We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
melbourne
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My dear Mum always said if you cant say something nice, then dont say anything at all, this will therefore be a short review. Positively, the proprietor is wonderful, polite, helpful, went out of his way, the location is very good, walking distance to the Uni, ideal during Festival time, standard and price of the room, left wanting, shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoriamay55
United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed in the cute, cosy single room. Not ensuite. But the price reflected this as I couldn't find anything close to the price I paid at this time of year. They cooked breakfast to order. SO I ordered 2 SLICES OF BACON, 2 FRIED EGGS AND 2 SAUSAGES EVERYDAY. As well as all the other cereals and food I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laddie878
St Andrews, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I arrived in the evening after a long day and was greeted by the owner with a warm welcome. Unfortunately, once I was on my own in the room, with the chance to look around, I could see the room was really basic. The old tv with digi box only worked occasionally. The room wasn't en-suite so when I did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John M
Peter_K12_12, Manager at Cherry Tree Villa Guest House, responded to this review

Hello John. Sorry to hear of your experience. Unfortunately, we have no record of any guest with your name ever staying at our guest house in the last year. We also do not recognise some of the information described. Anyway, thanks for your information and best of wishes. Peter

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We were really looking forward to staying here after looking at reviews online. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was friendly and enthusiastic about offering us advice about where to go. Our room was fine other than the sloping roof (head banging issues) and the wifi didn't reach up to our floor which was frustrating. My partner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauren_bailey23
India
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed here as a family of three and enjoyed our room down the stairs that opened into a small sit out. The bathroom was a bit tiny but clean. The breakfast was wholesome with hot and cold items. Host was very warm and helpful. We had a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DayDreamingIndia
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with a friend and had no complaints at all. We were upgraded to a main floor room with an ensuite, which was great for not having to carry our bags upstairs and the room was huge. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order, and while it's not in the city centre it's a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea U
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

We have been traveling throughout Central Europe for 3 months. We have stayed in several guesthouses which we thoroughly enjoyed and for less money. Cherry Tree Villa was definitely not worth the price! Our room was in the basement and it was cold! The description of our room online said that we would have a sitting area. This was actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016

This guesthouse had all the essentials for a successful stay. Rooms where clean and tidy, and the owner, Peter, made everyone feel very welcome. He always provided us with good info and tips for places to go and with directions. Took us around 15 minutes to walk to the city centre where you will find almost all the main attractions....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DaveHalpin
Sandy, Oregon
Reviewed 23 April 2016

The proprietor, Peter, was absolutely wonderful. He was accommodating, full of useful information, and eager to make my stay pleasant. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The common dining room was homey and clean. The breakfasts were freshly made to each guests requests.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank themackae
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 April 2016

This reasonably priced guesthouse was nice for its location not in the very center of Edinburgh activity, but which is very close-by and easily accessible by walking or the very pleasant bus system. The host is lovely and very helpful and the rooms and dining area are very clean. Breakfast was fine and the tea/coffee supply generous. Though we did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Betribal

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Clarin Guest House
#127 of 444 in Edinburgh
104 reviews
Dorstan Guest House
#69 of 444 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Blossom House
#165 of 444 in Edinburgh
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#44 of 444 in Edinburgh
180 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#151 of 444 in Edinburgh
29 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 444 in Edinburgh
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

Address: 9 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (Formerly Lorne Villa)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM268 - RM671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cherry Tree Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cherry Tree Villa Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cherry Tree Villa Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room in the basement is where I stayed and it was simply the best!”
Simplyhema, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
S6554KFjanh, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were really happy with the room down the stairs. Quiet and cozy.”
DayDreamingIndia, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the lower floors are preferable.”
themackae, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet area.”
best268, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
CheapTickets
HotelQuickly
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates