We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Haggis Hostels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 338: English reviews
Start your review of Haggis Hostels
 Click to rate
Ravensburg, Germany
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was there just for one short night but liked it a lot. Friendly staff, clean rooms, a fair price considering the location, all you could ask for. I got even offered cookies :) Good job guys. Took me a while to understand there are three different hostels on three different floors (right?). See you next time, Chris from StayInn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmx51
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I felt very welcome due the kind staff and everything was very clean. Great location, next to the railway station. Some repairment work could be done, for example the showers provided only extremely hot or cold water, so a lot of water was wasted. :( Also the windows let cold air in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hungryman900
HaggisHostelsTeam, Manager at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review

We are all very happy to hear that you felt so welcome during your stay. The showers do run without temperature fluctuation when the 'ECO' setting is selected. We have now put up clear signage in the shower displaying this information so that all of our guests can have an enjoyable shower.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfectly situated hostel in the heart of Edinburgh. We didn't have to walk far for any attractions. Hostel was clean, beds were comfy and staff were friendly and helpful. Awesome city, awesome hostel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hamishisbrilliant
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The environment is very tidy with cosy reading room and convenient kitchen room.The three staffs are so nice and friendly who are not like a boss but a kind friend with vigor! they meet you with warm and natural greeting. i like them. and most importantly, the roommates are politeful who will not make moise at midnight!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZhoulyuYang
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I only rated this a one star because unfortunately zero stars was not an option. Never have I been so offended in my life, they cancelled my room and didn't tell me until I arrived at 11:30pm and didn't even apologise once. Rude and inattentive staff, absent manager. There is a hostel above in the same building, they took me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lslark14
HaggisHostelsTeam, Manager at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Booker We value all feedback from our guests however this is absolutely untrue. The card you provided for your booking was declined and we were therefore unable to confirm your booking until valid card details were provided and the deposit paid. We sent you an e-mail (your preferred method of contact) explaining this to you and that we could...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hello everybody, I have been during 3 weeks in Haggis Hostels, I am from Spain and it was my first time in a hostel during a long term, my experience was amazing. I could feel myself like at home. Haggis hostels has a very nice location in Edinburgh, is very quiet and clean, you can find here good atmosphere, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank María del Mar Q
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Stayed a few nights either side of a bus tour of the highlands. Staff were very helpful, when I found I had my tour dates wrong they swapped one night at the end my trip to that night. And when I left very early in the morning for London and lost somthing quite important - they sent in to me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
HaggisHostelsTeam, Manager at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review

Really happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and hope the list property makes it all the way (if it hasn't already). Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. If you ever come back to Scotland, book with us directly and receive a 10% return guest discount :)

Paris, France
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Haggis Hostel is one of the best hostel I've ever been to. It is located in the heart of the city centre just close to the beautiful Balmoral hotel, the bus station, the train station and the Royal Mile with the beautiful Edinburgh castle. The staff is great, you can ask them anything, they will always help you or find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica29200
HaggisHostelsTeam, Manager at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review

Thanks Jessica for your great review and thank you for being such a lovely guest! We would all love to see you back some day.

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

The haggis hostel is a cozy place with great staff, they were always very friendly and helpful. Its very close to the royal mile so it was super easy to get around, they have a grocery store within walking distance and they had everything in the kitchen available to use so I was able to cook a proper meal. Their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Great people and great facilities. Thank you for preparing such a good dinner (haggis :D) on new year night! There are many travel guide books for Edinburgh and highlands which was really useful. Excellent stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laylaw18

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (72)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Bunk Room (6)
Viewed
Standard Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,627 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
491 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 215 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Address: 5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: RM124 - RM1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haggis Hostels staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hervey Bay, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Haggis Hostels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stayed in a 10bed dorm, nothing to complain”
cmx51, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You can choose private room, female room, masculine room or mixed room, it is great”
mar_adelmarq2017, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book now :)”
beckyf674, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Across the street from the train station and city center”
m_l0s, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a bed near the window to get a nice breeze while you sleep.”
dumplings_n_grits, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5