We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Show Prices
#34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,270: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner booked a night for me and my friend, an Executive room including dinner and breakfast. On arrival there were a few guests in front of me so I waited. A couple came in a while after me and the doorman ushered them round to be served in front of me...... then I was shown to a lovely room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I am delighted you found the team to be attentive and friendly and it is great that you enjoyed dinner in the brasserie. Please accept my apology that you had to move rooms and that there was an issue on check in. I am pleased that you will return in...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went here for Afternoon Tea, the drive was superb, it was beautiful and the setting was absolutely ideal! As we walked in the reception staff were very unwelcoming and told us just to take a seat, after around a 5 minutes a waitress came over, she was very friendly, showed us to our table and we ordered our tea's. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlbieFoxy18
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Norton House Hotel. Naturally I'm disappointed to read that your experience did not meet expectations and I apologise for that. I am keen to highlight that all feedback is very important to us and I have discussed and reviewed your comments with the Head Chef...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful visit to the spa. Very friendly welcome, staff all really helpful. Lovely facilities on offer and a delicious afternoon tea to top it off. Would highly recommend. Will hopefully return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotties2012
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent Spa day at Norton House Hotel & Spa. I am delighted you had such a lovely day and that you enjoyed your Spa experience. It is great that you found our afternoon tea delicious and I am pleased you plan to return in the future. I appreciate...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here after a conference in Glasgow (yes I know its the other side if Scotland but we wanted to visit the castle in Edinburgh while we were up here!) So found this place on laterooms and as it had a spa and pool and we wanted some relaxation to digest the many ideas from conference we booked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am very grateful to you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you utilised all the facilities in the hotel. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norton House the next time you are up in...

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband and my friend on Saturday night 26th November 2016. We booked through My Hotel Break.com and reserved 2 Executive Double rooms (these were an upgrade from the standard category). Our DB&B package also included a glass of wine with dinner, and 20% off spa treatments. Each room was £189 (£179 for single...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice-and-Ali
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and it is great that you utilised the facilities in our health club & spa. I am pleased to read you enjoyed dinner in the brasserie and I will thank Mark personally for being highlighted in your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very early flight to catch from the airport and decided that we would stay one night here. This is a very well presented hotel with many, many facilities catering for all type of groups, travelers etc. The staff were great and very attentive and the room was very large and had all of the mod cons you'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattyJM
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Norton House Hotel and Spa. I am delighted to read everything was perfect during your stay and that you found the team to be attentive. Thank you for recommending us to future guests and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Chris Monks

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After getting married here a number of years ago, we try to return most years for an overnight stay, most recently visiting in November 2016. Our stay was wonderfully relaxing. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed and the spa is lovely too. Great breakfast with lots of choice Staff were attentive as always. A small error in a room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCG
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to read you had a wonderful and relaxing time and it is great that you enjoyed the spa and breakfast. I will personally thank Sandra for being highlighted for special praise; she will take great encouragement from...

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & i were looking for an airport hotel we could stop over at before our vaccation to Feurtaventura .So we looked up The Norton House on the internet . The accommadation was warm & comfartable with all the mod cons you would expect to see in a class hotel . We ate in the Brasseri restaurant & had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevorgmca
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a positive review and I do hope you had a great holiday in Fuerteventura. I am delighted you found your room to be warm and comfortable and it is great to read that you enjoyed the food in the Brasserie. I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards,...

Strathaven
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a room via booking.com and secured a good rate of £120 for one night midweek. As a 4 star hotel it looks well presented and has a great spa which is just adjacent to the main hotel. I was given a room in the older part of the hotel, however it was nice and looked recently redecorated, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmK8501NS
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am very grateful to you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to read you found the team to be efficient and that you liked our spa and brasserie. I do hope we can welcome you Back to Norton House, next time you are in Edinburgh on business. Kind regards, Chris Monks

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here a couple of times. Friendly, professional staff, clean spa and good food. Variety of old and new style bedrooms, look out for the wall fitted TVs in the bathrooms. Looking forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Midlander
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a short review following your stay in October. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. It is great that you plan to return in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House. Kind regards, Chris Monks

688 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,404 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
652 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,693 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,202 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM588 - RM1,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like traditional style go for the classic rooms, if you want modern go for the new wing at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles 508jiml, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 606 and 605 are good.”
 of 5 bubbles Janice-and-Ali, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request old or new style”
 of 5 bubbles Travelling_Midlander, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive room is very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Govanhil, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Older part may not have an elevator should stairs be a problem. Ask for view over front garden.”
 of 5 bubbles hindle2012, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay