We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Regent House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Regent House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had been on this hotel on 8th of November (about 11:45am) after agreement on telephone call. When we arrived there, my friend forgot to tell that we already had agreement on certain price. A man on reception (with separated spectacle) told that the availability of room is only on very expensive price. He was looking unfriendly and rude after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesSangraula
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, We apologise for this misunderstanding. This sort of miscommunication unfortunately can occur in a phone conversation. Generally we are only accepting new reservations in writing for this very reason. We are unable to sell our rooms for a lower rate than it is advertised on our website. Best Regards

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Needed a spruce up was very tatty, the room was very small and couldn't move in the bathroom, was clean and breakfast was okay but not much choice. Staff friendly and helped with every question asked before our arrival, good location as pubs and shops round the corner

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aliciacharr12
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alicia, May I ask which room you stayed in? We are always trying to improve the hotel, so your feedback is much appreciated. The buling is continuously going through improvements to make the rooms more comfortable for our guests. Obviously this is a process, that's why your opinion is so valuable. Please pm me if you want to info@regenthousehotel.co.uk....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We booked a family room so we had 4 beds in it! it is a bit cramped up but it was good enough for us. the breakfast was great in the morning which was included in the room rate and the staff were friendly and helpful. the location is great as it is walking distance of about 10 min from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DenverM73
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I loved the room we were in and everyone was absolutely lovely. Great local spot with an exceptional coffee shop close by and not far from old town and a lot of incredible pubs. Loved it all, especially the back window and the view out of that. What a great spot!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William J
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We were allocated Room 5 in the basement. We were informed that we had booked a room with a shared bathroom (something we would never have done). Paid extra on arrival for this room with en suite facility. The room was exremely noisy from 0700 each morning as it was directly below breakfast room/reception. Shower thermostat did not work -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lins_Alex
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. I looked up your reservation and it was indeed booked as a double room with a shared bathroom originally, and on your arrival was upgraded with your agreement for an additional £10 per night for an en-suite, recently refurbished room. I do apologise if you had issues with the noise during...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, I stayed one night with my parents and they really liked it, I wish I would have stayed more days. It is a small hotel but it had everything I needed. The owner is really nice, he warmly welcomed us and gave me some tips for restaurants which was quite convenient for the first day....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lety A
Chesterfield
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This hotel is ideally located about a 10 minute walk from Waverley Station. The staff are friendly & helpful. The stairs are a bit steep & winding but a staff member offered to carry my case up & down when I left. The room is a good size as is the bathroom, all very clean. There are tea & coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hteblav
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Excellent location. Big, clean rooms. Good service. Helpful staff. Good wi-fi connectivity. No lift, so even for the 3rd floor, you have to carry your luggage on the stairs without any helper. Breakfast should be made available from the 06:30 am (at the least). It was not ready even at 07:45 am, which is not acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RSDhar
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh. Our breakfast time is available on our website and on all travel agencies website's for our customers. This breakfast is complimentary (free of charge) for the hotel guests, and we can't adjust the operation time unfortunately for the individual needs of each person because our staff...

Alloa
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Hi booked this hotel through Booking.com for two nights in August 14th to be precise. Triple room bed and breakfast. Now need to cancel due to circumstances changing. I was well within the normal cancellation period that normally is stated however this hotel charges full price if cancelled within 21 days in August. I also found out I have previously...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lesley466
uk
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I stayed here when my friends and I celebrated my 50th, We had a great time food was great, room was clean and we all enjoyed our stay here.We just wished it had a lift as lot of stairs but nice hotel very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kan786

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
983 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
673 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#106 of 150 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: RM280 - RM872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Regent House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Regent House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor have nice windows so it is bright”
 of 5 bubbles DenverM73, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“keep the stairs in mind. If you don't mind the climb you will be rewarded.”
 of 5 bubbles chadc335, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we had room 18, great room (sleeps five)”
 of 5 bubbles jean0202, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would think they would all be good rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Marefrequentguest, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“No lift! With 3 children, our first floor room was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles ronaa898, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay