We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

773 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 3am after a weary journey from England!!! Two double beds for us all very comfy beds. Breakfast was excellent I had an omelette with peppers, onions it tasted great! We spent so long unwinding over breakfast that by the time we wanted some pancakes the machine had run out. There was a small play area outside that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Joanne C, Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found your beds very comfortable and that the kids enjoyed the play area. I am pleased to read that you wish you could have stayed longer and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2014

If going for short city break by car this is worth considering. It sits just on the edge of the city centre, no more than a 10 minute bus journey to Princess Street. Big plus is free parking as you do not want to take your car into town if you can avoid it. A retail park is opposite. Another...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allan T
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Allan T, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the price of the breakfast and I appreciate your comments on the location. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Best...

Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

Food was brilliant. Nice and hot and good choice Service excellent Music great and suited everyone Spirits wee bit expensive, although prosseco great price ..Overall A GREAT NIGHT. .we all agreed to book next year

 Report
Helpful?
Thank animb
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear animb, Many thanks for this fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Christmas Party Nights with us and that you found the food brilliant. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards

Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

I spent a month looking for a hotel in the Edinburgh area during school holidays. When I came across an offer on superbreak I took a gamble. I was pleasantly suprised, as the hotel was on the outskirts as I was unsure about Transport links, for those looking for a trip and don't want to pay city centre parking, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoop_78044
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear scoop_78044, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments on the location of the hotel and I am pleased to read that you found our customer service first class. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with the buffet but I am happy that you...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Recently spent three nights here & had a room on the sixth floor, which afforded great views of the surrounding area, but unfortunately the window seal was damaged, resulting in a significant draft in the room. The restaurant staff were helpful & efficient, but the person on bar duties didn't know how to make a dry Martini, surprising in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLW28
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear MLW28, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you liked the view over the city however I am disappointed to learn that you had a significant draft in your room. Thank you once again for your comments this will be used in a constructive...

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Two years ago this hotel won my personal Holiday Inn of the year award 2012, mainly due to the reception and the general quality of service, so we had high expectations when we arrived for a weekend in Edinburgh for some shopping and to meet some relatives. First impressions were not good, and after some time we were allocated a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magickpyggie
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Magickpyggie, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I was pleased to know that our hotel won your personal Holiday Inn of the year award back in 2012 and I remember our conversation in the reception area. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service on this...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Stayed here for a weekend, on a trip to the Rugby @ Murrayfield. Hotel good, good service in bar / restaurant with decent food at decent prices. Great location - as Murrayfield only a 20min walk away (over a big hill!!!) Short taxi ride into town (less than £10 for the 4 of us) - so prices match that of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn_MacD
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Dawn_MacD, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you liked the hotel and the service in the bar/restaurant however I am disappointed to learn that you found the breakfast pricey. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back...

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2014

Stayed here last weekend, 21st and 22nd November. Was visiting Edinburgh for Christmas shopping and the markets. Hotel very clean with excellent facilities, friendly and helpful staff, (thanks Carmen and all other staff on duty). Our break included breakfast which was excellent and we had an evening meal the first night and bar food on the second night, both good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill I
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Gill I, thank you for this fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel very clean and I will pass your comments on to Carmen and the other team members. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Kind Regards

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2014

We stayed here November 22nd. Hotel was great, staff were friendly and was a very short bus ride into the city centre (number 41/43 straigh accross the road), would stay again when next visiting Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby80
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Ruby80, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel great and the staff friendly and I appreciate your comments on the location. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards

Reviewed 19 November 2014

This hotel should be proud of its staff, Shadhank and Lee were both so kind, we arrived late at night after being unable to stay at another hotel in the city as it was so disgusting! Shadhank was on duty and made us so welcome, he couldn't do enough for us. In the morning we met Lee who continued with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ssnewrs
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Ssnewrs, Thank you for this fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am proud to read that you found our staff amazing and I will pass your comments on to Lee and Shubhank. I am pleased to read that you would recommend the hotel to anyone and I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh...

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (85)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accessiblity (12)
Viewed
Double Standard Room with a Sofa Bed (14)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#106 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,047 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,771 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM349 - RM1,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on upper floors facing city”
 of 5 bubbles 481grahamn, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high up room facing the city”
 of 5 bubbles Pammyjz, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the castle.”
 of 5 bubbles R5350CVroberth, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The higher up your room is, the better the Edinburgh view”
 of 5 bubbles Tsturgess, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For best views ask for a room on 6th floor”
 of 5 bubbles allisonc781, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5