We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Mile Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Mile Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Mile Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

This is a great little hostel right in the centre of the Royal Mile. Its price and location make it a great place, but the kitchen facilities, warm atmosphere, and spacious bathroom are also noteworthy. Quite a small hostel so meeting others is easy, and my four bed dorm was clean and occupied by considerate guests. My one complaint is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, happy you enjoyed your time with us - thanks for the review! Maybe see you again some time?!

Reviewed 16 November 2015

It was in a great location right in the center of everything. The staff were also really friendly and helped with suggestions of what was good to do in the area. The rooms were clean and warm over night during the winter period.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathew J
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us - come back some time!

Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Great location in the middle of the Royal mile, friendly helpful staff, nice hot showers, clean facilities, cheap prices, you even get two pillows and rental towels only 20p! Very much enjoyed my stay here, all a hostel should be. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenm36
Germany
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We were there for 3 nights in an 8 bed dorm and it was alright. Our room ('Gotham') was spacious, we had some armchairs in it and there was enough room for your luggage. It overlooked the Royal Mile which was quite nice. Each bed had it's one locker. The mattresses were a bit old and worn so you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annika S
Reviewed 2 October 2015

For a budget hostel this is a great little place and its in the center of the Royal Mile which is perfect! I was in female dorm and it was awesome. A good size room so you didn't feel like you were stepping on anyone, and a big plus was that the room had individual lockers for all your personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

I had booked and recieved confirmation to stay at this hostel, however the owner told me on arrival that I wasn't staying there at all.I had arrived early (2pm instead of 3pm) and so initially he wouldn't let me in. Eventually after getting there he had a big rant about needing sleep.?? After his raving I offered to leave my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geraniumthief
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm really sorry you had such a bad experience in Edinburgh. But you didn't come to stay at the Royal Mile Backpackers! First of all our wee hostel is right on the Royal Mile (our postal code is EH1 1SG). We're halfway between the Castle and Holyrood Palace, so smack in the middle of it. It couldn't be...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days and I had such an incredible time. First of all, the location can't be beat. You're on royal mile which is not only exciting itself but a great hub for everything else you want to do. I never had to use transport. Facilities are clean. I was never concerned about hygiene. Of course they're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisPL89
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 18 September 2015

I chose this place as it offers good bargain prize for a hostel in Edinburgh and has good reviews but I was disappointed the moment I enter the hostel. Staffs were generally friendly although there is one bloke who was really rude when I am just trying to get my luggage from the storage room. Location is good considering it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XCendre
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Can't complain: Good location; staff are pleasant; good value. Room was rather tight trying to access bags whilst others were in there but you have to be prepared for this staying in a hostel anywhere. Bathrooms were fine and I can't remember having any complaints about the breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I was happy to find this backpackers at a great price when booking accommodation at spur of the moment notice before I went to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. I got a night at this establishment for under £20, which is tremendous value for money considering the time of year I went to, where prices of accommodation are often at inflated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheLuke88

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#19 of 210 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 210 in Edinburgh
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 210 in Edinburgh
1,327 reviews
New Town
Code Hostel
Code Hostel
#2 of 210 in Edinburgh
718 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 210 in Edinburgh
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Royal Mile Backpackers

Address: 105 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: RM60 - RM185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Mile Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Mile Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No nos dejaron elegir habitacion”
 of 5 bubbles ElViajeroEuskaldun, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“excellent location, tidy, clean, power points, lockers, safe”
 of 5 bubbles abbya382, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take ear plugs as the Royal Mile can be a wee bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Hermes_Kyllenios, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fringe room is clean and good for 8 people”
 of 5 bubbles 623yahyad, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the 'Star Wars' room, it is big, bright and open and has a view that looks out onto the Royal Mile street.”
 of 5 bubbles 761genew, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay