We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Show Prices
#34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,270: English reviews
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We were attending a wedding at the hotel. Arrived early, the staff made every effort to give us access to our room asap for changing etc. which was most appreciated. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and all of the staff were helpful and pleasant. Would definately go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirkrobj
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a brief review of Norton House after your recent visit to us for a wedding. I am glad that our team were pleasant and helpful and that we got you into your room asap. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back to Norton House again soon. Kind regards R MacKay

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Mostly reasonable quality for the money, but not great. Biggest annoyance was the WAY overzealous waiting staff in the Brasserie. What happened to the idea that you have just one person looking after you and unobtrusive service ? We were plagued by 3 or 4 staff and must have been interrupted at least a dozen times in 20 minutes while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stravaiging
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay with us at Norton House. I do agree with you that we could do better and we are always looking for ways to improve so I am grateful for your comments. I have shared your comments regarding our waiting staff with my Food and Beverage management team for review....

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Wonderful relaxing break, the spa is very popular with guests and locals so book your treatments well in advance, we made the error of waiting until nearer the arrival date but managed to get at least 3 treatments each, also full use of other facilities. Hotel was nice too as was the food, some lovely staff, we may return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinaG064
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed or Spa. You are correct in what you say about our Spa being very popular with guests and locals and I would definitely recommend booking treatments well in advance. I do hope that we will...

Alloa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I visited the hotel In May for lunch after purchasing a Groupon Voucher. There was a slight problem at the start where we had booked through the Groupon Service for 2.30pm and were told on arrival the Chef finished at 2pm and could not do the lunch menu, however, this was quickly sorted. The food was very good, I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louise5184
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am very grateful for you taking the time to post a review following your visit for lunch in May. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal and that you found it good value for money. I do hope we can welcome you back to Norton House very soon. Kind regards Chris Monks

Broughty Ferry, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for RHS 2015. Nice location away from hustle and bustle. Staff were great, very helpful and friendly. However our room was somewhat underwhelming. The hairdryer didn't work, the milk in our fridge was off and there was stains all over the cushions and the pillows. We had tea in the brasserie restaurant which was amazing, one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that on the whole you had an enjoyable time and I am pleased to read that you found the meal in the brasserie to be amazing. It is disappointing to read that you had maintenance and housekeeping issues in your room and I apologise for this. Please...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Hotel was nice but not amazing. The spa facilities were great. The evening meal was lovely. Room was typical new hotel room. Breakfast was poor, burnt, cold and tasteless and when I let reception know they apologised but did nothing about it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your evening meal and that you found the facilities in the Spa great. Please let me apologise that you had a poor experience at breakfast and that more effort was not made at check out to address your feedback....

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for One night, as a treat to ourselves, we were very impressed by the level of comfort, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we used the pool and sauna during our stay and found it all very relaxing and pleasant to use

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattie209
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay. I am delighted you found our hotel to be comfortable and relaxing. It is great you found all the staff friendly and helpful and I am pleased that you utilised the facilities in the health club. I do hope we can welcome you back to Norton House...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

This Hotel is a perfect comfort away from comfort. Beautiful rooms, fabulous food, great leisure facilities and extremely pleasant staff. Set in tranquil acres of land, a fabulous place to go and contemplate and just enjoy the serenity of the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mshankland2016
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am very grateful for you taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and that you were able to use all the facilities in the health club. It is great that you were able to upgrade on arrival, however this...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Visited for a Spa day on Sunday. Have been a number of times before & had high expectations given the previous visits. The spa hostess took a bit time getting to us even though there didn't seem to be anyone else waiting. Waited again for robes, towels & slippers & had to eventually ask. Took 25 mins from arrival to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lexisa
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent trip to our Spa. I am delighted to read that you are regular guest and that you find the Spa facilities and the treatments wonderful. I will make sure Molly is aware of your kind comments and thank her personally for being mentioned in your review. I...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Really enjoyed our stay at Norton Hotel and Spa. Lovely clean hotel with lots of character. Enjoyed our spa treatments. The staff were super friendly and helpful, gave us lots of tips about what to see in Edinburgh. Located out of the city, which was perfect for us. Not too far from the Tram stop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your spa treatments and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your lovely feedback. Kind regards Chris Monks

688 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,405 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
652 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,693 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,202 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM588 - RM1,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like traditional style go for the classic rooms, if you want modern go for the new wing at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles 508jiml, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 606 and 605 are good.”
 of 5 bubbles Janice-and-Ali, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request old or new style”
 of 5 bubbles Travelling_Midlander, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive room is very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Govanhil, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Older part may not have an elevator should stairs be a problem. Ask for view over front garden.”
 of 5 bubbles hindle2012, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay