We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Mile Backpackers

179 reviews
Save
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
Other hotels you may like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good43%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sister hostel”(8 reviews)
“gotham city”(5 reviews)
“royal mile”(51 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Rooftop Bar
Kitchenette
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Other hotels you may like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (179)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Royal Mile Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
51
50
15
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
51
50
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hostelgotham cityroyal milefemale bathroomcommon roomgreat locationpower pointfree tea and coffeeclean bedlaundry serviceedinburgh castletrain stationyour luggagebunk bedsenjoyed my stayearly hourswalking distance
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I adored my stay at Royal Mile backpackers. All the staff were super lovely, which gives the hostel a very homey and fun vibe to it. The staff were all very knowledgable and helpful with things to do, directions, ect. The hostel itself was very...More

Thank emilybd6
Response from MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 12 October 2016

Hi there, thanks for the lovely words and the great review - great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see yo here again some time!

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I booked here during the opening weekend of the fringe, and they really helped me get two beds in the same room for my entire stay. The location is fantastic! Close to everything, the only downside to this is that the front windows look out...More

Thank katierang
Reviewed 11 September 2016

It was an absolute pleasure staying here. The staff were lovely, the location could not have been closer to the centre and the royal mile always has it charm nook and crannies. I also love the quirkiness of the rooms, really wanted to stay in...More

Thank Stewart L
Response from MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 12 September 2016

Hi there, thanks so much for the lovely review - we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Really hope to have you here again some time!

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Small, no place to hang out with my friends. Our room is so tiny, the shower ekkk not so clean. When the time I used it, two toilets in Female are so dirty and showers too. With number of people used it with only two...More

5  Thank TeresaLiverpool01
Response from MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 1 September 2016

Hi there, shame you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. Our bathrooms get cleaned thoroughly twice a day and checked on regularly. The Fringe Festival is a very busy time here in Edinburgh and we were fully booked for the whole month with lots...More

Reviewed 3 August 2016

This is the smallest hostel that I ever stayed in, but that did not detract from my experience at all. Firstly, the hostel has a spectacular location on the Royal Mile, close to everything that I wanted to see. It is in walking distance from...More

Thank AnneS1990
Response from MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 12 September 2016

Hi there, thanks for the lovely review. Great to hear you had such a great time at our wee hostel. Come back some time!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15678926
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Details
Price range
US$14 - US$58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$14 - US$58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"If you enjoy sleeping in a quiet room, ask for one which is not on the street. The windows are old and High..."
Read review
"There is no lift so be prepared to take the stairs. If that is a concern consider requesting a lower floor."
Read review
"No nos dejaron elegir habitacion"
Read review
"excellent location, tidy, clean, power points, lockers, safe"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing