We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Regent House Hotel

Booking.comUS$85*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
US$85*
US$85*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Regent House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Regent House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2015

So the epic review begins ...(some points I agree maybe petty but whole experience not at all good!!) Paid for room when I arrived which I wish I hadn't as wouldn't have paid full price for the experience. I went to the third floor via the narrow very badly needing decorated stairway and through the very squeaky bedroom door Into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine0707
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, As we already discussed your issue on the phone, I did not wish to argue for my case in detail. I'm disappointed you rated the hotel with 1 star. You stayed in our fully renowated room and like you mentioned you had a review form in your room, where we ask every customer to contact with the receptioniast...

Adelaide
Reviewed 9 June 2015

The room was surprisingly big but the bathroom was very tiny. The bathroom and room were clean and tidy. We were placed on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator so we had to dragged our heavy suitcases up 3 floors. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to most places. It was worth what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenaAdelaide
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you find the stairs a bit difficult to climb, as we have 3 floors. We do not have a lift, unfortunately it is impossible to fit one in our historical building. In fact most of the bulindg in the UK, especially in the old town are more than 200 years old,...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Stayed from the 22 - 24/5/15 on our annual Kuk Sool Won Scottish Championship visit. The apartment is situated in the the basement of the the block next door to the hotel, 3 bedrooms, one a double & the other two with two singles in each, sleeps six. Bathroom with bath/shower, toilet & wash basin. Living room with dinning table,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry D
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. You are most welcome to stay with us every year, if you need an accommodation in Edinburgh. If you contact us directly we can work out a discount for your next stay. Email: info@regenthousehotel.co.uk. We are looking forward to welcoming you next year. Hopefully 2016 will bring you a great success in the tournement again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

This hotel is within easy walking distance of Edinburgh Castle, Calton Hill and a number of landmarks, and there are a number of great restaurants close by, these are all great qualities. On their website however, it reads 'Off-site Parking Available'. This does not mean parking that is included in your hotel stay, or even owned by the hotel --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comment. I am glad you had an overall good stay with us, but I am very surprised about the issue you mentioned, regarding the hot water. We never received any report of having this kind of problem. Right now we are not experiencing any malfunction in the rooms like you described. By off-site parking we meant...

Mamchester
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We booked a double room with shared bathroom, it was on the third floor with some pretty steep stairs didn't bother us too much but if you had bigger bags would be a pain. Positives, the location and wifi Negatives - we got to our room and it was quite large so we were happy but when i sat on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jolouwoo
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We take your opinion very seriously and updated the mattress in the room you reported asap. We are sorry we couldn't change the mattress during your stay. My colleague tried to help you by offering you a diffferent room to stay in, but...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2015

This bed and breakfast is in a very good location, which would suit a lot of people. The end of the airport tram line is a few minutes away. The room I was is was small and "tired" - reminded me of some of the small hotels I stayed in in London years ago, which had not been renovated and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank capeintl
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, We are continously working on improving our hotels decoration, and the overall guest experience, so I am glad you pointed out the issues you had. Greetings from Edinburgh

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Lovely little B&B Good Value for money £50 for 2 guests 1 night with continental breakfast Helpful friendly staff, explained how keys worked, breakfast times etc. We stayed in room 25 (Top Floor) more than adequate, Beautiful modern bathroom. Ideally situated near to centre of Edinburgh only short walk to Princes Street, plenty of Bars and shops nearby. Upon departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DART36
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and appreciaton. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Should you require accommodation at a future date in Edinburgh please do not hesitate to contact us.

Aberdeen
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel as my little sister stays a couple of doors up and I was down seeing her with my two sons aged 5 and 7. When we were first greeted at the hotel given our key and asked to pay remainder of the balance then told where room was after climbing 2 flights of difficult stairs without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MinniemouseAberdeen
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We tried our best to replace your bed as soon as possible, but unfortunately this was an issue we didn't foresee, as the bed was in a good condition before. Of course things like this can happen, and we tried and did solve the issue...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015

The pictures are not actually a true reflection of the hotel itself. On booking into the hotel the staff were fine but the room itself was actually not what I expected. It was very dark (ladies if you want to put make-up on this would not be possible)as there was only one light and a lamp in the room that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynne C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015

As we entered this hotel we were greeted and the process for grabbing the keys and paying the remaining balance was straight forward, we were told that breakfast was available in the morning. We were given the keys but they failed to mention that one was for the room and the other was for the front door which will be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary O
Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read you had a bad stay with us. I can only say that our usual protocol is to give all the information about the hotel to our guests on arrival, so our staff was reminded again to make sure they do this properly. We obviously did not know about the table which you accidentaly broke, but it...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,106 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
501 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
198 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
758 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Address: 3-5 Forth St, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: RM370 - RM1,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Regent House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Regent House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front view is nicer.”
Woodstock71, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Low levels for those needing help in stair climbing as there is no lift here.”
  • The rooms decor, as aged as the hotel itself and yet still charming.
craigk540, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor have nice windows so it is bright”
DenverM73, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“keep the stairs in mind. If you don't mind the climb you will be rewarded.”
chadc335, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we had room 18, great room (sleeps five)”
jean0202, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$85* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$85
Expedia.comUS$85
TripAdvisorUS$85
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates