We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Mile Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Mile Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Mile Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2015

For a budget hostel this is a great little place and its in the center of the Royal Mile which is perfect! I was in female dorm and it was awesome. A good size room so you didn't feel like you were stepping on anyone, and a big plus was that the room had individual lockers for all your personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

I had booked and recieved confirmation to stay at this hostel, however the owner told me on arrival that I wasn't staying there at all.I had arrived early (2pm instead of 3pm) and so initially he wouldn't let me in. Eventually after getting there he had a big rant about needing sleep.?? After his raving I offered to leave my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geraniumthief
MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm really sorry you had such a bad experience in Edinburgh. But you didn't come to stay at the Royal Mile Backpackers! First of all our wee hostel is right on the Royal Mile (our postal code is EH1 1SG). We're halfway between the Castle and Holyrood Palace, so smack in the middle of it. It couldn't be...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days and I had such an incredible time. First of all, the location can't be beat. You're on royal mile which is not only exciting itself but a great hub for everything else you want to do. I never had to use transport. Facilities are clean. I was never concerned about hygiene. Of course they're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisPL89
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 18 September 2015

I chose this place as it offers good bargain prize for a hostel in Edinburgh and has good reviews but I was disappointed the moment I enter the hostel. Staffs were generally friendly although there is one bloke who was really rude when I am just trying to get my luggage from the storage room. Location is good considering it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XCendre
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Can't complain: Good location; staff are pleasant; good value. Room was rather tight trying to access bags whilst others were in there but you have to be prepared for this staying in a hostel anywhere. Bathrooms were fine and I can't remember having any complaints about the breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I was happy to find this backpackers at a great price when booking accommodation at spur of the moment notice before I went to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. I got a night at this establishment for under £20, which is tremendous value for money considering the time of year I went to, where prices of accommodation are often at inflated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheLuke88
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The hostel location is very good, it is on the main street in the old town, Edinburgh Castle is almost 10 minutes for a walk from hostel, from hostel to central bus station, the walking distance is about 10 minutes. The french girl who is staff was very kind, welcoming and helpful. The hostel was old but it is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YAHYA D
Monmouth, Oregon
Reviewed 26 August 2015

After staying in a huge but extremely cramped London hostel, Royal Mile Backpackers was a welcome change. It's small in the sense that there aren't a million rooms and tons of people, but the rooms are still spacious and don't feel cramped at all. My room overlooked the Royal Mile, this hostel really has the best location you can ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kdanielson
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

A group of us went to Edinburgh for the festival. We instantly felt very welcome, and smack in the middle of Edinburgh! After a lovely time I left my passport at the hostel. The staff were amazing and posted the passport at the earliest opportunity allowing me to catch a flight. I can't thank them enough.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank huwjohnevans
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

Very good location - it's on the street called The Royal Mile, which is the main street in the old town of Edinburgh. The staff was kind, welcoming and happy to help. The safety was also great. We got our own key to a locker in the room we stayed at, and the staff did not let in other people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristin A

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#17 of 205 in Edinburgh
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#14 of 205 in Edinburgh
370 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
New Town
Code Hostel
Code Hostel
#2 of 205 in Edinburgh
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Royal Mile Backpackers

Address: 105 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: RM57 - RM187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Mile Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Mile Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“excellent location, tidy, clean, power points, lockers, safe”
 of 5 bubbles abbya382, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take ear plugs as the Royal Mile can be a wee bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Hermes_Kyllenios, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fringe room is clean and good for 8 people”
 of 5 bubbles 623yahyad, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the 'Star Wars' room, it is big, bright and open and has a view that looks out onto the Royal Mile street.”
 of 5 bubbles 761genew, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Little Miss room is a female only room with tonnes of character. Great view of the Royal Mile from the window. Also, wifi only works in common areas.”
 of 5 bubbles DrainYou, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay