We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Regent House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Regent House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Regent House Hotel
 Click to rate
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a large family room which offered everything we could need for the night. The room was clean and comfortable, though a little sofa rather than the piano would have been more appropriate! Unfortunately too warm during the night so a restless sleep, and the noise from the road (folk coming home from night out) was a concern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perin73
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, our staff was really pleased to read it. Actually, you are not the first person suggesting we should get rid of the piano, so we will definitely consider to replace it for a sofa. We are used to it for sentimental reasons, but I agree, it is not that practical to have it in...

Upper Austria, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's an historic building and our 2 rooms (1st and 2nd) were renovated. Everything is available and the staff is really trying to help if you need something extra. The location is great as every sight is in walking distance. Connection from and to the airport is excellent with tram or bus. The price for the room is really a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Woodstock71
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decent option if you want your stay at the center of Edinburgh. The hotel building is old fashioned but calm. We stayed here for 3 nights. We had flexible BritRail tickets and reached 3 hours earlier than we originally anticipated and 2 hours before check-in time. But they allowed me to check-in early upon request. Since it's old style building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is useful indeed to remark that the building is quite historic, more than 200 years old, hence no lift unfortunately. The rooms itself are going through renovation since the new ownership took over, and I believe you stayed in one of the few rooms...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed here in a 4 person roo.. 3 adults and 1 toddler. Although not an awful lot of room, for what time you spend in the it wasnt an issue for us. I've never stayed in a guest house/ B&B that was so clean! The mattress were like new and the same for all the linen nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to compliment our staff's hard work. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in a family room, £58 for 3 people I wasn't expecting much. However we were really happy with the room we stayed in, it was bright, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The location of this hotel is great for The Playhouse and the continental breakfast is a nice extra. We will defiantly book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fpauli
belfast
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This is an "old fashioned" type guest house, not a hotel. The staff are friendly. The room was spotlessly clean with comfortable bed and (very important ) excellent pillows. We had an en-suite, which I would seriously recommend, having seen the shared toilet / separate shower room. Nothing wrong - they were clean but nocturnal wanderings are not my thing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartinJi
London
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I have given this place 5 stars because I found it to be more than we expected. The people working there absolutely lovely, most helpful, especially Silvya, we were allowed in early, were given a pretty big room with a fire place ( as I have asked), very charming and cosy. Modern bathroom, very clean. The breakfast is included in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alla b
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are overjoyed to know that you had a pleasant time with us in Edinburgh. Should you consider to visit again please get in touch directly and we will be happy to offer you a wee discount on your next stay.

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Had a great stay here, The room was lovely. Every thins was so very clean. They had a nice little breakfast on in the morning. It was close to the playhouse theatre and town centre. Great value. Would recommend and stay again if I was in Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hels1crazy
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Regent House Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to make a review, it is much appreciated.

Reviewed 14 December 2016

A wonderful small hotel, just off the main track but comfortable and quiet for a city centre stay. The breakfasts were lovely, I do not normally go for a continental style one when away but this one left me more than full each day. The coffee especially was a proper kickstart to the day. The room was very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, our housekeepers were trilled to hear your review. Are staff always tries their best to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation for our guests. It is a great feeling to be appreciated. Should you require accommodation in Edinburgh in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly for a wee discount.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We had been on this hotel on 8th of November (about 11:45am) after agreement on telephone call. When we arrived there, my friend forgot to tell that we already had agreement on certain price. A man on reception (with separated spectacle) told that the availability of room is only on very expensive price. He was looking unfriendly and rude after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesSangraula
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, We apologise for this misunderstanding. This sort of miscommunication unfortunately can occur in a phone conversation. Generally we are only accepting new reservations in writing for this very reason. We are unable to sell our rooms for a lower rate than it is advertised on our website. Best Regards

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,104 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#129 of 150 in Edinburgh
501 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
198 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: RM370 - RM1,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Regent House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Regent House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front view is nicer.”
Woodstock71, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Low levels for those needing help in stair climbing as there is no lift here.”
  • The rooms decor, as aged as the hotel itself and yet still charming.
craigk540, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor have nice windows so it is bright”
DenverM73, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“keep the stairs in mind. If you don't mind the climb you will be rewarded.”
chadc335, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we had room 18, great room (sleeps five)”
jean0202, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5