We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Merith House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights over the New Year. We booked the hotel at the beginning of December so we expected to pay over the odds because we had left it late and most hotels were fully occupied. Unfortunately, I would say £10 a night would be classed as 'daylight robbery' for a room at Merith...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollykiera10
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Some of the time it felt as though I was staying in a prison, as I did not feel appreciated as a paying guest; and I'm sure a prison breakfast would have been better than the Farm Foods offerings here. Not exactly hospitality, and I felt sorry for any foreign visitor who might have ended up here, and embarrassed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanzderlemming
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

This is a duplicate review previously posted and replied to.

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made a reservation on their official website for a stay of 3 nights at the total cost of 60 pounds (single ensuite room). A confirmation latter was sent to me right after the booking was done. I paid 60 pounds at the reception upon my arrival. Everything seemed alright. However, after having stayed there for two nights, I suddendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PetiteNemo
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

I can only once again apologise for the error on the website. As I explained we never got the email until your 2nd nights stay. I offered to show you the email so you would not think we were conning you. Website do sometimes mess up with the amount of traffic going through them and this was no fault of...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

The parking is just street parking and can be difficult at times. The house is clean but could use some updating. All and all it was right on for the price. The owners we nice and gave some good recommendations for local eats.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dm928
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I stayed at the Merith House Hotel for 2 nights in November. On arrival, the staff were rude and did not welcome us to the hotel, just reminded us of the 5% surcharge on using a credit or debit card. We expected a breakfast in the morning as the hotel website states that 'complimentary breakfast' is provided for all guests,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicole B
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

All Guests are greeted at the Main Door on Arrival as staff members have to open it to let them enter. As clearly stated on all websites there is charge for payments by Credit cards. The room you booked was a Double Room Only with a Shared Bathroom, this room does not come with Breakfast. If you wished to have...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Davies great patter is second to none! We stayed for two nights in the hotel. On Friday we were greeted by Davie who is a great guy. He couldn't do more for us over our couple of days and he was a great laugh. We arrived a wee bit before check in but Davie had no problem in letting us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murraysmith92
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in at Merith for the first night of our two night stay in Edinburgh. We arrived late (approx 11.30pm) and so incurred the late fee, which was £10. This fee does seem quite excessive but we were warned of it after calling the guest house to alert them to our late arrival. We were greeted by a gentlemen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SEJ24
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Stayed for 3 nights. Breakfast included(Continental) Couple of minor problems but they where sorted straight away. Bed was not the most comfortable but have slept on worse. Parking is on the main road but always found a spot to park. This hotel is a 5 minute walk to Princess Street great location for tourists.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonotter
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.

Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Every guest has a different experience but I just felt compelled to comment on this hotel. It is a miserable place run by a miserable woman. The highlight of conversation between us was her repeatedly reminding me of the '5% surcharge for credit cards' whilst stapping her finger at the sign right under my nose. No welcome, please or thankyou...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We are in the room right now. I have no idea why people have complained about this place. We have a budget room and its huge! The place is clean and comfy and the staff are nice. The bathroom is spotless. No different to Travelodge. Tea and coffee. A large park outside to wake up to. Its lovely. Please excuse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanDur

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#142 of 150 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: 2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM161 - RM1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merith House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front has view over a Park but not noisey”
 of 5 bubbles Jonotter, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel.”
  • The 'Harry Potter' experience.
 of 5 bubbles H6580SErichardh, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Two floors only accessible by stairs, so something to consider if you have mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles barryw908, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“D o not book a room in the annex building.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisrossc, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles djanegotch, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay