We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,097 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,780: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here previously and because of the amazing location we had to again. Had a huge room (has 2 beds!) which was clean and modest. Staff are very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast is great with the hugest asset being the view over to the castle! Highly recommend. Isn't the most modern in decor (sure a refurb wouldn't go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review and we thank you for it. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Dollar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel, staff were great and check in was quick. Location is on Princess Street. We got a room over looking the castle. Room is ok, tidy and clean. The room had the usual tea/coffee, iron. Could of done with a biscuit for the tea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme Cochrane
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We certainly hope to look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Dollar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overnight stay at the hotel, check in was quick and staff were very accommodating. Our room looks into princess street on fourth floor. Room is tidy and spacious but dated, offers usual tea/coffee, iron etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme Cochrane
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel and taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, James Fraser General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is one of my firm favorites. Good location (very convenient for my office), good service and good value for money. As a platinum Accor card holder I was somewhat disappointed in the hotel's reaction (or rather inaction) for the issues which occurred last week, even though I accept that they...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean G
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean, Many thanks for your review and my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. The fire alarm activation was due to a strong gas smell on the 6th floor and the team had to evacuate the building. There were some faults with the alarm throughout the night and the team were trying their best to rectify this...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've got a decently priced offer for 2 days stay. We had a pleasant time in this wonderful and beautiful city. Location was just perfect, room nice and clean with a splendid view on the castle and Walter Scott monument. Would really recommend the place!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markus2508
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for this wonderful five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is minutes away from Waverley train station. Room was spacious clean and the view was fantastic. We used a voucher which included bed breakfast evening meal and a bottle of wine to either have with dinner or have in room. I would definitely book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janetta M
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review and we thank you for it. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

No complaints from me. Yes, this hotel might have seen better days, but it's still good value for money and I would have no hesitation syaying there again. Efficient staff, clean accomodation and a comfortable bed to sleep in at a decent price gets 4 stars from me.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Willem_da_Silva
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We certainly hope to look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second trip to the Mercure hotel in Edinburgh. Upon arrival, our room was not ready and we waited approximately 2 hours before allocation. In fairness to the hotel, it was very busy and this being recognized we were offered complimentary drinks by the management. We were eventually allocated room 345 which turned out to be a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plasterer11
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for this wonderful five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Room okay. Bathroom had manky grout which could be easily sorted. Wasn't impressed with food so ate out every night after first experience. Breakfast okay. I was there 5 nights and wouldn't go back. I'd be gutted if I'd been staying as a weekend treat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miranda1511
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

When I pulled the duvet back to get into bed, there were 3 different patches of blood that clearly hadn't even attempted to be washed. Called reception who literally said "well I'm the night operator (at 10pm) I can't do anything, I can give you a new bed sheet" I asked if he'd just give me it or if someone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chelsea J
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with laundry company. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. Kind regards, James...

652 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (633)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (255)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#99 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,905 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#50 of 150 in Edinburgh
466 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
935 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: RM344 - RM1,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the new decor etc in the bedroom. ”
 of 5 bubbles X4878FOsarahh, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just upgrade to front”
 of 5 bubbles edpaul123, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For views, look over Princes St, but may want upper floors to keep away from some the street noise if you need to open the windows.”
  • Edinburgh Castle in the evening
  • The Scott Monument and tram on Princes Street
 of 5 bubbles subwaymark, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try for a room with Castle View.”
 of 5 bubbles firparklad, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the castle”
 of 5 bubbles 875alishag, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5