn't use any facilities such as restaurant or bar but staff were friendly and had our room ready for early check in. The room was small but clean and comfortable with a good shower. Would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 846nicholas
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, Thanks for the great review and choosing to stay at the hotel. Hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and the hotel is good with nice rooms. I did feel the room (carpet and windows) could have been cleaner, but I have very exacting standards! The bathroom window and sill were dirty/mouldy and needed a good spring clean as obviously hadn't been cleaned for some time. Bed was comfy and I had a good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 419justiner
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you had a great stay. I was sorry to read your comments about your room. We have an excellent housekeeping team at the hotel and I am sorry if a couple of areas have been overlooked. If...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,275 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
503 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: RM468 - RM1,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Small city room adequate for a couple”
scoop29, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room is a good room!”
PaulR918, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't forget to take home your Rubber Duck”
BrettDukes, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can't say as we had a net curtain and sideboard in front of the window so could not really see out”
Biddie11, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a fourth-floor room if you can. Less street noise and no-one above to annoy you.”
  • Use the FREEZING Edinburgh water of January to make your own fridge!
Magpie1892, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5