We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merith House Hotel

PricelineUS$52*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$143*
US$52*
US$143*
US$143*
US$52*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Start your review of Merith House Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This has got to be the worst place i have ever stayed in. It was filthy tiny room ,very noisy ,no mirror or hairdryer in rm . towels not replaced. Continental breakfast consisted of stale scones ,cereal ,toast and easi singles cheese slices. When i made a complaint to Jay who said first he was a manager , who then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nat010
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I needed a room for one night at fairly short notice and was delighted to find a room with en-suite and breakfast at such a good price in Edinburgh in May, even though it was at the opposite end of Edinburgh from where I needed to be, but Lothian Buses service is very good and there is a bus stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ednabee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband are just back from staying in this 'hotel' which I think is the wrong description altogether. It was a BnB and not the greatest either. From the airport we got the tram onto Princes St in. The city centre and then the 25 bus to Leix Leith where the 'hotel' is situated. We arrived very early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriswild31
Merith_hotel, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Wild, Thanks for your feedback. We try our best to provide guests with accurate information before booking, we DO NOT try to mis-sell rooms as you had booked via booking.com. On booking.com it clearly states - 1.Cards incur a 5% surcharge, no charge by cash. 2. All double en-suites hold same facilities however some rooms are smaller. The...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The people at checkin were not friendly at all. The accommodations were terrible. Only had bottom sheet and comforter on the beds. The bathrooms were disguisting. So send a little more. You won't be sorry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lifeinthejeys
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our beds have sheets and duvets on them, shared bathrooms are checked twice a day after the housekeepers have cleaned them, if you had problems you could have mentioned to us as upon departure you said the stay was good

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I spent 2 nights at this B&B with my kids and if you're looking for a bargain I highly recommend it! It's in a quiet location but only a 15 minute walk to the city centre also it's really close to a big supermarket and local pubs and restaurants. The staff are really friendly and helpful!! If you're looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leedsolly
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 11 April 2017

What I liked the best in this property is that it's the cheapest (based on my needs) and the bus station is right in front of it. The neighborhood is very calm and the hotel is facing the Leith Links, an amazing park for a morning walk or meditation. - The room is very unclean - The floor was sticking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serge C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The location was amazing! The bus 25, took us to the middle of town. And even Better the bus stop was right outside the hotel! The Breakfast was brilliant, with friendly staff, giving you plenty of chioces to choose from. The rooms were clean and tidy The staff were pleasant and I would hill recommend this hotel!!! Definitely a visit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haris A
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Pre-booked 5 months in advance. Paid a deposit. Only to be told 2 days before that the room has been cancelled with no explanation. But still advertised on numerous websites that there are still rooms available at double the price due to the 6 Nation rugby this weekend. Absolutely disgusting behaviour. Told my partner and now she is really upset...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank chizzy83
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

This Guest did not stay at Merith House Hotel, Trip advisor needs to review there postings and only put on Genuine ones

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The room was small and wasn't really that clean unfortunately. Stairs quite cramped and difficult to climb with bags. It was cheap but the service reflected this. The location is quite good, just next to the park and the bus to the old city runs right past here. Supermarket and pubs quite close by.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mbg1969
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here over the new year period. It's only a Hotel in name only, this is a B and B. The Room was Small but clean, hot water and heating very good. Free Wi if is available. There's tea and coffee aplenty in the room. Check in was quick, 5 % for paying by Debit Card totally unfair. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sawmanwilson

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 147 in Edinburgh
517 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#122 of 147 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 147 in Edinburgh
254 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 147 in Edinburgh
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: Leith Links 2-3 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM246 - RM935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merith House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all costs !”
nat010, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Very Accessible: Bus from in front of the hotel directly to Princes Street.”
213sergec, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front has view over a Park but not noisey”
Jonotter, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel.”
  • The 'Harry Potter' experience.
H6580SErichardh, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Two floors only accessible by stairs, so something to consider if you have mobility problems.”
barryw908, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$52* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$143
Booking.comUS$52
TripAdvisorUS$52
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates