We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merith House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Start your review of Merith House Hotel
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was amazing! The bus 25, took us to the middle of town. And even Better the bus stop was right outside the hotel! The Breakfast was brilliant, with friendly staff, giving you plenty of chioces to choose from. The rooms were clean and tidy The staff were pleasant and I would hill recommend this hotel!!! Definitely a visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haris A
new tredegar
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the hotel cancelled our booking with two day's notice even though we'd booked 6 months earlierwe'd ,had booked flight's ect,yet they were still advertising on various booking sites at double the price we had been quoted.It was a 6 nation's rugby weekend ,hence them attempting to get double the money,while in Edinburgh we phone hotel as new guest and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charliebirt2110
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pre-booked 5 months in advance. Paid a deposit. Only to be told 2 days before that the room has been cancelled with no explanation. But still advertised on numerous websites that there are still rooms available at double the price due to the 6 Nation rugby this weekend. Absolutely disgusting behaviour. Told my partner and now she is really upset...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chizzy83
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

This Guest did not stay at Merith House Hotel, Trip advisor needs to review there postings and only put on Genuine ones

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The room was small and wasn't really that clean unfortunately. Stairs quite cramped and difficult to climb with bags. It was cheap but the service reflected this. The location is quite good, just next to the park and the bus to the old city runs right past here. Supermarket and pubs quite close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbg1969
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here over the new year period. It's only a Hotel in name only, this is a B and B. The Room was Small but clean, hot water and heating very good. Free Wi if is available. There's tea and coffee aplenty in the room. Check in was quick, 5 % for paying by Debit Card totally unfair. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sawmanwilson
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed with our 3 year old daughter for 2 nights and the room was awful it hadn't been hoovered and there were screws on the floor. The toilet broke but give the staff their dues they tried to fix it and the second night was better than the first. The breakfast can't be classed as continental in the slightest....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephiesimspon87
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We left it late to book after a urge to spend New Year in Edinburgh but were delighted find a hotel within twenty minute walk of the city centre. On arrival the hotel looked presentable from the outside but found the previous reviews about the poor attitude of staff to be correct. We were then taken outside and walked two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank samanthaanddavid1
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights over the New Year. We booked the hotel at the beginning of December so we expected to pay over the odds because we had left it late and most hotels were fully occupied. Unfortunately, I would say £10 a night would be classed as 'daylight robbery' for a room at Merith...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hollykiera10
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We do not promise any Car Parking spaces at Merith House as it is clearly stated that it is Free On Street Parking, we do not own any Parking spaces so we could not have given you this information. Yes there are charges for using Cards here as clearly stated on the booking confirmation you...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Some of the time it felt as though I was staying in a prison, as I did not feel appreciated as a paying guest; and I'm sure a prison breakfast would have been better than the Farm Foods offerings here. Not exactly hospitality, and I felt sorry for any foreign visitor who might have ended up here, and embarrassed for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tanzderlemming
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

This is a duplicate review previously posted and replied to.

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 30 December 2016

I made a reservation on their official website for a stay of 3 nights at the total cost of 60 pounds (single ensuite room). A confirmation latter was sent to me right after the booking was done. I paid 60 pounds at the reception upon my arrival. Everything seemed alright. However, after having stayed there for two nights, I suddendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PetiteNemo
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

I can only once again apologise for the error on the website. As I explained we never got the email until your 2nd nights stay. I offered to show you the email so you would not think we were conning you. Website do sometimes mess up with the amount of traffic going through them and this was no fault of...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
731 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: 2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM195 - RM900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merith House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front has view over a Park but not noisey”
 of 5 bubbles Jonotter, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel.”
  • The 'Harry Potter' experience.
 of 5 bubbles H6580SErichardh, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Two floors only accessible by stairs, so something to consider if you have mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles barryw908, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“D o not book a room in the annex building.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisrossc, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles djanegotch, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5